We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Welcoming restaurant with an interesting ambiance” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Ristorante Saraceno d'Oro

Ristorante Saraceno d'Oro
Ranked #13 of 84 Restaurants in Positano
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $16 - $32
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Kids, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Romantic, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Dinner, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Welcoming restaurant with an interesting ambiance”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 20, 2013

We stumbled upon this hotel after climbing what seemed like several thousand stairs with no reprieve. The stairway finally opened up on the street just below the restaurant. There is an indoor area and outdoor seating both directly outside of the restaurant and across the street, basically IN the street. The porch area was in direct sunlight and it was a hot day, so we decided to sit in the street seating. These were comfortable benches with an awning that provided shade. We decided on a Pizza Funghi (mushroom), which was enjoyable. We also had a Delizie al Limone for dessert. This is a lemon sponge cake filled and covered with light lemon custand. Yum. Our waiter/host has to be mentioned as well. He was welcoming and helpful both with restaurant-related questions and questions about the local area. We arrived in early afternoon and when we left, it was getting busy. At night, a reservation is recommended.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank kegger72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,449 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    845
    431
    110
    37
    26
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
91 reviews
49 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
“Great little restaurant if you are staying 'up' the hill”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 18, 2013

We found this little place on the main road that we walked everyday from our B&B (Residence Villa Yiara). We stopped in for lunch and sat outside. It was nice to sit outside because the weather was good; however, there are cars wizing by quite a bit and the smell of gasoline mixed with pizza was not appetizing. I recommend sitting inside or back off of the street.

We ordered a pizza and a side salad w/water for me and my husband had a coke, a squid side salad and a bowl of spaghetti. The total was $57.73 (american) w/o transaction fees included. Kind of pricey but average for what you will pay for a lunch in Italy. If you can believe it, this was not our most expensive lunch. The pizza was delicious, the spaghetti was delicious but my husband believes the squid salad was 'not good'. He got a little sick but unsure if it was from this or not.

The wait staff was nice and accommodating. The only problem I had with this place is they didn't take American Express; which was our main form of payment for our trip. Thankfully we brought our VISAS but what if we hadn't. More restaurants should accommodate for American Express.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank R-N-JTRAVELS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“One thumb up, one down”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 17, 2013

I loved my lemon veal, but my husband had a pretty awful tasting pizza. Probably should have tried it again, and ordered differently. Very popular, good prices and filled with locals, so a good sign there's value here.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank AnnWL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston MA
Level Contributor
65 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 99 helpful votes
“Romantic outdoor covered seating”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 15, 2013

We stopped by to enjoy a drink and light bite to eat. The family was delightful and happy to accommodate us with a very nice table. It was covered with very romantic lighting. We had excellent service. The bruschetta was wonderful and awesome local house wine. Can't wait to go back next year! Highly recommend!

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank K&E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rotterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Simply great!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 14, 2013 via mobile

I have been to this place a couple of times and it has been great every time. Nice atmosphere, great pizzas, lovely service (Teresa). I will come back here once I get back to Positano

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank cbmb2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ristorante Saraceno d'Oro also viewed

Positano, Amalfi Coast
 
Positano, Amalfi Coast
Positano, Amalfi Coast
 
Positano, Amalfi Coast
Positano, Amalfi Coast
 

Been to Ristorante Saraceno d'Oro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing