We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great food, even better view”
Review of Buca di Bacco

Buca di Bacco
Ranked #17 of 86 Restaurants in Positano
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $45 - $89
Cuisines: Mediterranean
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Scenic view, Families with children, Local cuisine, Large groups, Business meetings, Romantic, Special occasions
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Late Night, Delivery, Reservations
Description: You can find the restaurant centrally situated, on the main beach of Positano. The entrance of the restaurant is between its kitchen and the veranda, where you can enjoy a 180° view of the beach and coastline. With an informal and vibrant atmosphere in the day and a soft lumination by impressive coral shaped chandeliers, by night. Romantic candelight dinners under the stars can be enjoyed on our second floor roof terrace. The cuisine is typically Mediterranean with pasta dishes, fish, vegetables, crispy fries,...We are open every day from April 1st to October 31st. If you would like to make a review, please make sure that you don't confuse us with Bar Buca di Bacco & Ristorante Pizzeria La Pergola, belonging to another management.
windsor, ca
Level Contributor
25 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Great food, even better view”
Reviewed June 18, 2013

We recently ate here on a day trip to the Amalfi coast. Although it was a little more expensive than many of the other places to eat here, we chose it for the nice view of the beach. My husband and I shared a steamed mussels and clams plate along with an insulata mista. It was plenty of food, as the seafood plate came with toasted bread for dipping into the broth. We got a very nice bottle of wine for much less than it would have been in an American restaurant. Service was great, and there was some good people watching. All in all, a very nice lunch in a very pleasant atmosphere.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank dhowclan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,449 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    673
    527
    192
    44
    13
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
25 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Nice beachfront restaurant with decent food but touristy feel”
Reviewed June 1, 2013 via mobile

Ate here on our first night in Positano. Food was decent but busy restaurant meant not much personal attention. Recommended for nice meal on beachfront

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Team1608
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
2 reviews
“Delicious meal & view”
Reviewed June 1, 2013

Absolutely delicious pasta, wine, bread & minestrone. Great atmosphere and service, felt very welcomed and had an incredible meal despite lots of rain!

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank TallulahAlexandra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Louisville, Tennessee, United States
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
“Worst experience in Positano”
Reviewed May 28, 2013

It was a chilly, rainy night and we were initially seated at a windy, icy cold table (the only one next to a window without a clear drop down panel). We had to ask to be moved. We then had a very average meal, followed by simply awful desserts. The location is great, the wait staff was good but the food was just not up to par with other restaurants in the same price range in Positano. Finally, we were told that gratuity was not included so we left a tip for the waiter, although this was the only restaurant in two weeks of traveling in Italy that did not have service fee included.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Shirley R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bucadibacco, Proprietario at Buca di Bacco, responded to this review, June 2, 2013
We are very sorry for the chilly, rainy and windy evening, this year we are confused by an exceptional bad weather in May and people is still clothing like in a mild winter, unfortunately that night the clear drop down panel was not available because it was temporarily out of order, most probably this problem has played a negative influence on all the rest of the dinner.
About the gratuity maybe the waiter and the customer have made some confusion, the Service (Gratuity??) Fee was a very old custom in the past applying a per cent rate usually from 10 to 15% to be charged on the final bill and thereafter to be paid to the waiters monthly but we have eliminated it a long time ago together with another charge called “Cover Charge”. Today the “Service %” does not exists anymore and it is no more charged in the most reliable and credited restaurants in the world, if in some restaurants it is still applied we have doubt that it is paid to the waiters. Instead the tip is not managed by the restaurants and cannot be included in the bill, it is the expression of the customers satisfaction towards the staff and the service and it is always very well appreciated here like everywhere else in the world.
Thank you for the attention,
Salvatore Rispoli
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore, Maryland
Level Contributor
20 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Good seafood”
Reviewed May 28, 2013

Mussels appetizer was amazing. Would not recommend the fried seafood platter - pretty much whole fish that were battered and fried, scales and heads and all. Overall solid meal. Similar to La Cambusa across the way, but thought La Cambusa was a little bit better.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank JSarsfield
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Buca di Bacco also viewed

Positano, Amalfi Coast
Positano, Amalfi Coast
 
Positano, Amalfi Coast
Positano, Amalfi Coast
 
Positano, Amalfi Coast
 

Been to Buca di Bacco? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing