We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Food of Our Italian Holiday”

Donna Rosa il Ristorante
Ranked #39 of 88 Restaurants in Positano
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $25 - $100
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Local cuisine, Special occasions
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Reservations
Scranton, Pennsylvania
Level 5 Contributor
45 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Best Food of Our Italian Holiday”
Reviewed June 20, 2014

This is a family owned and loved restaurant. You can literally see the love going into the food preparation because you can see the mother and the daughter cooking in the kitchen. And the kitchen is spotless!!!!! This was our second time there and we were equally pleased with the food and the fabulous wine selection. It was truly our favorite meal in Italy!

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank AuntbunneeH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

292 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    190
    47
    37
    9
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“So good so far but so worth the effort”
Reviewed May 21, 2014 via mobile

Recommended by hotel and picked up by taxi paid by restaurant. Family owned. Mother owns sister is chef and son waiters. Ambience good since you are Miles up the mountain in a suburb of maybe 900 folks and the room off to the side is so personal and so upscale. Food is four stars and well prepared and presented. Risotto crazy good. And fish is properly cooked just to tender and with just right amount sauce or flavoring. Wine selection simple and fair. Not great wine choices given European setting but this is southern Italy and white predominates and is fairly good. Service personal so good feel. Experience of riding high along curving roads with food at the ending is worth the adventure

Helpful?
Thank Gerry W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
east anglia
Level 5 Contributor
49 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Worth the ride up the hill”
Reviewed May 12, 2014

We dined here to celebrate a birthday recently. It is a very small and intimate restaurant. Service is excellent. The restaurant were kind enough to provide transport from our hotel in Positano and back free of charge. The food is very good. I would recommend for a special occasion or romantic evening. Shame that it doesn't have views as then it would have the whole package

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank littleluxuries
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco area, CA
Level 6 Contributor
197 reviews
100 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
“Good service, only average food”
Reviewed May 10, 2014

The older man that works here is fabulous! His wine knowledge, and his skill at serving is more than I have seen anywhere else, ever. Food service was good too. They could not have been more attentive. We had a large group, maybe 12 of us. Not sure how everyone else enjoyed their meal, but my 22 year old daughter, and I were not that thrilled with the food. My veal was one step above frozen tv dinner style. I hate to say that, but it was mediocre at best. We had a few appetizers, one of them being the calamari, it had no flavor to it. The tab was picked up by someone else, otherwise I would have been even more disappointed, because I know it was pricey on top of all else. It's not that easy to get here from Positano, so I would recommend saving your taxi fare and go somewhere in Positano. I must add that the restaurant closed as soon as we exited, and they noticed we waited for a significant amount of time for our taxi to arrive so they came out and served us a tray full of Limoncello drinks. Very nice.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank sjansenavon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level 6 Contributor
121 reviews
81 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“The octopus salad brought tears to my eyes it was so good”
Reviewed April 30, 2014

Donna Rosa is a wonderful (and romantic) place to eat. They are a family business through and through and it is totally worth the money.

They were so incredibly friendly. We really enjoyed our dinner and would highly recommend this restaurant if you're looking for a special place to eat.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Rachel N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Donna Rosa il Ristorante also viewed

Positano, Amalfi Coast
Positano, Amalfi Coast
 
Positano, Amalfi Coast
 

Been to Donna Rosa il Ristorante? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing