We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“excellent and so much fun”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of La Tagliata

La Tagliata
Ranked #6 of 85 Restaurants in Positano
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Italian, Mediterranean
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Local cuisine, Dining on a budget, Scenic view, Romantic, Families with children, Kids, Special occasions
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Lunch, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Description: La Tagliata is a family restaurant no fancy, we do not have menu a la carte but we provide our house menu for a fixed price of Euro 40 per persons,in the kitchen there are Mamma and Papa whom cook the typical dishes of our house menu: vegetables from the gardens ( parmigiana di melanzane, zucchini, egg- plants, beas,pea,salami, parma ham , ricotta, mozzarella etc..Trittico di pASTA ( three differnt kind of home-made pasta called also mamma's pasta than mixed and grilled meat .. Potatoes and green salad fROM our gardens ,, fruits of the seasons, mixED of home made desserts our house wine is included. However concering the wine I would like point here that we also have our wine list so it means that guests whom like have differnt wine can chooice and select from it , our list provide a vast range of the best and famous Italian wine . We also provide a free pick up in case you stay in positano area , we suggest to make reservation at least 10 days in advance thanks for your attention have a nice saty in Positano. PS: we also have lovely rooms in our famrhouse two detached small studios
Long Island City, New York, United States
Level Contributor
14 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“excellent and so much fun”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 19, 2014

the food kept coming and coming. my favorite part were the vegetables brought in fresh from the farm attached to the restaurant! during our meal, there was singing and dancing. i even got up and danced around on a conga line with a tambourine. Would recommend this experience to anyone who visits positano.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Swimstar200
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,579 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    2,596
    543
    208
    114
    118
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“APALLING.”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 19, 2014

Booked for 7:30 dinner as a 'treat' for our last night in Positano, and were told we'd be picked up at 7:20. After waiting outside in the rain for EIGHTY MINUTES (not even exaggerating), and ringing and being told "oh the bus is full... Wait ten mins..... It'll be ten minutes..... Another ten minutes" we decided to give up on the bus/restaurant altogether. They did not apologise. In fact, they did not remotely care. This was our experience and it was truly appalling. Maybe their food is good, but their service certainly fell far below par. One review has written that the restaurant "was full even at 11!" - if you aren't picking up diners til around 9/9:30 at night, that really is not a surprise. Go to El Capitano. Quick and good service, reasonably priced for Positano and delicious food. (didn't mean to rate the food- obviously didn't get that far in the experience.)

  • Visited July 2014
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
5 Thank Dominique S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington, DC
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Great Value!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 18, 2014

This place was a bit tricky to drive to (they do have a shuttle service if you prefer)....but once we arrived it was amazing. Fantastic views. The food just kept on coming & coming. We were more than full by the end. Definitely make reservations as it was full even at 11pm! Very warm reception, we were greeted by at least 3 people before even sitting down - feels very much like a family business.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Shaily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
13 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Fantastic view and great food ”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 17, 2014 via mobile

A family member who had been there a few years ago recommended we go for the food and the view and we were not disappointed! A few local people tried to persuade us not to go because of the fixed menu and some claimed it not to be as fresh as we think but it was all wonderful to us: from the bottle of water, bottle of wine, garden harvested fruits and veggies grown and cooked on location, a tasty variety of grilled meats, homemade desserts, local limoncello, and even espresso to finish it off. All for 30 euros. We took the local bus there which was a nice view the whole way up.

The only disappointment was not being served pasta and the reason they told us no pasta was because they were technically closed in between lunch and dinner.?. We would have loved to try it, seeing it was Italy!

Helpful?
2 Thank kiki41783
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“The plates just keep coming!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 16, 2014

We went here for lunch on a private tour, and we came away very impressed. The view overlooking Positano is spectacular, but you won't have much time to appreciate it with the heaping helpings of food that come your way. There were nine plates just of antipasto to start off the meal! These included bruschetta, broccoli, tomatoes, chickpeas, peas, ham/prosciutto and provolone cheese. This was followed by generous portions of homemade ravioli and gnocci. I saved some extra room anticipating a third course of meats. However, I think we just had the light meal option, which didn't include that. Dessert was tiramisu and large grapes. The food was all very tasty and well-prepared. You will definitely leave full. I can pretty much guarantee that. I highly recommend it!

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Cdw01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed La Tagliata also viewed

Positano, Amalfi Coast
Positano, Amalfi Coast
 
Positano, Amalfi Coast
Positano, Amalfi Coast
 
Positano, Amalfi Coast
 

Been to La Tagliata? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing