We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Our favourite hotel for Cinque Terre”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel Paradiso

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Paradiso
Ranked #2 of 7 Hotels in Porto Venere
Certificate of Excellence
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
36 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Our favourite hotel for Cinque Terre”
Reviewed October 18, 2013

We spent 2 nights here, but wished we could have spent a week! The hotel has a beautiful setting on the waterfront with stunning views and it was very relaxing to lie in bed with the French doors open and watch the activity in the harbour. The hotel was close to everything - the boats to the Cinque Terre were a 3 minute walk away, the town centre with shops and restaurants were also nearby. Each night we walked to the church of San Pietro at the entrance to the harbour to watch the sunset, which was stunning. Portovenere has a wonderful calm atmosphere and is not filled with masses of tourists like the Cinque Terre villages. We did the boat trip to Monterosso and back, stopping in at each of the villages, which was a very pleasant experience. Breakfasts were plentiful with good variety and we enjoyed the omelettes. The hotel staff were helpful and when a strike was called on the day we were to leave, they arranged a shuttle to get us to our next destination. Highly recommended!

Room Tip: Top floor with waterfront view
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SociableWeaver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

253 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    83
    111
    40
    13
    6
See reviews for
33
167
2
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed September 30, 2013 via mobile

This hotel is in a wonderful location - a little removed from the centre with marvellous views of the marina. We had a spacious, spotless and comfortable room though the decor is a little dated. We ate in the hotel's restaurant twice and were treated to the attention of our waiter, Luigi, who very capably looked after all the diners by himself and entertained everyone with his rendition of 'My way'. The food was also delicious.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Poppolina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Clemente, California
Level Contributor
40 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
Reviewed September 28, 2013

Because we were driving, we elected to stay in Porto Venere instead of the Cinque Terre, and that was a great decision. Porto Venere itself is a beautiful town, without the huge tourist crush of the Cinque Terre and with a great selection of restaurants. Paradiso is located an easy 10 minute walk from the center of old Porto Venere, and is a very nice hotel. The room was clean and comfortable, the staff was friendly, the breakfast was good, and parking on the street right in front of the hotel was easy. We made the right decision by staying in Porto Venere and at the Paradiso.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Paul K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salt Lake City, Utah
Level Contributor
116 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed September 22, 2013

This is an excellent base for exploring Portovenere or the Cinque Terre region. It was the nicest hotel we stayed in, in our visit to the area. Our room just had a bit of a glance of the waterfront out the window, but the dining terrace has a beautiful view that turns spectacular at sunset. The rooms are roomy and clean, if a bit sparely decorated. The bathroom was a nice size, but our only problem was significant leaking from the shower stall every time we used it. Breakfasts are adequate, not bad but not particularly special. We ate in the restaurant one night and the food was quite good, fresh and local, although serving our large tour group seemed to overwhelm the staff.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Byelka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond, Virginia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 19, 2013

we travel alot in Italy and found this one very pleasant. The towels were 5 star quality, the dinner included in our half pension was very good and well presented and served in a dining terrace overlooking a marina edged with umbrella pines. Not too close to the noise of the center which is very active with locals all living well and happily swimming and visiting. However a very easy walk to the center which you may choose to do any number of times with ease. The breakfast was unusually generous with the option of omelets as well as fruits yogurts cereals breads sweetrolls and fresh orange juice. We felt the value was good here, this was perhaps our 10th stay in a seaside town in the last few years and would recommend this.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank brookewilson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed July 14, 2013

Because we could not get a hotel in the Cinque Terra town we stayed in Porto Venere and commuted. We were at Hotel Paradiso 4 nights, we really enjoyed our stay and ended up liking Porto Venere more than the Cinque Terre towns. The hotel is clean, the staff is very friendly and speaks english, the breakfast is good and the location is perfect. The hotel is on the water about a 5 minute walk from the town center. We liked Porto Venere more than each individual Cinque Terre town because Porto Venere is slightly larger, there is more of a boardwalk along the harbor, there is a gorgeous 12 century fort and church on the point and the food is beyond incredible (especially the pesto, fish and foccacia.) The downside the Porto Venere is its difficult to travel to and from, the Cinque Terre towns have more to offer when you take all 5 into account and its very easy and cheap to train from one town to another because all 5 towns have a train station. It is also easy to train to La Spezia which is the largest city in the area and has the train station to take you to Rome. Florence, or any other major city. Porto Venere is between La Spezia and the Cinque Terre towns but has no train station so to get to the Cinque Terre towns you must taxi to La Spezia for $35 euros and then train or take the ferry, which is about an hour ride and $25 euro a person.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Ann M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ann Arbor, Michigan
Level Contributor
32 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed May 27, 2013

Stayed here for 2 nights as part of my Country Walkers tour of the Cinque Terre - this hotel was a nice finale to our trip. I would recommend it as a nice base to tour the area.

My room was very spacious for a single and could easily have accommodated two people. It came with slippers and nice toiletries. The bathroom was roomy for a European hotel (the whole room is larger than one I recently stayed in in NYC, as well). I had no trouble using the Wifi in my room, and the TV is a little tricky - but since there are limited English-language stations available anyway, this was good motivation just to read a book and be on vacation. You need to insert your room card into a slot inside the room to use any powered device. Hairdryer also worked fine. Rooms were quiet and clean. There is an elevator but also a staircase that was easier for our first-level rooms.

There is a short, pretty walk on the water from the hotel to the "downtown" area - this is accessed from the back of the hotel. You can also get there walking down the hill from the front of the hotel.

Breakfast is served in a light, airy room. You can request eggs to order and latte/cappuccino/espresso. There was a relatively standard array of food for a European hotel. Dinner is also served at the hotel, which was OK but not incredible (would instead strongly advise taking a boat over to Palmaria Island to Locanda Lorena).

Room Tip: Make sure you have a water view (almost all rooms do).
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GoBlue_traveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Porto Venere hotels
0.1 mi away
Grand Hotel Portovenere
Grand Hotel Portovenere
#1 of 7 in Porto Venere
344 reviews
1.1 mi away
Hotel della Baia
Hotel della Baia
#3 of 7 in Porto Venere
275 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Genio
Hotel Genio
#6 of 7 in Porto Venere
137 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel Belvedere
Hotel Belvedere
#4 of 7 in Porto Venere
152 reviews
0.4 mi away
Royal Sporting Hotel
Royal Sporting Hotel
#7 of 7 in Porto Venere
290 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hotel Le Grazie
Hotel Le Grazie
#5 of 7 in Porto Venere
158 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Paradiso? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Paradiso

Property: Hotel Paradiso
Address: Via Giuseppe Garibaldi 34 - 40, 19025, Porto Venere, Italy
Location: Italy > Liguria > Italian Riviera > Porto Venere
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Restaurant Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 7 Hotels in Porto Venere
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Paradiso 3*
Number of rooms: 21
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Paradiso reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Paradiso Hotel Portovenere

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing