We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great food, and delivery!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of La Taverna del Leone

La Taverna del Leone
Reserve with
La Taverna del Leone is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #3 of 84 Restaurants in Positano
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $16 - $54
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Families with children, Romantic, Special occasions
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Street Parking, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Description: Historical mediterranean family restaurant since 1965, featuring passion, authentic food from local ingredients and warm hospitality
Maryland
Level Contributor
86 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“Great food, and delivery!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 1, 2012

The food here was my favorite in Positano, recommended to us by a local. We stayed at a villa just outside of the main part of town and this place even delivered to our door, and quickly! Wish we had eaten here more. Delicious pizzas and ravioli!

  • Visited October 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank thismomtravels4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

541 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    375
    125
    27
    8
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Tucson, AZ
Level Contributor
16 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Great Restaurant In Positano”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 28, 2012

Service and wine list was great and the food was amazing, especially the Pizza . Make sure to order the Pizza as an appetizer. With wine our meal was less than $ 100 Euro.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank geoffrey g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norfolk, VA
Level Contributor
14 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Don't miss the ravioli!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 27, 2012 via mobile

Other reviewers have spoken about the ravioli......it is truly amazing and not to be missed! It will be a very long time before I will eat ravioli again. The selections in the kitchen window included among other things on the nights we visited, stuffed zucchini, stuffed eggplant, stuffed escarole. All were yummy. Our waiter, Mauro, was very fluent in English, and was even our ride back to our hotel that evening. We tried prawns that were a special that day, as well as eggplant parmesan, and a lamb selection. The kitchen is spotless, the waitstaff outstanding, but it would be the food that would keep me going back. We really felt we needed to give other restaurants a chance, but we would have been happy eating here every night of our week in Positano. Filomena and Fortunata have a wonderful place!

Helpful?
1 Thank Nancy W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buffalo, New York
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Wonderful!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 22, 2012

First, the room itself is beautiful. Buttercream linens, and fine touches make one feel at home the minute you enter. The chefs, Filomena and Fortunata, and the excellent staff also make you feel at home. The food is also excellent. Lemon tagliolini, lemon tiramisu, ravioli alla capprese, light cheesecakes,fish with crazy water - to name just a few are delicious. The ravioli were the softest pillows you can imagine. We returned several times because the food was so wonderful. You must visit if you are anywhere near positano.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank pmc112
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Louis, Missouri
Level Contributor
43 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Must eat here!!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 21, 2012

My husband and I took a Cooking Vacations tour in Positano in Aug 2012 and had the great pleasure to learn, cook, and dine at La Taverna del Leone. Filamina, Fortunata and their staff were excellent hosts and teachers. Their love for food is evident in their outstanding dishes! They take great care in using fresh ingredients;the fish moger comes daily with the fresh catch which varies day to day. We ate(and made) pizza, ravioli, fish in crazy water, lemon risotto, hand made cheese,cheesecake, stuffed zuchinni...everything was mouthwatering delicious! No wonder they have been listed in Michelin Guide for the past 3 years. Your trip to Positano will not be complete unless you eat here. It's worth the 10 minute drive from Positano. I can't wait to go back and eat there again.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank TreLimone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed La Taverna del Leone also viewed

Positano, Amalfi Coast
Positano, Amalfi Coast
 
Positano, Amalfi Coast
 

Been to La Taverna del Leone? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing