We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A Wonderful Experience with a beautiful family.”

Donna Rosa il Ristorante
Ranked #38 of 85 Restaurants in Positano
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $25 - $100
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Special occasions, Local cuisine, Business meetings
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Lunch, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Positano
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A Wonderful Experience with a beautiful family.”
Reviewed October 11, 2013

We just had a wonderful dinner at Donna Rosa! The food, service, atmosphere and experience were 2nd to none. We just spent 7 days on the Almalfi coast in Capri and Sorrento and finished in Positano. This was the best meal and service of all of our dinners. The service was fabulous and we all had a delicious dinner. I would recommend the Briciola, Bolognese and ravioli. they were to die for!! We felt like La Familia by the end of the night. Rosida and Erika are the best!

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank etmpk1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

270 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    176
    42
    35
    9
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Newtown, Connecticut
Level Contributor
90 reviews
80 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“Great Food”
Reviewed October 7, 2013

My wife and friends all thought this place was great. You have to take a van all the way to the top of Positano.As it was evening so we couldn't see the view except for the night lights of the town....still beautiful. We ate out on a little garden patio which was just lovely. The waitress was very attentive and explained all the dishes and specials.
A local wine was recommended and was in my opinion very reasonable and delicious. Serveral of us had the briscol and all of us agreed that it was fantastic.
Can't say anything negative
I would definitely go again.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Joe S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coolangatta, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Nice but ..”
Reviewed October 7, 2013

This is a hard review because the food was really nice as everyone comments on...My only wish is please please stop that music...You are in Italy so why not Italian music...I understand you are not the typical rustic trattoria but in my opinion the vibe is too international..
The service too was a little formal but pleasant enough..It was very quite when we visited so perhaps a full restaurant might have a better feeling
Overall the food was great but couldn't go again because of the overall ambiance

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Mrandmrsgoat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
30 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“One of our best meals”
Reviewed October 3, 2013

We ate here our first night in Positano and absolutely loved it. It is a taxi ride up from the main area of Positano and worth the extra 20 euros each way. The restaurant is family owned and operated. We were served by several family members and had the opportunity to speak to others. They were all welcoming and extremely friendly. The cooking is outstanding. My husband had fish in a lemon sauce which was one of the best fish dishes we ever had. I had home made pasta with seafood sauce which was also outstanding. The wine suggestion was excellent, and there was no up-selling on the wine either. We ended our meal with good lemoncello and the tiramisu which we are still talking about. The decor is pretty. We ate in the small front room which is very intimate and cosy.Do not miss this place. It is a treat

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank cheerleader99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“One of our best memories - the food and the women we shared it with at Donna Rosa”
Reviewed September 30, 2013

My husband and I stayed in Praiano for our honeymoon and one of the must-dos we hoped for before we left was a cooking class in Italy. Our hotel was amazing and we trusted their recommendations, so when they suggested Donna Rosa in Positano, we immediately said yes. It was one of the best afternoons we spent in Italy - not only because we had fun cooking, but also because we had a great connection with the 2 sisters, Erika and Rosida, who taught the cooking class and we had so much fun with them! We were very lucky because we were the only 2 who signed up for a class that morning, so we, essentially had a private class, in the kitchen of the restaurant. Erika and Rosida are so funny and warm and knowledgable - they were patient and showed us step by step how to make the most wonderful Italian dishes. They made some of the most simple ingredients taste amazing - we made Braciola - which I have never had, a delicious Tiramisu, traditional Bolognese...and a few other dishes..I won't give away all the secrets of what we made - you have to take the class! You cook in the kitchen, hands on and then enjoy eating everything you made afterward with Erika ad Rosida! Best of all, we not only learned some wonderful things to make at home, but we were lucky to make 2 new friends along the way...thanks Erika and Rosida!

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank sofkamp2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Donna Rosa il Ristorante also viewed

Positano, Amalfi Coast
Positano, Amalfi Coast
 

Been to Donna Rosa il Ristorante? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing