We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“More than just a view”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Holiday House Gilda
Ranked #3 of 48 Positano B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
29 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“More than just a view”
Reviewed June 18, 2013

Gilda, Rosa and Daniela went out of their way time and again to make our stay memorable. It's a short and scenic 15 minute walk into Positano. Our room was spacious, comfortable and had a fully equipped kitchen to try our hand at home style Italian cooking. The view was to die for and Rosa can help you with any logistics regarding the entire Amalfi Coast from hiking to ferries to buses in perfect English. Thanks again for making our week there so wonderful!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ackeegirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

359 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    336
    21
    1
    1
    0
See reviews for
62
218
5
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (44)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Weymouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed June 18, 2013

Thanks to Gilda Giuseppe,Rosa & Daniella joint efforts we had a wonderful time here,lovely breakfast,coffee on tap,lifts into town,local information,free Italian Language lessons,great beach nearby,made to feel at home, sad to leave,will go back again & would recommend any else to do the same,Grazie Mille

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank aparima
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed June 18, 2013

We spent a lovely 3 nights at Holiday House Gilda in mid June and had such a wonderful, relaxing time! We cannot thank Gilda, Giuseppe, Daniela, and Rosa enough for their friendly hospitality, smiling faces, helpful suggestions for sights, great restaurants, and information for getting around town. We were very thankful not to be in the centre of town as it was busy and crowded. Instead, we just made easy trips into town by walking (15 minutes), by local bus (approx hourly), relaxed on our balcony with amazing views of the ocean and the town, or at the stunning local Arienzo beach. We had a great time and would recommend anyone who appreciates warm, friendly hospitality, yummy breakfast, and great views to visit!

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Read M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
imadork
Level Contributor
28 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed June 17, 2013

My husband and I stayed here 4 nights in mid June. We had the largest apartment, which had its own huge private balcony. All the rooms are a steal for the views alone! However, the apartments are large and although a bit outdated, they are perfectly clean. I loved the room. My only complaint is that the largest apartments is also under the kitchen, which is the gathering spot. All day and night you can hear chairs moving, but we were not in the room during the day, and it did get quieter by the time we went to bed. However, the beds were the hardest of the 6 we stayed in in Italy, but we slept well despite it. Maybe hard beds are better for our backs after all. We walked into town. It's not a far walk to us (about 10 minutes), but it is a scary one...winding roads, no pedestrian paths, zooming motorcycles and busses! Still, it is doable. Plus, some yummy restaurants will pick you up at the b&b and drop you back off, so dinner is not a hassle. There is also a local beach; arienzo with a snack bar (food expensive and not that great though)....great deal for chairs/showers..paradise, but steep steps down and going back up....you better be in shape (they will also shuttle you to Positano for $5 from that beach). Breakfast was pretty good, but it was the same thing each morning, and the only protein was scrambled eggs..delicious ones though! Despite the few quirks, I'd still go back and recommend and give a 5 star rating to based on value for money, views, hospitality, and overall rooms and location). Go..you will love it!

Room Tip: ask about the room with the huge private balcony, but do remember it is under the busy kitchen (not...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank imadork
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vicenza
Level Contributor
61 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed June 13, 2013

hi all!
me and my love been there for a couples of days and we spend a wonderful time in costa amalfitana, this is a paradise land......is very difficult to find out some place so nice and romantic like it! also when you are so lucky to have a superb time also @ b&b....well your vacation is perfect!!!
Gilda, Giuseppe, Daniela and Rosa are the family with smile always and they have a big heart for all visitors....is like to be with your grandmother and grandfather. Rosa and Daniela will give you all info about costiera amalfitana, so you never wrong the way!!!!
the point of view from b&b is the best in Positano. By day and by night from the terrace you can see all the gulf of positano and also the positano town........the rooms are so clean and you have the kitchen for romantic dinner with a very nice atmosphere.....Breakfast is so full of all that you need to start in the morning!!! also if you go there with your car, you can park it inside(very very important thing) Thank you so much at these person because i spend one of my best birthday ever!!!!!! see you soon GILDA!!!!!!! Alessandro and Julie

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank alelove3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed June 12, 2013

I would give this place 10 stars if I could!

As the holiday house is situated 5 minutes outside of Positano, the room affords a view of the entire city as well as the coast and is postcard perfect [see pics attached]. The room was very spacious and clean. Breakfast was delicious and wholesome - toast, croissants, freshly scrambled eggs, juice, coffee and plenty of fresh fruits. I was eye-ing some mulberries after breakfast, Gilda noticed and offered me an entire bowl ! such sweetness.

The hosts are the most gracious I've met in all my travels to Italy.
Rosa was extremely prompt with all email replies. She arranged a cab for us from Positano to Naples, helped us get a meal delivered to our room on a rainy night when we couldn't go out and also offered the use of their washing machine. Daniella was kind enough to drive me and my husband into town and get us introduced to a scooter rental Lady. She also gave us helpful suggestions on what to see and how in the Amalfi region.

The hosts are what really makes this place so wonderful. They were genuinely interested in addressing our every need.

I would recommend them and this place in a heartbeat.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ShasyaS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hod-Hasharon
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed June 6, 2013

My wife and I spent 1 night at Holiday Gilda. We have mixed fillings regarding our stay. The advantages of the place are as follows:
• The room you get is actually an apartment with one bedroom. You also get a fully equipped kitchen.
• Outside there is a big terrace facing the view where you can seat and forget all your problems
• The view from the room is spectacular
• The crew is very nice and very helpful
From the other hand, you will find the following disadvantages:
• The place is 2 km far from the town center. The center is packed and parking place is very hard to find. There is a bus but not frequently.
• There is air-conditioning in the bedroom but not in the leaving room. We were there in May, so it was not a problem. You may find it problematic in summer.
• The apartment need to be better maintained. You can find black spots on the walls and the ceiling, and the paint is cracked in some places.
• The breakfast is very poor. Only pastry (no eggs, cheese, sausage or vegetables)

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ofer C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Positano hotels
0.9 mi away
Pensione Maria Luisa - Amalfi Coast
0.3 mi away
Il San Pietro di Positano
Il San Pietro di Positano
#1 of 39 in Positano
822 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Buca di Bacco
Hotel Buca di Bacco
#3 of 39 in Positano
1,214 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Conca d'Oro
Conca d'Oro
#22 of 39 in Positano
595 reviews
1.1 mi away
Le Agavi Hotel
Le Agavi Hotel
#14 of 39 in Positano
564 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hotel Poseidon
Hotel Poseidon
#9 of 39 in Positano
827 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday House Gilda? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday House Gilda

Property: Holiday House Gilda
Address: Via Arienzo 76, 84017, Positano, Italy
Location: Italy > Campania > Amalfi Coast > Positano
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 48 B&Bs / Inns in Positano
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Your vacation on the beautiful sea of Positano in the heart of the Amalfitan Coast.Gilda and her family are glad to accomodate you, they do their best to offer a high quality stay in their apartments overlooking the sea and the "vertical town" of Positano. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, HostelWorld and Agoda so you can book your Holiday House Gilda reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday House Gilda Hotel Positano

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing