We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Our best meal experience in Italy !”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of La Tagliata

La Tagliata
Ranked #6 of 85 Restaurants in Positano
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Italian, Mediterranean
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Local cuisine, Kids, Romantic, Special occasions, Dining on a budget, Scenic view, Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Lunch, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Description: La Tagliata is a family restaurant no fancy, we do not have menu a la carte but we provide our house menu for a fixed price of Euro 40 per persons,in the kitchen there are Mamma and Papa whom cook the typical dishes of our house menu: vegetables from the gardens ( parmigiana di melanzane, zucchini, egg- plants, beas,pea,salami, parma ham , ricotta, mozzarella etc..Trittico di pASTA ( three differnt kind of home-made pasta called also mamma's pasta than mixed and grilled meat .. Potatoes and green salad fROM our gardens ,, fruits of the seasons, mixED of home made desserts our house wine is included. However concering the wine I would like point here that we also have our wine list so it means that guests whom like have differnt wine can chooice and select from it , our list provide a vast range of the best and famous Italian wine . We also provide a free pick up in case you stay in positano area , we suggest to make reservation at least 10 days in advance thanks for your attention have a nice saty in Positano. PS: we also have lovely rooms in our famrhouse two detached small studios
Reykjavik, Iceland
Level Contributor
71 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Our best meal experience in Italy !”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 8, 2014

Me and my girlfriend were pointed to this place from our B&B in Nocelle, Villa Sofia so we made reservations for dinner there couple of days later.

Vincenzo (hope I'm writing his name right) met us on our arrival and after seating us pointed to the kitchen where his mother & father were working so it's a true family restaurant.

You get a Set menu (35e per person) and it's truly fair as both the food is generous and you get unlimited house wine.

The food is brought plate by plate and we were nearly satiated when the steaks arrived and then the dessert was still on it's way.

Our best memory for all the restaurants from our 3 week visit of Italy

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Valur Heiðar S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,579 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    2,596
    543
    208
    114
    118
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
54 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Attended a wedding reception”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 7, 2014

We attended a wedding in Positano followed by a reception at La Tagliata. This was a wonderful food experience with plenty of beautiful tasting food. There was no shortage with food being served for almost five hours! You will not be disappointed and certainly won't leave hungry.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Potsie52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, Canada
Level Contributor
17 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Great food and atmosphere”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 7, 2014

We visited this restaurant on our first night in Italy and never found another meal that even compared in quality or service. The location was just a few steps up the hill from our B&B and we arrived early enough to get a seat by the edge with an amazing view of the coast. The food was very authentic, unlimited wine and water all for a very reasonable price, 35 euros a person. The family atmosphere made the experience enjoyable. If you plan to eat here, be sure to pace yourself, we ate so much of the first few courses that we barely had room for the meat dish and the dessert. We loved the wine, asked to buy a bottle and they insisted we take one home for free. A highlight of our trip to the Amalfi coast

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Kathy P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa, Florida
Level Contributor
16 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Great food - spectacular views”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 7, 2014

We were back at La Tagliata for the 2nd time in 2 years and we couldn't have enjoyed it more! The atmosphere is warm and welcoming and the food is fantastic. If that isn't enough, the views should confirm your decision to eat here. Once seated, food is just brought out plate by delicious plate. Everything is fresh and authentic tasting. The staff could not be nicer - they seem genuinely pleased that their food is being enjoyed by their patrons. If you can coax her out of the kitchen, definitely snap a picture with Mama. She's the real deal - washing all her own dishes and enjoying every minute. If you have a few extra minutes, take a walk around the property to see their gardens and animals. If you're in the area, this place is a must. Still one of the highlights of all of our travels.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank elsilva3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida
Level Contributor
151 reviews
74 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Great & Tasty Food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 6, 2014

We were told to come hungry to this family-run restaurant and I am glad we did. There was no menu; they just brought out course after course of wonderfully prepared food. There was such a variety and huge amounts. No one left hungry. The staff was very friendly and even joined in some entertainment at the end.
The view from the top at this restaurant is spectacular. It was well-priced at 35 Euros per person for the amount of food.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank acostajorge44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed La Tagliata also viewed

Positano, Amalfi Coast
Positano, Amalfi Coast
 
Positano, Amalfi Coast
Positano, Amalfi Coast
 

Been to La Tagliata? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing