We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Sooo much food!”
Review of La Tagliata

La Tagliata
Ranked #9 of 86 Restaurants in Positano
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Large groups, Families with children, Special occasions, Romantic
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Delivery, Reservations
Description: La Tagliata is a family restaurant no fancy, we do not have menu a la carte but we provide our house menu for a fixed price of Euro 40 per persons,in the kitchen there are Mamma and Papa whom cook the typical dishes of our house menu: vegetables from the gardens ( parmigiana di melanzane, zucchini, egg- plants, beas,pea,salami, parma ham , ricotta, mozzarella etc..Trittico di pASTA ( three differnt kind of home-made pasta called also mamma's pasta than mixed and grilled meat .. Potatoes and green salad fROM our gardens ,, fruits of the seasons, mixED of home made desserts our house wine is included. However concering the wine I would like point here that we also have our wine list so it means that guests whom like have differnt wine can chooice and select from it , our list provide a vast range of the best and famous Italian wine . We also provide a free pick up in case you stay in positano area , we suggest to make reservation at least 10 days in advance thanks for your attention have a nice saty in Positano. PS: we also have lovely rooms in our famrhouse two detached small studios
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Sooo much food!”
Reviewed October 27, 2013

We had lunch here in early October. We did not select the food we would eat but were served family style from the selections of the day. Please note that although you are on the Amalfi Coast there was no seafood. However the variety of food was amazing. We were four persons and received at minimum 8 appetizers, 4 types of pastas (gnocchi with squash my favorite) assorted grilled meats and 4 different desserts along with a bottles of red and white wine. All for 30 euros a person. The service while attentive is a little fast paced for my liking but if you are on a timed tour you may find this ideal. The value for the money is excellent, I would have been happy to pay 30 euro for the view, the appetizers and the wine as the fattoria overlooks the beautiful town of Positano.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank biscotti13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,776 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    2,723
    576
    225
    121
    131
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Stuttgart, Germany
Level 6 Contributor
142 reviews
52 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Half / half”
Reviewed October 26, 2013

We saw the restaurant with place no. 1 here in tripadvisor.
Expecting really something special, we had a reservation for a dinner.

The view is (as almost everywhere at Amalfi coast) very nice.
The choice you have in this family restaurant is red or white wine and / or other drinks. The wine is a simple table wine, ok, but nothing special.

The menu is fixed:
Some starters, followed by different home made pasta, meat plate and a desert.
Every dish was nearly enough to be a complete meal. So from the pasta we eat only 70% from the meat only 50%. And the desert also only 50%. It was just too much food!

Unfortunately there was no fish - and you can always look to the sea :-(

For a number 1 restaurant, there should be more choice - at least there should be choice of food.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Karsten2310
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Texas
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“An Experience You Shouldn't Miss”
Reviewed October 26, 2013

Didn't know what to expect because a friend with Italian connections made the reservation for us. I remembered the name and photos posted on Trip Advisor so we were kind of looking forward to it. We were a group of 4 couples.

We were picked up at our hotel a little later than we thought, but you should expect them to arrive fairly close to the time - just depends on the traffic in Positano, and it was crazy busy when we were there. The bus stopped at multiple hotels, picking up more people. We dubbed it the "Disco Party Bus" because of the bluish/purple light that ran the length of the inside which was always on. The driver took us up the steep climb to the restaurant, probably a 15 to 20 minute ride once you're off the one-way road. If you're afraid of heights, you might want to sit on the driver's side of the bus as the road is narrow and it seems you're close to the edge. Beautiful views on the other side if you're not. Swap sides on the return trip.

When you arrive, you are seated at a table and then the feast begins. This is the routine for all diners, as there is no menu. Red & white wine along with bottles of water are placed at your table. First course is appetizers, served family style. We counted - as hard as it is to imagine, there were 12 appetizers, all delicious. Next course, pastas - 4 different ones, again all delicious. Of course we ate too much and were pretty full at this point. Third course, grilled meats - sausage, chicken, lamb, rabbit, pork chop and then a large bistecca (T-bone) for the group to slice pieces off. Even my brother-in-law, who seems to have a bottomless stomach, said he couldn't eat another thing. But...then dessert came. I think I remember 3 different desserts, one which was particularly scrumptious. After the plates are cleared away, "Mama" comes out from the kitchen to take a bow, and of course we all clapped. To finish the meal Italian style - limoncello for everyone.

Since we did not make the reservation or know much about the restaurant, we were debating what this meal cost us as the bills were being prepared. I thought I heard someone at another table say 70 Euro, so we were all discussing how to split the bill on 4 credit cards. When the waiter showed up with the bill, he had a quizzical expression on his face as he realized what the discussion was about. Turns out it was NOT 70, but 35 Euro each - and that included all the wine we drank. It's just one set price for the meal. Unbelievable.

The party bus then takes you back to your hotel. Can't beat that arrangement. With everyone on the bus now having something in common (helped by lots of wine), people were friendlier and more talkative on the way back. One Aussie, who was so stuffed he sat in the back row by himself to spread out, jokingly offered to buy everyone on the bus 2 gelatos IF they could get them down.

Summertime experience will be nicer in terms of view because of the daylight. The venue is beautiful, spacious, and has the ability to be open to the fresh air. Views from the dining room must be spectacular, but since we were there in the fall and the restaurant doesn't open till 7ish, we could only see the lights of the coastline and town pretty far below.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank luvnormandy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Must add to the list of places to eat!”
Reviewed October 25, 2013 via mobile

Such a unique experience! Be sure to have your concierge call for a reservation, they pick you up at your hotel! Upon arrival you will be treated by the restaurant owner and welcomed to this beautiful restaurant. The view from this place is beyond incredible. As soon as you sit down they bring you your choice of their delicious house red or white wine and the food begins to flow. You will be served family style with 6 or so courses of delicious homemade food and is one of the best meals you will have in Positano. Highly recommend this place and it is extremely affordable!

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank NBark414
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
100 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“What a view!”
Reviewed October 25, 2013 via mobile

We were a group of six, so luckily we made advance reservations as it was packed for lunch. The views were spectacular and well worth the trials of the winding road to get there. The family is very friendly and welcoming. We entered via the lift down from the road and came through beside the kitchen to be greeted by hellos from the cooking staff including Mama. Plates of antipasto, pastas and desserts came out in rapid succession as we had the set menu, with white and red house wine included. It would have been great to stay longer but we had to continue our tour. I would heartily recommend the restaurant. It seemed to be a hit with locals and travellers alike.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Liz S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed La Tagliata also viewed

Positano, Amalfi Coast
Positano, Amalfi Coast
 
Positano, Amalfi Coast
Positano, Amalfi Coast
 

Been to La Tagliata? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing