We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful Views and Wonderful People” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday House Gilda

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Holiday House Gilda to your Saves list
Holiday House Gilda
Via Arienzo 76, 84017, Positano, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 47 Positano B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Wonderful Views and Wonderful People”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2013

My wife and I stayed at Holiday House Gilda for 4 nights while traveling around Southern Italy. The first person we met was Rosa who was immediately extremely helpful and welcoming. Right away we liked our apartment. The House is about a kilometer up the mountain road, but the apartment had the feel of a beach house. It was light and airy with lots of windows, a nice kitchen, big bathroom, and king-sized bed. But all of that paled in comparison to the terrace, which overlooked the sea and the town of Positano below. The view was BREATHTAKING. It was almost difficult to tear ourselves away from the view of the town long enough to actually go visit the town.
As pleasant as the apartment and the setting are, the absolute best thing about Holiday House Gilda are the people who run it. Gilda, Giuseppe, Rosa, and Daniela are some of the most warm, welcoming people we've ever come across in our travels. Gilda looks out for her guests as a family member would. As I alluded to earlier, we were traveling by car, and one night asked Gilda and Giuseppe for suggestions as to a good local restaurant we could drive to up in the mountains. Gilda wanted to call a car for us as she had the night before (the restaurants in the area will send vans to pick up B&B guests and bring them to dinner, and then drive them back, free of charge. You have to persuade the driver to even accept a tip). We told her we felt like driving that night and that we'd be fine driving the mountain roads at night. She fretted like my Italian mother would, but Giuseppe smiled, chuckled and told her not to worry about the "ragazzi" [kids]. I very enthusiastically recommend staying here instead of in one of the more expensive hotels in town. There are regular buses that go up and down the mountain, or you could simply walk into town as my wife and I did. Thank you so much, Gilda, Giuseppe, Rosa and Daniela for a wonderful stay and a wonderful experience!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Jazzgasm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

318 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    299
    17
    1
    1
    0
See reviews for
53
193
5
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (37)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Israel
Level Contributor
17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2013

We were 4 persons and stayed with Gilda and her team for 5 nights. The place is a lovely small complex with several rooms all overlooking a magnificent vista of Positano and the sea below. The rooms are wide, comfortable and clean and have small well equipped kitchens. Some are small suites and the prices differ accordingly. Breakfast was a feast of delicious cappucino or any coffee of your choice, fresh croissants and buns and eggs made to order, cheese and ham. There were small bowls with cherry tomatos, and fresh fruits on the sideboard. Rosa, Daniella and Gilda, the boss, are a great team, helpful, kind and take care of your every need. Rosa gave helpful tips for our daily journeys to Amalfi and the vicinity. Parking is a little tricky, but once you've made it, you won't regret it.

Room Tip: The best rooms are presumably the ones named Letizia and Laura. They are at the top of the complex a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank addiemh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
birmingham
Level Contributor
48 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2013

Stayed here with my partner during our trip to the Amalfi coast. Wonderfully friendly family who were eager to help us enjoy our stay in Positano. Gilda even gave us a lift to the restaurant which they had recommended on her way into town. Lovely room with stunning sea views. We didn't self cater but you can with all the facilities there. Highly recommend borrowing some beach towels for free and walking down the 250 steps to Spaggia di Arienzo for a quiet beach. Delicious breakfast with hot and cold food.

Room Tip: I think all rooms have a sea view but if not definitely request one!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rebexla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
26 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2013

Let me add my endorsement of Holiday House Gilda as a special place to stay! Not only for the stunning location and aspect, but as others have stated, for the welcome, warmth and hospitality of Gilda, Guisepoe, Daniela and Rosa. My daughter and I shared the experience with close friends and the wonderful terrace was a great place to congregate, for the teens to play cards and the adults to relax. The apartments are bright, clean and well appointed. The access to Arienzo beach, despite the 200+ steps (well this is Positano!) is convenient and the swimming delightful. The HHG crew organised cars to take us to restaurants and transfers to our next destination with personal attention. Above all, there was great geniality and ambience - and a lot of laughter! I highly recommend this B&B!!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kathy N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockholm, Sweden
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2013

We had a fantastic stay in this beautiful situated B&B, fantastic view, big apartments. Rosa and the family were very friendly and helpful and served such a nice breakfast in their big kitchen. We played bridge on the nice terrace with wonderful view over the sea and the center of Positano.
Made lovely walking tours in the mountain and took a swim in the afternoon.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Annette R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
86 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2013

We spent five days at this small B&B perched on the hill in Positano and it was way too short! We loved our room, the view, the town, the beach, watching the ships coming and going and visiting the rest of the Amalfi coast. The best thing about our stay, however, was the people of HHG. Gilda, her husband Giuseppe, daughter Daniela and friend Rosa were the nicest, warmest people we met in a country of warm and charming people! Read the other reviews and you will find the same experiences by other visitors...this is a special place!!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank gzx7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eching, Germany
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2013

During our vacation in Southern Italy in October 2013, we also stopped by Holiday House Gilda. There, the welcome was very cordially - they immediately made us feel at home. We appreciated the parking lot at the house, which is not self-evident at the Amalfi coast. Guiseppe insisted on helping us with our luggage whereas Rosa and Daniela explained the route to Positano to us, recommended restaurants and provided us with bus and ferry timetables. Both of them speaking English, communication was easy. With a few Italian words and lots of gestures we were able to "speak" with Guiseppe and Gilda as well :)
Our spacious apartment Letizia had a well equipped kitchen and the view of the Amalfi coast was simply enchanting. Breakfast was outstanding, especially for Italian B&Bs. Our friendly hosts toasted fresh slices of white bread and fried eggs for us. Furthermore, they offered yoghurt, rolls, croissants filled with jam or chocolate along with butter, cheese, salami and jam. Different types of coffee and tea made you wake up in the morning. Orange juice, fresh fruit or figs---directly picked from the tree by Guiseppe---contributed to the daily amount of vitamins. One night we were even surprised with a plate of home-made bruschette while preparing our dinner.
There is a pathway from the house to the Arienzo beach. However, you should be a good walker because you reach the sea by stepping down about 250 stairs. At the beach there is a clean public area and also a bagno with deck chairs and a bar. The gravel beach is small but idyllic and we were almost alone there.
As around the whole Amalfitana, parking is very expensive in Positano, too, so we always walked the 2 km. By foot it took approximately 25 minutes to reach the centre of Positano. Alternatively, you can use the local bus, stopping a few meters from the Holiday House Gilda. W-LAN is free and worked reliably.
Altogether we were perfectly satisfied and we already miss the nice conversation with Rosa and Daniela on the terrace in the evening and not to mention the cats.
If you ever visit the Amali coast, this is the perfect place to stay!

In unserem Süditalien-Urlaub im Oktober 2013 machten wir auch im Holiday House Gilda Station. Wir wurden dort sehr freundlich aufgenommen und fühlten uns gleich wie zu Hause. Sehr angenehm und bei weitem nicht selbstverständlich an der Amalfiküste war für uns der Parkplatz am Haus. Guiseppe ließ es sich nicht nehmen, uns beim Tragen der Koffer zu helfen. Rosa und Daniela haben uns den Weg nach Positano erklärt, gaben uns Restaurantempfehlungen und halfen uns bei Bus- und Fährverbindungen. Beide sprechen Englisch, weshalb die Kommunikation kein Problem darstellte. Mit ein paar Brocken Italienisch sowie Händen und Füßen konnten wir uns jedoch auch recht gut mit Gilda und Guiseppe verständigen :)
Unser geräumiges Apartment Letizia hatte eine gut ausgestattete Küche und der Blick über die Amalfiküste war einfach zauberhaft. Das Frühstück braucht sich besonders für italienische Verhältnisse nicht zu verstecken. Die freundlichen Gastgeber rösteten frisches Weißbrot und brieten Rühr- oder Spiegelei. Darüber hinaus gab es Joghurt, Brötchen, Croissants oder Pain au Chocolat mit Butter, Käse, Salami und Marmelade. Auch verschiedene Kaffevariationen sowie Tee erleichterten das Munterwerden. Für die tägliche Vitamindosis sorgten neben dem Orangensaft frisches Obst oder Feigen, die Guiseppe direkt vom Baum geerntet hatte. Wir staunten auch nicht schlecht, als wir eines Abends beim Zubereiten unseres Abendessens mit Bruschette überrascht wurden.
Vom Haus aus gibt es einen Zugang zum Strand von Arienzo, man sollte allerdings gut zu Fuß sein, da der Weg über 250 Treppenstufen hinunter zum Meer führt. Dort gibt es neben einem sehr sauberen öffentlichen Bereich auch ein Bagno mit Liegestühlen und Bar. Der Kiesstrand von Arienzo ist zwar klein aber sehr idyllisch und wir hatten ihn fast für uns alleine.
Wie überall an der Amalfitana ist das Parken auch in Positano sehr teuer, weshalb wir die knapp 2 km immer gelaufen sind. Die Strecke geht zu Fuß recht schnell, man ist innerhalb von ca. 25 Minuten im Zentrum von Positano. Eine Alternative ist auch der lokale Bus, der nur einige Meter vom Holiday House Gilda entfernt hält. Man hat kostenloses W-LAN, das immer zuverlässig funktioniert hat.
Wir waren alles in allem vollauf zufrieden und vermissen schon jetzt die netten Gespräche mit Rosa und Daniela abends auf der Terasse und vor allem auch die Katzen.
Für einen Urlaub an der Amalfiküste ist das Holiday House Gilda die perfekte Unterkunft!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Maren J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Positano hotels
0.3 mi away
Il San Pietro di Positano
Il San Pietro di Positano
#1 of 40 in Positano
4.5 of 5 stars 646 reviews
0.9 mi away
Positano Art Hotel Pasitea
Positano Art Hotel Pasitea
#19 of 40 in Positano
4.5 of 5 stars 898 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Buca di Bacco
Hotel Buca di Bacco
#4 of 40 in Positano
5.0 of 5 stars 1,060 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Hotel Poseidon
Hotel Poseidon
#10 of 40 in Positano
4.5 of 5 stars 705 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hotel Villa Gabrisa
Hotel Villa Gabrisa
#7 of 40 in Positano
4.5 of 5 stars 516 reviews
0.9 mi away
Albergo Punta Regina
Albergo Punta Regina
#2 of 40 in Positano
5.0 of 5 stars 615 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday House Gilda? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday House Gilda

Property: Holiday House Gilda
Address: Via Arienzo 76, 84017, Positano, Italy
Location: Italy > Campania > Amalfi Coast > Positano
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 47 B&Bs / Inns in Positano
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Your vacation on the beautiful sea of Positano in the heart of the Amalfitan Coast.Gilda and her family are glad to accomodate you, they do their best to offer a high quality stay in their apartments overlooking the sea and the "vertical town" of Positano. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld, Booking.com, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your Holiday House Gilda reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday House Gilda Hotel Positano

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing