We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Avoid this tourist trap at all costs”
Review of La Tagliata

La Tagliata
Ranked #25 of 95 Restaurants in Positano
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Large groups, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Families with children
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Delivery, Reservations
Description: La Tagliata is a family restaurant no fancy, we do not have menu a la carte but we provide our house menu for a fixed price of Euro 40 per persons,in the kitchen there are Mamma and Papa whom cook the typical dishes of our house menu: vegetables from the gardens ( parmigiana di melanzane, zucchini, egg- plants, beas,pea,salami, parma ham , ricotta, mozzarella etc..Trittico di pASTA ( three differnt kind of home-made pasta called also mamma's pasta than mixed and grilled meat .. Potatoes and green salad fROM our gardens ,, fruits of the seasons, mixED of home made desserts our house wine is included. However concering the wine I would like point here that we also have our wine list so it means that guests whom like have differnt wine can chooice and select from it , our list provide a vast range of the best and famous Italian wine . We also provide a free pick up in case you stay in positano area , we suggest to make reservation at least 10 days in advance thanks for your attention have a nice saty in Positano. PS: we also have lovely rooms in our famrhouse two detached small studios
Reviewed July 20, 2016 via mobile

Easily the worst meal we had in Italy. Actually the ONLY bad meal we had in Italy. Views are great, service is fine, owner is very nice...but the food is terrible. The idea of a "no menu, family style" meal is appealing, and they sell that angle hard with "mama" making an obligatory appearance during each sitting. In reality, this is nothing more than warmed over buffet style food intended solely for tourists. Every dish we had was cold. Pasta was bland. Bread stale. The selection of cooked meats was so tough/cold/flavorless we couldn't even eat it. We tried this place because of the reviews on tripadvisor... ended up becoming our only regret during an otherwise incredible visit to the Amalfi Coast. Get your scenic views/photos elsewhere!

Date of visit: July 2016
2  Thank Stephen W
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a reviewReviews (4,934)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,408 - 1,412 of 4,934 reviews

Reviewed July 20, 2016

This restaurant had come highly recommended by a number of sources so off we went. Maybe we did not fully understand how it worked as there is just so much food constantly bought out that unless you are fully aware of the extent you fill up on what is probably not the best dishes. In fact, initially my husband thought I had booked a vegetarian meal as there were about 7 vegetable dishes to begin. By the time the meat dishes arrived we were so over it and too full to appreciate the flavours. it was unfortunate as if we had have known we would have passed on the many basic courses served earlier. Lots of food is not necessarily a good thing if it is just too much and becomes unenjoyable. I recommend if anyone is to go there, be aware and be selective of what is put down in front of you. It is one price anyway so only eat what you feel like and do not be embarrassed to leave food if you do not really fancy it - there is always more coming. We felt obliged to eat some of each course and at the end wished we did not.

Date of visit: June 2016
3  Thank nicolestock
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 19, 2016

My husband and I never had such delicious Italian food - the woman who cooks - certainly cooks from the heart!!! I wish I could take cooking classes with her!

Date of visit: July 2016
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Patti S
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 19, 2016 via mobile

La Tagliata, a family run restaurant, is a must do when you're at the Amalfi. The restaurant is high up in the mountain in Positano. They have a shuttle bus that picks you up from Bar Internazionale and brings you back down after dinner, which is fantastic. There's no menu, you get served mama's (the chefs) food and it's absolutely delicious! We walked away extremely full and happy.

Date of visit: July 2016
Thank hildahampshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 18, 2016 via mobile

Great place very friendly ,this place was very good and no complaints about the food and spectacular views. If ever in Positano I would recommend going here.

Date of visit: July 2016
Thank CGCarlo
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed La Tagliata also viewed

Positano, Amalfi Coast
Positano, Amalfi Coast
 
Positano, Amalfi Coast
 

Been to La Tagliata? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
© 2021 TripAdvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in the United States. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.