We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Bring your appetite”
Review of La Tagliata

La Tagliata
Ranked #9 of 88 Restaurants in Positano
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Special occasions, Local cuisine, Romantic, Large groups
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Delivery, Reservations
Description: La Tagliata is a family restaurant no fancy, we do not have menu a la carte but we provide our house menu for a fixed price of Euro 40 per persons,in the kitchen there are Mamma and Papa whom cook the typical dishes of our house menu: vegetables from the gardens ( parmigiana di melanzane, zucchini, egg- plants, beas,pea,salami, parma ham , ricotta, mozzarella etc..Trittico di pASTA ( three differnt kind of home-made pasta called also mamma's pasta than mixed and grilled meat .. Potatoes and green salad fROM our gardens ,, fruits of the seasons, mixED of home made desserts our house wine is included. However concering the wine I would like point here that we also have our wine list so it means that guests whom like have differnt wine can chooice and select from it , our list provide a vast range of the best and famous Italian wine . We also provide a free pick up in case you stay in positano area , we suggest to make reservation at least 10 days in advance thanks for your attention have a nice saty in Positano. PS: we also have lovely rooms in our famrhouse two detached small studios
Vancouver
Level 6 Contributor
115 reviews
52 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
“Bring your appetite”
Reviewed October 31, 2013

We were part of a group of about 30 who had booked lunch at this restaurant while ashore for the day from our cruise ship.

The drive up the steep and winding road is not for the faint hearted, particularly when you meet oncoming traffic head on, but once you are in the restaurant the view of the Amalfi coast is breathtaking. We were seated in a private open air terrace with a pleasant breeze wafting through.

First came the antipasto, had to have been 10-12 different dishes. When the plate was empty out came another. Should also mention that there was lots of red and white house wine on the table as well as sparkling water for those who preferred it. The wine was excellent and replaced as often as necessary.

Next, the pasta course, a wonderful ravioli, as well as several other pastas, all perfectly sauced. On top of all this were tray after tray of desserts. There wasn't anything left so we'll assume they were all delicious. Of course to put this into perspective one has to remember that we're talking about people from a cruise ship, pour undernourished things.

The restaurant had the nerve to charge 25 euros pp for this repast. Strangely enough we didn't hear any complaints, just a few satisfied sighs as we all climbed back into our vehicle for the trip back to reality.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank SMSLMS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,841 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    2,767
    581
    229
    126
    138
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Food on a conveyer belt”
Reviewed October 31, 2013 via mobile

The positives: an awesome view and decent entrees.

The negatives: it's a business, not a restaurant. You arrive on a bus with everyone else and as soon as you sit down the entrees are served. There are no options - everyone gets served the same, course after course. It felt like sitting on a conveyer belt. It works well for the restaurant, as it means they cook the same amount every night and know exactly how much of every ingredient they need. It felt anything but special, which is what we wanted from the number 1 rated restaurant in Positano.

Lovers of fine food will be very disappointed. Whilst the entrees were decent, the rest of the food (of which there was far too much) was terrible. Suspiciously packet tasting pasta, and the same simple and very bland tomato base was used on all pasta dishes. The meat was over cooked and oily. The only wines available (a choice between red and white) were not good enough given how easily and cheaply great wine can be bought in Italy.

My wife and I wanted a special night with an awesome view, great food and wine and a classy atmosphere. We got the view, but the rest was sub par. The entertainment (which we didn't expect) was clearly aimed at tourists with a stereotypical image of Italy.

If you're used to really good food, eat elsewhere. If you have simple tastes and love audience participation, give it a try as it's cheap and the view is memorable.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
8 Thank DavidMelbourne1980
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Average”
Reviewed October 31, 2013 via mobile

We agree with some of the other reviews. We went for dinner and while the view was amazing it wasn't unique to this location. The food was probably the worst we'd had in Italy.

For us we were expecting an amazing, romantic, intimate experience with fabulous food.

What we got was a mediocre table wine (choice of red or white- drinkable but not great). The antipasto was promising very rustic, but it was downhill from there, the pasta was bulk made the same base sauce on various kinds of pasta, it was very generic. The chips were soggy, the salad was limp and the meat plate was fatty and tough. The deserts were ok, but once again not great. It was a rushed experience and once they started with the cheesy karaoke we were just itching for the shuttle to take us back to the hotel. This is very much a touristy experience, if you want traditional Italian (Amalfi is know for seafood, which wasn't served in this restaurant) go somewhere else. To us this was a pretty tacky experience.

The Caffe Positano serves amazing seafood, great pasta and wine and the view is also incredible. It's also near all the hotels so far more convenient.



Visited October 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank LDB B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Level 4 Contributor
23 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Top notch, family owned restaurant”
Reviewed October 29, 2013

We were visiting Positano for the 1st time, and I found this hidden gem when researching spots to see on the "Walk of the Gods" hike. Although it rained, and we could not make the hike, this restaurant sent a bus to pick us up for dinner. And, a fantastic dinner it was. This is a family style restaurant with lots of organic food and wine. We had an opportunity to meet Mama in the kitchen, as well as visit the cellar. If you are in Positano this spot is not to be missed. The family is friendly, and there is more food than you can eat. All good.....

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Sheryl K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guaynabo, Puerto Rico
Level 3 Contributor
6 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Best Italian Lunch!!!”
Reviewed October 29, 2013

Just an amazing experience, Pasta was freshly made and Delicious !!!
They said it was a "light lunch", but OMG! That was a full meal, even a bottle of Red Wine and a bottle of sparkling water. Service, excellent!! The views are the best to the Amalfi coast!!

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank sydalgriver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed La Tagliata also viewed

Positano, Amalfi Coast
Positano, Amalfi Coast
 
Positano, Amalfi Coast
Positano, Amalfi Coast
 

Been to La Tagliata? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing