We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Second favorite restaurant in Positano” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Ristorante Saraceno d'Oro

Ristorante Saraceno d'Oro
Via Pasitea 254, 84017, Positano, Italy
089812050
Improve this listing
Ranked #14 of 81 Restaurants in Positano
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $17 - $33
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget, Families with children, Special occasions, Local cuisine, Romantic, Large groups
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Lunch, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Churchville, PA
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Second favorite restaurant in Positano”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2013

Great meal, value and atmosphere rolled into one. We really enjoyed all aspects of our meal and the service was excellent. A must-go restaurant.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank tikitaco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,254 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    750
    364
    97
    27
    16
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Torquay, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
50 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Exceptional Service and Italian food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2013

This restaurant is without doubt the best in Positano for warm and friendly staff who know how to welcome you to the Italian way of life. We ate here twice and had we stayed longer would have definitely have visited more. We were able to talk to the whole family very easily and we learnt some Italian and they brushed up on their English!

The food is amazing; we were all very happy with our choice of dishes, seafood, pasta, pizza and lemon desserts, Perfecto! And of course a Lemoncello or two to finish.....

We recommend seating outside along the roadside and experience culture and watch the world go past.

The prices I always say reflect the quality; you can order meals that are reasonable priced but to truly enjoy Italian food at its finest 'Go on spoil yourself' and order what you want. The restaurant Ooozes great food in taste. Service is by far the best and you never feel hurried to leave.

A must for everyone; when you see how many locals are eating here its the ONLY recommendation you need.

Grazie

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank grantfamilydevon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Level Contributor
32 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Nice family run restaurant”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2013

Positano is a hauntingly beautiful town, but generally quite expensive, with a limited choice of 'good value' restaurants. This place pretty high up on a mountain side is recommendable. We had grilled sea bass with salad as a side dish. Both were good. The staff is attentive and friendly and the whole setting is charming.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Karl L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, UK
Level Contributor
132 reviews
75 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 100 helpful votes
“Our best meal in Positano”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2013

Nice restaurant with both indoor and outdoor seating, with very friendly staff, good service and great food. We had very good bruschetta and parma/ham mozarella starters, but the seafood mains were what really stood out. The seafood platter wasn't cheap at €25, but it was a very generous portion of a very fresh and tasty combination of langoustines, mussels, calamari, swordfish and prawns. The swordfish steak by itself was also extremely good. The mains don't come with any accompaniments, so you will need to order chips etc if you want them. We had the melanzane grigliate (grilled eggplant with tomato sauce and mozarella), which was very good. With a bottle of wine and water, the bill was c€80, which was good value for the high quality of the food.
The tables are quite close together, which is fine generally - unfortunately the people sat next to us were smoking, which was an annoyance, particularly when our food arrived, but I guess if you chose to sit outside on a lovely summer's evening, the restaurant can't be responsible for their customers being inconsiderate.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank AbiV
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
54 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Most wonderful staff”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2013

We were there while the family was celebrating a wedding and a birthday and they shared their cake with us! The waiter, Guisepe/Pepe, was full of humor and hospitality. We enjoyed our food and the manicotti was the best!

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Ann C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ristorante Saraceno d'Oro also viewed

Positano, Amalfi Coast
Positano, Amalfi Coast
 
Positano, Amalfi Coast
 
Positano, Amalfi Coast
Positano, Amalfi Coast
 

Been to Ristorante Saraceno d'Oro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing