We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Maleducati; tagliati a La Tagliata”
Review of La Tagliata

La Tagliata
Ranked #9 of 85 Restaurants in Positano
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Italian, Mediterranean
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Large groups, Kids, Special occasions, Scenic view, Local cuisine, Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Dinner, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Description: La Tagliata is a family restaurant no fancy, we do not have menu a la carte but we provide our house menu for a fixed price of Euro 40 per persons,in the kitchen there are Mamma and Papa whom cook the typical dishes of our house menu: vegetables from the gardens ( parmigiana di melanzane, zucchini, egg- plants, beas,pea,salami, parma ham , ricotta, mozzarella etc..Trittico di pASTA ( three differnt kind of home-made pasta called also mamma's pasta than mixed and grilled meat .. Potatoes and green salad fROM our gardens ,, fruits of the seasons, mixED of home made desserts our house wine is included. However concering the wine I would like point here that we also have our wine list so it means that guests whom like have differnt wine can chooice and select from it , our list provide a vast range of the best and famous Italian wine . We also provide a free pick up in case you stay in positano area , we suggest to make reservation at least 10 days in advance thanks for your attention have a nice saty in Positano. PS: we also have lovely rooms in our famrhouse two detached small studios
Napa
Level Contributor
80 reviews
59 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Maleducati; tagliati a La Tagliata”
Reviewed October 27, 2012

It is rare for us to pan a restaurant, and for all I know the kitchen might compensate for the rude staff. We had just finished a hike along the Sentiero Degli Dei (Path of the Gods). We were not dressed in our Sunday best accordingly, and were ushered to a table adjacent to the loo. We decided not to stay and said we would return another time. The host immediately began a tirade suggesting we had been overbaked in the sun, "avete presso troppo sole oggi, signori?" I tried to calm him down by saying it was our fault and he either didn't care to understand or wanted to continue the tiff, hurling additional insults. I think they could use some people skills at La Tagliata.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Kirklandboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,641 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    2,636
    553
    214
    116
    122
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London
Level Contributor
178 reviews
89 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 97 helpful votes
“Service and transport issues. Appears overrated here”
Reviewed October 25, 2012

A bit of a drive to get there. Sloppy pickup and dropoff service both directions - understandably facilitated by the restaurant. Otherwise you wouldnt get there. A 15 min drive that makes you a bit sleepy after the meal. Great and sizable antipasti, good pastas (primi) and poor secondis - meats that are hard to chew. Sweets we didnt touch as we were too full and they didnt look that appealing. Menu absolutely devoid of seafood despite the fantastic view to the sea from its location on the mountain being the main draw. Wine list uninspiring. Price reasonable. Service poor. Before we had finished our wine the waiter informed us our lift was leaving in five minutes so we had to leave unfinished wine bottles behind. To find there was no lift ready. This does not make me happy and when raised with the personnel, they proceeded to get rude. With all the daytripper tourist parties, an impression of a tourist trap is left. Would not recommend or go back

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank ExphilipX
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Williamsburg, Virginia
Level Contributor
79 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Great views, local food”
Reviewed October 24, 2012

Notwithstanding some of the negative reviews, we found this place to be worth the visit. Yes, there are many tourists, including us, but where in Positano in the late summer will you not find tourists?!.
The food is locally prepared from locally grown products. From the restaurant you can see the terraces on the mountain where they grow their vegatables, grapes etc. The food is unpretentious and wholesome, that is NOT to say plain. We certainly enjoyed our lunch and would return given the opportunity.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank mayansun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Potomac, MD
Level Contributor
142 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 185 helpful votes
“Most Memorable Meal of Our Trip”
Reviewed October 23, 2012

Your hotel can arrange a shuttle bus. The place is like Maggiano's on steroids. Great food and lot's and lot's of it. Singing. Dancing. It's all tourists at night but apparently all locals at lunch. Staff is wonderful. A great night in every way.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank david999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westchester County, NY
Level Contributor
68 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
“A Lifetime Memorable Meal”
Reviewed October 23, 2012

No menu - just what Mama feels like preparing that night. Many, many courses, all fresh from their garden. We were ready for dessert after the first course! So much delicious food - such a reasonable price. (We fully expected it to be twice the amount!!) Would have preferred to have arrived before the sunset as the views must be stunning. Highly, highly recommend. This was a FUN dinner - I think what people dream of when they imagine the perfect meal in Italy! Great staff, family owned and run, just a fabulous experience.
And their shuttle picked us up right from our hotel.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank ZoeChloe827
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed La Tagliata also viewed

Positano, Amalfi Coast
Positano, Amalfi Coast
 
Positano, Amalfi Coast
Positano, Amalfi Coast
 
Positano, Amalfi Coast
 

Been to La Tagliata? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing