We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect Accommodations!”
Review of Hotel Belvedere

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hotel Belvedere
Ranked #4 of 7 Hotels in Porto Venere
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 4, 2011

Small, friendly hotel with helpful staff. Rooms are small, but very clean and comfortable. Pretty view of the harbour. Good breakfast included - buffet with fresh fruits, yogurts, bread, warm croissants, cereals, cheeses - and eggs anyway you like them. Great lounge and terrace for evening drinks and gathering with friends.
The sister hotel next door has a fantastic restaurant. We had a great dinner there on the terrace overlooking the harbour.
Portovenere is a perfect town for exploring the Cinque Terre. The ferry departs every hour all day to all the villages.
We found that 3 full days was plenty of time. Our first day, we took the first ferry right up to Monterosso. It was a beautiful trip up the coast and we could view all the villages. From Monterosso, we hiked the trail back to Corniglia, stopping in Vernazza for lunch. We then took the train (as the trail was closed) to Romiggiare and then boarded the ferry back to Portovenere. Our second day, we toured Portovenere in the morning and rented a boat in the afternoon. It's beautiful to anchor out by the islands and dip in for a swim. Our last day, we took the ferry to Romiggiare and hiked one of the other trails (3a and 3b). Fabulous views and no tourists on the trails.
You don't need a car while you are here. We took the express train from Genoa to Le Spezia. You can taxi or arrange a shuttle with the hotel to Portovenere for about 30 euros. Or you can take a bus. It's about a 25 minute ride.
I would recommend this hotel and village to anyone visiting the Cinque Terre region.

Room Tip: Ask for a room facing the harbour.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Elaine_201106
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (175)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

63 - 69 of 175 reviews

Reviewed May 18, 2011

My husband and I stayed 3 nights at this hotel with my parents as we were having such a lovely time in Portovenere. The hotel was very clean, the service from the staff was exceptional, they went above and beyond to be friendly and helpful. Breakfast was very good in a lovely room with sea views. Bedrooms were really small and bathrooms tiny which was a bit disappointing but they were really clean and had great sea views. The beds were really hard which didn't suit any of us but maybe fine for others. The air conditioning was broken which meant the rooms were a bit too warm. In general we had a lovely time here and the service made up for anything.

Room Tip: Def a sea-view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MrsEJReynolds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 21, 2010

I stayed here with my adult daughter in October 2010. I was a little apprehensive with some of the posts which make it seem like the only hotel to stay at in Portovenere is The Grand Hotel. Not so!!! This is such a wonderful hotel. It is family run which adds to its charm. Fabrizio and his children Stefano & Leonardo bent over backwards to make sure that we were comfortable. Our room was typical Italian size with 2 windows & views to die for. Plenty of room to store luggage and a desk to use. The bathroom was great, immaculate and looked newly done. I am a large woman and fit well in their shower which always had hot water. :) Make sure you check out the photos. There is a wonderful Lobby/Living Room as well as a Morning Room overlooking the Bay of Poets where you can relax. The breakfast room is attached to the morning room with again tremendous views. There you will meet the star of Hotel Belvedere- Luigi!! He has more than the Maitre D. He is marvelous. Wonderful homemade sweet breads, yogurt, fruit, cheeses, coffee made as you want.. The family also owns the hotel right next door where there is a restaurant that we tried in the evening. Excellent location, view and wonderful food. Luigi was there too. The hotel is very close to where you can get the ferry to go to Cinque Terre. There is also a grocery store one half block away. A playground is very close if you have small children.
I was just so happy that we found this hotel and would love to go back.

  • Stayed: October 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank irieblue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 21, 2010

We showed up without a reservation and were able to secure a room at a better price than advertised on the internet. Gentleman at front desk was very nice and helpful. We stayed in a quad with beautiful sea views. Rooms were pretty basic but clean. Bathroom modern, beds comfortable. Only one of the two air-conditioning units worked which was a bit of a problem. We called the front desk for assistance but no one ever came to check it out. No refrigerator in the room. Standard european breakfast included on a patio overlooking the sea. No free internet but you can pay about 5 euros for an hour. Hotel is easy to find and you can park right in front which is really convenient. We loved Portovenere and were glad we stayed here instead of the cinque terre.

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KP303
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 30, 2010

We had a nice stay here during our trip with friends. The town is absolutely gorgeous, and the hotel has a fabulous view of the ocean and marina. Our room was fairly plain (common in Italy) but was adequate; the balcony made up for it. The view in the evening with the sunset and a good bottle of vino made it spectacular. The breakfast room sits out over the water; food is a little sparce but if you use your imagination it is great. The hotel staff (especially the manager) was very friendly and went out of his way to make us happy and had a great sense of humor! It is a short walk from the town (5 minutes) and the beach with a boardwalk is right out front.

Cinque Terra is just around the corner which is spectacular, and the reason we stayed in Portovenere. A magical place...we hiked all five towns for two days! We are in love with the area and will be back to Hotel Belvedere!

  • Stayed: October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank curtdiloveitaly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 5, 2009

We got a room on the road side without a view of the ocean, so that was a disappointment, but I was OK with that until the huge amount of traffic noise woke me up at 7am on Sunday morning. The staff was OK, kind of typical Italian rudeness, no help with the bags up the stairs, or offer to bring anything to the room, we always had to go get things. They were not helpful in restaraunt suggestions either. The breakfast room was goregous but the food was not very good. Instead of having sliced meats (like every other hotel I've been to in Italy), they had packets of meat flavored patee'. :-( So really...it was a lackluster experience and I didn't think the 150 Euro/night meritted the stay.

  • Stayed: May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank usitaly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 20, 2009

We are so sorry that we even considered this place. We have traveled extensively in Italy and love older hotels. And we have always been treated graciously in Italy. Not here. We arrived and struggled with our luggage while the desk clerk sat on a sofa in the lobby watching a loud Italian talk show on televion. He not only didn't help us, but never stopped listening to his show, nor even turned the sound down the whole time we were there. We had requested a room with a balcony and a beautiful view. A "beautiful view" was confirmed to us in writing. We were shown our double room, dreary and dated, no attempt to minimize the divide between the two twin beds that had been pushed together with a balcony overlooking... a parking lot, road and a gas station! The staff person scolded us not to look down or to the right but only to look staight ahead at all times and we would see the bay. The hotel is not right on the sea, but is first in front of a road and a parking lot and next to it is a gas station. On the balcony you are right over the gas station. The photos on the hotel's website don't show this. The room we were shown looked nothing like the photo on the hotel's website. We said we could not stay in this room. We were shown a second tired room, with a nasty small shower with a plastic stool with no balcony. We were told that if we didn't take the second room, our credit card would be charged anyway. We asked repeatedly to speak to the manager but the desk person refused, and would not even give us his name. The desk clerk could not have been more rude, threatening to call the police if we did not pay for the room. We left, life is too short to spend time in beautiful Italy in a such a dreary place, but before we left, we took a photo. They charged our credit card although we never spent a minute in either room.

  • Stayed: May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank miller041
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Porto Venere hotels
0.1 mi away
Grand Hotel Portovenere
Grand Hotel Portovenere
#1 of 7 in Porto Venere
459 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Paradiso
Hotel Paradiso
#2 of 7 in Porto Venere
287 reviews
1.1 mi away
Hotel della Baia
Hotel della Baia
#3 of 7 in Porto Venere
307 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel Genio
Hotel Genio
#6 of 7 in Porto Venere
159 reviews
0.5 mi away
Royal Sporting Hotel
Royal Sporting Hotel
#5 of 7 in Porto Venere
331 reviews
1 mi away
Hotel Le Grazie
Hotel Le Grazie
#7 of 7 in Porto Venere
196 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Belvedere? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Belvedere

Address: Via Giuseppe Garibaldi 26, 19025, Porto Venere, Italy
Location: Italy > Liguria > Italian Riviera > Porto Venere
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 7 Hotels in Porto Venere
Price Range: $159 - $263 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Belvedere 3*
Number of rooms: 17
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz and Hotwire so you can book your Hotel Belvedere reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Belvedere Hotel Portovenere

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing