We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Three times a charm”

Ristorante Mediterraneo
Ranked #18 of 86 Restaurants in Positano
Certificate of Excellence
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Special occasions, Local cuisine, Business meetings, Families with children
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Dinner, Lunch, Delivery, Reservations, Takeout
Description: The Mediterraneo is a little family run restaurant where we will take care of our guests in a nice, romantic but unformal atmosphere. We try to keep traditional flavors and recepies as first of all we do like eating.Using fresh seasonal products, we like to cook fish specialties, vegetables and "al dente" home-made pasta, the same way our grandmas used to.The right location for pre-wedding lunch.It's mostly a nice place where you can sit, eat and drink well, discussing of art or listening to good napolitan live music. Enzo always organises art exibitions, books presentation, wine tastings and music evenings.
Downey, California, United States
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Three times a charm”
Reviewed October 17, 2013

My husband and I were in Positano for 10 days and ate at Mediterraneo 3x. The staff and especially the owner, Lorenzo, were friendly, fun, funny and engaging!!! We were welcomed with open arms along with prosecco and ended our meal with a shot of limoncello. Their Zucchini flowers stuffed with cheese were divine -- and I don't even really like zucchini!

On our first visit, Lorenzo told us that he would have some entertainment the following evening. We debated if we should go back again so soon but we did. It was one of those decisions that we were so happy we did. The entertainment was Pietro Rainone, who serenaded me and engaged the men to sing with him and play the tambourines that Lorenzo passed around. It was an unforgettable night.

We spent our last night in Positano at the Mediterraneo so we can say goodbye to our newfound friends.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Lily R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,123 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    658
    276
    109
    44
    36
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Boston MA
Level Contributor
65 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 100 helpful votes
“Fun atmosphere with fantastic food and service”
Reviewed October 15, 2013

We were WOWed by our experience at Ristorante Mediterraneo. It is a fun, upbeat environment complete with awesome nightly guitarist/singer by Tony. Lorenzo and the team sings along with him while providing outstanding service!!! The guests are encouraged to participate with many tambourines that are handed out! What a blast. The food...incredible!!! We loved everything we ordered. Tried stuffed zucchini flowers for the first time, huge order and delicious. Ended with limone sorbetto...wow, served in a huge local lemon! Nice and light after a two hour dinner. It was the only place that we had dinner twice...always saving our last night for our "favorite place" during our vacation. We were lucky enough to be included in Lorenzo's birthday celebration...soooo much fun!!! We didn't want the night to end and met some really interesting people from all over the world! (Even a retired professional soccer player from Uruguay). You know it's good when locals eat there!

Thank you to Lorenzo for inviting us to share in his special day! It made us feel like family and was a highlight of our trip.

After spending a total of 4 weeks in Positano (2 different trips), we can't wait to go back again to enjoy more amazing dinners with Lorenzo, Tony and team Mediterraneo.

GO....you will LOVE it!!

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank K&E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Princeton, New Jersey
Level Contributor
184 reviews
89 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
“Wonderful family restaurant”
Reviewed October 14, 2013

From start to finish this was an excellent experience. They have been in business for generations and I can see why. The food was very good and the service was excellent. We had a 3 year old with us and they made sure she had something to eat immediately. We also got a free drink to start and to limoncello to finish our meal. The desert was very tasty too. One of the best in Positano.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank RWL08540
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
19 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Great fun and good food!”
Reviewed October 13, 2013

This is a lovely place full of the laughter and music that is well known in Italy. The strumming guitarist brings together all the guests and the great staff keep the food and drinks coming. Would thoroughly recommend it.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Farnorthernexposure
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, Canada
Level Contributor
16 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Amazing Food and Great Service”
Reviewed October 8, 2013

We were in Positano last week and visited this restaurant on the referral of our hotel and enjoyed our experience at Mediterraneo so much that we went back a second time later in the week. We found the food to be both fresh and very flavorful and the service was excellent. The restaurant itself was romantic and we loved the roadside patio. The servers there were warm, friendly and English speaking. They actually remembered us from our first visit and warmly welcomed us back making us feel very welcome even going so far as to good naturedly tease my fiance when he was having trouble cracking his lobster. There was a musician there walking around the tables playing traditional Italian music which added to the ambiance of the whole experience. We loved this restaurant and would highly recommend it to anyone.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Norm L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ristorante Mediterraneo also viewed

 
Positano, Amalfi Coast
 

Been to Ristorante Mediterraneo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing