We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great food, Great atmosphere, beautiful view”
Review of Buca di Bacco

Buca di Bacco
Ranked #17 of 86 Restaurants in Positano
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $45 - $90
Cuisines: Mediterranean
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Large groups, Scenic view, Romantic, Business meetings, Families with children, Special occasions
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Breakfast, Lunch, Delivery, Reservations
Description: You can find the restaurant centrally situated, on the main beach of Positano. The entrance of the restaurant is between its kitchen and the veranda, where you can enjoy a 180° view of the beach and coastline. With an informal and vibrant atmosphere in the day and a soft lumination by impressive coral shaped chandeliers, by night. Romantic candelight dinners under the stars can be enjoyed on our second floor roof terrace. The cuisine is typically Mediterranean with pasta dishes, fish, vegetables, crispy fries,...We are open every day from April 1st to October 31st. If you would like to make a review, please make sure that you don't confuse us with Bar Buca di Bacco & Ristorante Pizzeria La Pergola, belonging to another management.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Great food, Great atmosphere, beautiful view”
Reviewed November 10, 2013

We had an afternoon lunch with delicious gnocci and fresh fish. Gorgeous view, great service, and very friendly staff.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank cardsNYC2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,457 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    679
    529
    192
    44
    13
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Austin, TX
Level Contributor
41 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Same Staff Decade after Decade”
Reviewed November 4, 2013

If you are visiting Positano, you will undoubtedly be told to go to Max's, but don't miss a visit to Buca di Bacco as well. This place has excellent food, a nice "on the beach without sitting on sand" feel, and the best tomato soup you will have on Earth. Good wine list as well.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank Warm Weather Traveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
46 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Great food and service!”
Reviewed October 31, 2013

We were staying in the hotel and had lunch here. We liked the food and started getting acquainted with our waiter. We were asking about the dinner menu and best restaurants in Positano. The waiter introduced us the the restaurant chef. The Chef recommended we go with him to the market and we could select what we wanted for dinner. We selected extremely fresh sea bass as the main entree. We watched him weigh the fish and told us he would take care of everything from there. He certainly did and it was great as he selected several other items and made us a fantastic meal. The service was very attentive and fun. Loved, loved, it.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank NFPaTony
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JVAW
Level Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Wonderful!”
Reviewed October 29, 2013

This resturant is right on the beach and the food was wonderful! Its not on the menu but ask them to grill the calamari--so much better than the fried!

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank JVAW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harrogate, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
64 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Lunch a treat”
Reviewed October 27, 2013 via mobile

Came here twice in one day, once at 10.30 for a quick drink and ate a creme filled with ice cream... Were given free olives and crisps and stayed enjoying the sunshine for quite a while.. Waiters are suburb and they make you feel you can stay as long as you like... Amazing view

Helpful?
1 Thank HarrogateHunters
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Buca di Bacco also viewed

Positano, Amalfi Coast
Positano, Amalfi Coast
 
Positano, Amalfi Coast
Positano, Amalfi Coast
 

Been to Buca di Bacco? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing