We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful people!!! Great vacation!!!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Holiday House Gilda
Ranked #4 of 55 Positano B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 5, 2013

We stayed at this place from June 24 till June 30. The place is just right for a great vacation. the owners are beyond amazing and helpful, especially Rosa and Daniella. They helped us plan our days so we can visit all the wonderful places in positano. They helped us book taxis. Simply,,, wonderful people and excellent hosts. I highly recommend this place, and will definitely stay there againnnnn .
Rola

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rhoteit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (377)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

177 - 183 of 377 reviews

Reviewed June 28, 2013

Wow - this place really made our holiday. On our trip round Italy we decided to stay in guest houses rather than hotels to keep the cost down and we were prepared for the quality to suffer. But this place shattered that thought! The staff were exceptionally friendly, it's just a short walk from Positano, our room was simply huge and we hand an amazing 365 view over the bay -we literally couldn't have asked for any more. Then on our first night there was a fireworks display right in front of us across the bay - magic! The food was also delicious. You can't fault this place - we're thinking of another trip to Italy just so we can come here again!

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Stuart W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 25, 2013

We came here after staying in Rome for 5 days and what a breath of fresh air this place was. It saved our trip. Gilda Giuseppe,Rosa & Daniella went beyond being hosts. Daniella even took us into town for groceries, we stayed there while she brought our food back and put it in our fridge. It's out of town which was great for us because it was very peaceful and quiet. Don't even ask me about the view! From our balcony and the terrace it was breathtaking. Rosa was a huge help and never made us feel like we were imposing. She called for reservations for the boat to Capri and to a great little restaurant. The owners son picked us up and drove us back home. I would recommend Gilda's to anyone, she really is that kind and caring Italian grandmother:-)

Jim and Nancy
London Ontario

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank whiterabbitktf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 18, 2013

Gilda, Rosa and Daniela went out of their way time and again to make our stay memorable. It's a short and scenic 15 minute walk into Positano. Our room was spacious, comfortable and had a fully equipped kitchen to try our hand at home style Italian cooking. The view was to die for and Rosa can help you with any logistics regarding the entire Amalfi Coast from hiking to ferries to buses in perfect English. Thanks again for making our week there so wonderful!

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ackeegirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 18, 2013

Thanks to Gilda Giuseppe,Rosa & Daniella joint efforts we had a wonderful time here,lovely breakfast,coffee on tap,lifts into town,local information,free Italian Language lessons,great beach nearby,made to feel at home, sad to leave,will go back again & would recommend any else to do the same,Grazie Mille

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank aparima
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 18, 2013

We spent a lovely 3 nights at Holiday House Gilda in mid June and had such a wonderful, relaxing time! We cannot thank Gilda, Giuseppe, Daniela, and Rosa enough for their friendly hospitality, smiling faces, helpful suggestions for sights, great restaurants, and information for getting around town. We were very thankful not to be in the centre of town as it was busy and crowded. Instead, we just made easy trips into town by walking (15 minutes), by local bus (approx hourly), relaxed on our balcony with amazing views of the ocean and the town, or at the stunning local Arienzo beach. We had a great time and would recommend anyone who appreciates warm, friendly hospitality, yummy breakfast, and great views to visit!

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Read M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 17, 2013

My husband and I stayed here 4 nights in mid June. We had the largest apartment, which had its own huge private balcony. All the rooms are a steal for the views alone! However, the apartments are large and although a bit outdated, they are perfectly clean. I loved the room. My only complaint is that the largest apartments is also under the kitchen, which is the gathering spot. All day and night you can hear chairs moving, but we were not in the room during the day, and it did get quieter by the time we went to bed. However, the beds were the hardest of the 6 we stayed in in Italy, but we slept well despite it. Maybe hard beds are better for our backs after all. We walked into town. It's not a far walk to us (about 10 minutes), but it is a scary one...winding roads, no pedestrian paths, zooming motorcycles and busses! Still, it is doable. Plus, some yummy restaurants will pick you up at the b&b and drop you back off, so dinner is not a hassle. There is also a local beach; arienzo with a snack bar (food expensive and not that great though)....great deal for chairs/showers..paradise, but steep steps down and going back up....you better be in shape (they will also shuttle you to Positano for $5 from that beach). Breakfast was pretty good, but it was the same thing each morning, and the only protein was scrambled eggs..delicious ones though! Despite the few quirks, I'd still go back and recommend and give a 5 star rating to based on value for money, views, hospitality, and overall rooms and location). Go..you will love it!

Room Tip: ask about the room with the huge private balcony, but do remember it is under the busy kitchen (not...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank imadork
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Positano hotels
0.9 mi away
Positano Art Hotel Pasitea
0.8 mi away
Hotel Poseidon
Hotel Poseidon
#10 of 38 in Positano
915 reviews
1 mi away
Hotel Conca d'Oro Positano
Hotel Conca d'Oro Positano
#21 of 38 in Positano
643 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
B&B Mamma Rosa Positano
B&B Mamma Rosa Positano
#2 of 55 in Positano
433 reviews
0.8 mi away
Villa Mary Suites
Villa Mary Suites
#1 of 55 in Positano
580 reviews
0.6 mi away
Residence Alcione
Residence Alcione
#7 of 55 in Positano
238 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday House Gilda? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday House Gilda

Address: Via Arienzo 76, 84017, Positano, Italy
Location: Italy > Campania > Amalfi Coast > Positano
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 55 B&Bs / Inns in Positano
Price Range: $103 - $234 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Your vacation on the beautiful sea of Positano in the heart of the Amalfitan Coast.Gilda and her family are glad to accomodate you, they do their best to offer a high quality stay in their apartments overlooking the sea and the "vertical town" of Positano. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Holiday House Gilda reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday House Gilda Hotel Positano

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing