We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice room with a view, free parking, & easy access to town”
Review of Hotel Paradiso

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Paradiso
Ranked #2 of 7 Hotels in Porto Venere
Certificate of Excellence
Denver, Colorado
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Nice room with a view, free parking, & easy access to town”
Reviewed February 10, 2012

We walked in to this place in the middle of the off season. They gave us a sea facing room for 100 euros. That price includes breakfast and parking. Breakfast is very simple...basically just bread and jam. The dining room has great views.

For comparison, the Grand Hotel down the street also wanted 100, but we did not find the place as charming and parking is an extra charge.

The bed is very firm, but comfortable. They have sky tv and a mini fridge (pretty standard for Italy we've found). The bathroom is very nice. The hot water has good pressure and stays a constant temp (not Italian standard from what we've experienced). The view overlooking the harbor area is nice.

The hotel location is excellent. It's a quick walk to town, which is full of fun things to see. There is an old castle, two old churches, a cliff side walk, and the pedestrian only promenade. Be sure to bring your comfy shoes.

We would definitely come back to this town and this hotel.

  • Stayed February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank stacys2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

272 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    94
    116
    42
    14
    6
See reviews for
35
182
2
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Montreux, Switzerland
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed November 1, 2011

Stayed there for 3 nights this past July for a long weekend. We really loved Portovenere with it's easy access to Cinq Terre, good restaurants and great views.

The hotel itself was well situated, although the arrival if you are driving and have lots of luggage can be tricky as not a lot of space in front of the hotel to unload. Staff were not too friendly but correct in general except if you want to sleep in and housekeeping knock on your door even with a do not disurb sign to tell you that you had to let them in.

Great views from the room, furnishing is a bit basic but comfrotable as a whole. Breakfast was basic but again correct.

Overall I would say that we enjoyed our stay although the price was a little expensive but we were there in peak time as well.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank KsReview
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Longview, Washington
Level 4 Contributor
48 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed October 31, 2011

We only stayed there one night, but we had a great room overlooking the harbor. The people were very nice and accomodating with providing information about traveling to Cinque Terre. It is an older hotel, but it has been kept up very nicely. You can walk along the water front and there is an amazing old benedictan Church out a the point that is a very photogenic and romatic walk.

Room Tip: I think most of the rooms have the harbor view, but you should ask.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sandi R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Loughton, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed October 30, 2011

We arrived at this hotel after walking from Riomaggiore and we were so impressed with the view over the harbour from the room. The hotel was of a high standard and very welcoming. The room was very comfortable and clean and well equiped.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jane J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waihi, New Zealand
Level 6 Contributor
281 reviews
64 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 328 helpful votes
Reviewed October 2, 2011

We arrived at this hotel late in the afternoon after walking from Riomaggiore. We were pretty tired and this delightful little hotel felt just like its name – Paradise. We were greeted warmly by the staff and shown to our room on the 2nd floor. The view from the window was magnificent – looking down to the marina and promenade and out over the Gulf of Poets. To wake up to that scene every morning was magic. Our room was quite spacious, comfortable with well-appointed bathroom and had everything we needed. The location was perfect for our 3-night stay, handy to shops, restaurants, ferries and the wonderful sights Portovenere has to offer. The dining room and lounge also enjoy stunning views and the meals were adequate. My husband had cooked breakfast each morning and was well satisfied, I had continental breakfast which was rather modest with not a very big selection. Nevertheless we would definitely stay here again – the pluses far outweigh the minuses.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank wendhmagz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RI
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 23, 2011

Loved this small hotel and the town of Portovenere. There are waterviews from every window and there is a lovely covered terrace facing the water, for dinner. There's also a "sitting area" at Hotel Paradiso where you can read, chat, and use the internet (which you pay a fee for but service is spotty as it was everywhere). I would definitely go back.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank waterview038
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bend, Oregon
Level 6 Contributor
413 reviews
111 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 321 helpful votes
Reviewed July 14, 2011

The Albergo Paradiso is a small family run hotel where you will likely see the dog and the children of the staff in the lobby. Convienenly located just a ten minute walk along the harborfront from the historic center of Portovenere. Our very small room was completely white and devoid of any decoration. However, open the window onto the "golfo di poeti" overlooking the blue waters and you'll realize that no further decoration is needed. The bathroom is very small and you may be constantly bumping into your partner as you nagivate the room. The breakfast area and restaurant have stunning views of the harbor. Breakfast is modest and you actually have to ask for cheese and sliced meat. A small warning: we found the mattress to be very stiff and each developed sore muscles after three nights. Internet costs 5 euros per day. The hotel also runs a shuttle from Portovenere to the train station for 35 euro which is the same as a typical cab fare. You won't want to spend a lot of time in this hotel room. Go out and enjoy the beautiful scenary and climate of Portovenere and the Cinque Terre

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank DoctorM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Porto Venere hotels
0.1 mi away
Grand Hotel Portovenere
Grand Hotel Portovenere
#1 of 7 in Porto Venere
415 reviews
1.1 mi away
Hotel della Baia
Hotel della Baia
#3 of 7 in Porto Venere
291 reviews
0.4 mi away
Royal Sporting Hotel
Royal Sporting Hotel
#7 of 7 in Porto Venere
312 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel Belvedere
Hotel Belvedere
#4 of 7 in Porto Venere
168 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Genio
Hotel Genio
#6 of 7 in Porto Venere
154 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hotel Le Grazie
Hotel Le Grazie
#5 of 7 in Porto Venere
179 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Paradiso? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Paradiso

Property: Hotel Paradiso
Address: Via Giuseppe Garibaldi 34 - 40, 19025, Porto Venere, Italy
Location: Italy > Liguria > Italian Riviera > Porto Venere
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Restaurant Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 7 Hotels in Porto Venere
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Paradiso 3*
Number of rooms: 21
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline, Expedia, Travelocity, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Hotel Paradiso reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Paradiso Hotel Portovenere

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing