We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Absolutely recommended :-))”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Holiday House Gilda
Ranked #4 of 54 Positano B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 1, 2012

We (family with 2 older children) spent 8 days in pension Gilda, Positano. I do not want to repeat my predecessors word . Gilda is holiday house rougly 1,5 km from center of Positano. It was one of advantages, because we can use smaller but cleaner beach directly from appartment, Appartment was simple and clean, towels was changing each day and service was super. Wifi connection was good too. Whole family take care about us - their guests. All that advices and recommnedation was very helpful to us.
I can recommend to all of you, spent a time in that pension, and to meet whole Daniela's family

Thank Daniela

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Jozi_trip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (377)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

207 - 213 of 377 reviews

Reviewed July 25, 2012

My friend and I decided to do a girls trip to Italy. Thank goodness she found Holiday House Gilda! Not only did we feel safe, they welcomed us in like family. The room was exactly like the website showed. The view is incredible; breathtaking really! Not only did the family offer us an amazing breakfast, but were very helpful in explaining how to get around Positano. Their hospitality was amazing and they drove us in to town and Gilda even taught us some of her cooking techniques! We couldn't be happier with our choice of accomodations and will definitely be staying at Holiday House Gilda next time we are on the Amalfi Coast. Thanks so much for making our trip fantastic!

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Amanda R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 20, 2012

We stayed at Gilda during a family wedding. Perfect location - it's about 20 minutes into Positano town, but the terrace and balconies at Gilda mean you can see Positano itself, which is a plus. The family were so welcoming and on hand to help us out with breakfast or extra food. And the breakfast is fantastic! Really reasonable place and beautiful views over the town. Recommend 100%.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank CathyAdams
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 12, 2012 via mobile

lovely! the only small drawback is that it is 250 steps to the beach, but it is a small drawback. The view is to die for. These people stood in the front of the queue when friendliness was dished out to the Italians (ok, granted they might be German). Lovely lovely lovely!

  • Stayed: July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank EduardMarais
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 8, 2012

Holiday house Gilda is a real find and it made our visit to beautiful Positano. It is set high into the hill, furnished in a simple style and it is thoroughly charming. The place has a friendly atmosphere and it feels like home. Gilda (the owner) is always around and she is wonderful. Rosa is a very special girl, she speaks excellent English and her advice was invaluable, nothing is too much trouble for her and she booked us a fantastic restaurant every night (with free pick-up and drop-off at the hotel). Daniella has a brilliant dry sense of humour and we had lots of fun speaking to the girls. Our room was spotless, spacious and had a fantastic sea view. Breakfast is taken outside or in the summer house with spectacular views of Positano-lots of choice… freshly baked pastries, home-made jam, eggs, yoghurts and fresh fruit. There is a short walk into Positano but we found it a great way to burn off the amazing food and the perfect location-away from the bustle of Positano centre. It also makes the place so peaceful and affords it stunning uninterrupted views. The bus which runs from Sorrento, through Positano and on to Amalfi stops just outside of the B & B. We took the bus to Amalfi and then on to Ravello which is truly beautiful however it has less going on for a long stay. Tip: If visiting Ravello take the red tourist sight-seeing bus from Amalfi, it’s a great way to travel up to the town, with subtle commentary and Italian music- (you can use the same day tickets as for the coastline buses). We can't recommend this Holiday House Gilda highly enough. We cried when we left the family and we would return in a heartbeat. It is beautiful and I'm sure you won't be disappointed.

Room Tip: Patricia was a lovely room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank ManchesterPudd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 8, 2012

We initially booked in for two nights but as soon as we arrived we extended our trip to three. We would have stayed even longer if we could but we had other travel plans that could not be moved. A week in this place would still not be enough – it’s such a beautiful place to stay. The holiday house was absolutely brilliant - the location, the sea views from the room, the overall facilities and most of all Gilda, Rosa and Daniella as brilliant hosts.

We were welcomed into their home from the moment we arrived. They suggested places to visit, offered lifts into town (it's only a 20 minute walk with beautiful views along the way so we declined), always welcomed us with a smile and a laugh and they even did a load of washing for us! Gilda and her husband were exactly what we expected - a lovely old Italian couple that pottered around the kitchen cooking all day long. The views from the kitchen of the beach were absolutely breath-taking – it was quite a beautiful setting for breakfast each morning.
Rosa and Daniella really made our experience – each day we’d have a good chat and laugh with them and they even gave us nicknames. Thanks ladies for making our stay better than we dreamed.

Thanks for a brilliant experience!

Chocolatina and Mozzarella

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank anthonyfraser1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 27, 2012

I and a group of four other friends decided to end a 5-week trip of study in Italy at Positano, and we all agreed it was one of the best decisions we ever made. Gilda and her family provided us with the most hospitable service I have ever received at a hotel. From arranging for a driver to come pick us up for dinner in town, to carrying our enormously heavy luggage up and down the driveway, to even providing us Canadians with a pancake and maple syrup breakfast, I truly felt that we were cared for as valued guests. The location is a short walk away from Positano itself and there is access to a nice beach downhill. The common area/balcony provided an absolutely breathtaking view of the sea and a great vantage point for us to view the firework show on the feast day of San Vito. The rooms were large and very clean, and the wifi access was definitely an added plus. After having such a relaxing and enjoyable time at Gilda's, we will all try to make it back someday!

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Askat91
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Positano hotels
0.9 mi away
Positano Art Hotel Pasitea
0.8 mi away
Hotel Poseidon
Hotel Poseidon
#10 of 38 in Positano
915 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel Savoia
Hotel Savoia
#13 of 38 in Positano
805 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1 mi away
Hotel Conca d'Oro Positano
Hotel Conca d'Oro Positano
#23 of 38 in Positano
642 reviews
0.5 mi away
B&B Mamma Rosa Positano
B&B Mamma Rosa Positano
#2 of 54 in Positano
433 reviews
0.8 mi away
Villa Mary Suites
Villa Mary Suites
#1 of 54 in Positano
581 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday House Gilda? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday House Gilda

Address: Via Arienzo 76, 84017, Positano, Italy
Location: Italy > Campania > Amalfi Coast > Positano
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 54 B&Bs / Inns in Positano
Price Range: $102 - $205 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Your vacation on the beautiful sea of Positano in the heart of the Amalfitan Coast.Gilda and her family are glad to accomodate you, they do their best to offer a high quality stay in their apartments overlooking the sea and the "vertical town" of Positano. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Holiday House Gilda reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday House Gilda Hotel Positano

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing