We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fabulous food, service & atmosphere!”

Donna Rosa il Ristorante
Ranked #40 of 85 Restaurants in Positano
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $25 - $100
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Families with children, Romantic, Local cuisine, Special occasions
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Lunch, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Level Contributor
32 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Fabulous food, service & atmosphere!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 30, 2013 via mobile

Call or have your front desk call for reservations. They pick u up & return u no charge. A bit pricy but worth it at least once. Super fresh & unique presentations throughout menu! Many ristorantes cannot boast this testament. Most are overpriced & average at best. Normally find much better food at trattorias & osterias. This place is truly an exception to that!!

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Marlee33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

260 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    169
    41
    35
    8
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
cheshire
Level Contributor
55 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
“Not worth the journey”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 29, 2013

The restaurant is located quite a way above Positano. They will pick you up but only at 7pm and who wants to eat at that time? Taxi fare was 25 euros each way (20 on a non Sunday) which adds to the cost.
Despite having exchanged a number of emails, they had my booking down for another night but found us a table anyway.
We were shown to the table, given menus and asked if we wanted water and then left, and left. in the end we had to ask about the specials and for a glass of prosecco.
We shared scallops to start which was the best part of the meal; a little lavender in the breadcrumb topping and some pink peppercorns. To follow we had the trio of pasta. We had the impression that pasta was the speciality as there were two pages of pasta on the menu. The trio comprised spaghetti Bolognese which I would have been embarrassed to serve at home, ravioli stuffed with spinach and ricotta in tomato sauce which was fine if rather prosaic and another ravioli with an aubergine filling and cherry tomatoes which was good. There was no thought or invention in this dish whatsoever. For mains, I ordered fillet steak with a porcini and light cream sauce. The waitress asked me how I wanted it cookingand I replied medium rare. From the description and the waitress, I expected a grilled steak but got a poached steak which I would describe as medium well done. It was fine, nothing more. Husbands lamb chops were very plain, again just ok. The main courses came literally immediately after the pasta; much too quick. We did have an excellent bottle of red wine.
We had the distinct impression that the staff were not happy; there was a lot of hair tossing, tutting and stomping around and the service was inefficient; in addition to the things mentioned above, we had to ask for more cutlery after our pasta.
I had read good things about this place and was very disappointed

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank suzanneBowdon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Level Contributor
49 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“The 'Highlight' of our Positano stay”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 26, 2013

Perched 'high' above Positano is Donna Rosa, our favourite local restaurant that was so worth the scenic bus/taxi ride up from town that it was the 'highlight' of our entire visit to the Amalfi coast. We visited twice and each time were warmly greeted by Rosida, her sister Erika and mother Raffaella who are the chefs, and father/sommelier Vincenzo. We agree with other reviewers that their food (and quality of ingredients used), service, and ambiance were spectacular. Loved their wine selection and recommendations. Great for couples and for a romantic evening. Please try this restaurant early in your stay since you will definitely want to return. On your return to Positano the bus stops outside their door and they will ensure you don't miss it. Or for the more adventurous types there are 1177 steps down the hillside to town. Highly recommend Donna Rosa.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank 774
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vimarn
Level Contributor
34 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Thoroughly enjoyed it!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 26, 2013

Donna Rosa was recommended to us by the concierge of hotel Poseidon. It's quite a long way uphill on Montepertuso. We would not have discovered it by our own and are glad we received this recommendation. The restaurant's driver picks guests up at the hotel and drives them back free of charge (of couse we tipped him). It's a small family run restaurant, upscale, with delicious food and a wide selection of wines, starting from modestly priced ones up to the breathtaking ones. Atmosphere was warm and very inviting and so was the service throughout the entire dinner. We were the four of us and each had a starter, a main course, desert and shared a wonderful bottle red wine (Taurasi, full body). They have an open kitchen where mother and daughter are cooking with a small team; the other daughter is working in the front attending to the diners. The food was fresh, very palatable und sufficient (we did not feel hungry afterwards as another reviewer recently noted). Our bill was 327 euro, excluding service, and we thought this was a very fair price for all what has been provided. I was particularly intrigued by the decanter they used, which looked like a huge wine glass; I have never seen anything similar. We had a hilarious evening at Donna Rosa and were also chatting with both daughters about the world and his wife. Donna Rosa is a lovely place to spend a stylish, yet casual evening. If you are not looking for fish and chips, take the opportunity to go up there, I am sure most you won't regret it!

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank vimarn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
1 review
“Worth the journey...”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 23, 2013

My wife and I just did the Amalfi Coast and made the journey up in the hills near Positano to find this family owned incredible restaurant. Incredibly romantic atmosphere with an open kitchen, where you can see Mamma and one of her daughters cooking. Food was spectacular and service was great, hosted by Pappa and the other sister. The journey finding this restaurant in the hills is worth it and adds to the whole experience. It is a little on the pricey side but with all things considered, I would easily go back there again and recommend it to those travelling on the A. Coast. Not really a restaurant for families but if you are with a loved one or siginificant other, cant go wrong here..

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Tony K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Donna Rosa il Ristorante also viewed

Positano, Amalfi Coast
Positano, Amalfi Coast
 

Been to Donna Rosa il Ristorante? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing