We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Peaceful spot” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel della Baia

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
Hotel della Baia
Ranked #3 of 7 Hotels in Porto Venere
Hanoi
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Peaceful spot”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 24, 2012

This was a lovely surprise spot. The hotel was very clean with a good breakfast and friendly and helpful staff. It was located right across the road from a peaceful marina and far enough away from the bustling tourist crowds of Cinque Terre. This hotel is located in the small town of Le Grazie (rather than in the main town of Portovenere) so best if you have a car to get around. But once here, it is a peaceful town with some quality restaurants. A fine alternative to the narrow and crowded streets of the towns that make up the outer edges of Cinque Terre.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank RoamingSamurai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

272 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    97
    103
    41
    20
    11
See reviews for
63
123
4
13
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
New Orleans
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 10, 2012

This hotel was very nice for the area. It sits right on the water in the port and there are good signs leading up to it. The hotel lobby and restaurant are very nice. The rooms are a little small with a small European shower. (but that is everywhere in Europe) The bed was not super comfortable. They had a good continental breakfast.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KingKevin000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 30, 2011

Bad nes the hotel sold us a room good for two as one that was good for four (2 adults, 2 kids) we would have been very uncomfortable

Good news they gave us another room for no extra charge so kids could have their own room.

We would have been very uncomfortable in one room, even with taking in account typical rooms in Europe are smaller than in north America.

Room Tip: Book two rooms in this case but negotiate price
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Blair D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Level Contributor
101 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 11, 2011

We booked this hotel believing it was in Portovenere, but it is in fact a 10 minute drive away. Apart from this, it is a reasonably modern and popular hotel with a quality restaurant. The views across the harbor are surreal.

  • Stayed September 2011
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank John v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frankfurt, Germany
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 11, 2009

We had a perfectly average experience at this hotel. Had I not been paying luxury hotel prices, it would have been fine. The hotel setting and decor in the public areas was nice, and the swimming pool was too cold to use but clean. The location is great for those with cars; it's a short drive to Cinque Terre and Portovenere from there. There is no beach within walking distance to the hotel.

Our room was quite small and plain. There was a very nice patio with a lovely view of the harbor. I admit to being picky about bathrooms, but this one needed renovating and there was some black mildew growing here and there. I would only stay here again if the price was more of a bargain.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AustinSchnitzel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo
Level Contributor
26 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 16, 2008

Be aware, this hotel is not situated in Portovenere, but Le Grazie. This is a 10 minutes busride from Portovenere.
We stayed 2 nights during our honeymoon. After having dinner, we arrived at the hotel at midnight, and the main door was closed, and nobody opened. Luckily we had the tlfno. to the hotel and got contact with the nightportier after 30 minutes.. Very bad experience.. No excuse the day after when we informed the staff at the front desk.

And the hotel need renovation.
Stay away from this hotel.

  • Disliked — Bad service!
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank boss099
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hilo, Hawaii
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 3, 2008

Having visited this nice little town 20 yrs. ago, I dragged my wife back there in 2005 and stayed at this hotel for 2 nights. We loved it so much we used it as our base of operations for a week in 2008. We requested and got a bay-view room, and the view is fabulous. The hotel's Cul de Sac is very quiet -- very rare in Italy. The rooms are above average, clean, and the breakfast good, considering the reasonable price.
We made daylong driving & boats trips to all of the Cinque Terra towns, and also drove to Pisa. While we did eat a great anniversary dinner in close-by, touristy, pretty, Portovenere, but we found ourselves walking from the hotel along the waterfront of the small Le Grazie harbor most nights. Locals come out to walk & talk, and there are very few tourists. Folks are friendly, and we felt like we were welcomed visitors in a small local community. We got this feeling no where else on the trip. We had the best pizza on our entire month-long Italy trip (a corner place with a brick oven about 4 blocks from the hotel), and one night a large sailboat left the harbor with great fanfare, and a family party which we were invited to -- (we speak no Italian, it never seemed to matter). Le Grazie has no clubs, no fancy restaurants, and one nice church. It is a throw-back, a hidden treasure, if you can slow down enough to enjoy it....

  • Liked — Hidden little town, close to many touristy things, but a quiet refuge to relax inbetween day trips
  • Disliked — I couldn't take the cat out front (that adopted me) home with me
  • Stayed May 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank daHawaiian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Porto Venere hotels
1.2 mi away
Grand Hotel Portovenere
Grand Hotel Portovenere
#1 of 7 in Porto Venere
4.5 of 5 bubbles 336 reviews
1.1 mi away
Hotel Paradiso
Hotel Paradiso
#2 of 7 in Porto Venere
4.0 of 5 bubbles 250 reviews
1.2 mi away
Hotel Genio
Hotel Genio
#6 of 7 in Porto Venere
4.0 of 5 bubbles 135 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Royal Sporting Hotel
Royal Sporting Hotel
#7 of 7 in Porto Venere
3.5 of 5 bubbles 286 reviews
1.1 mi away
Hotel Belvedere
Hotel Belvedere
#4 of 7 in Porto Venere
4.0 of 5 bubbles 152 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Le Grazie
Hotel Le Grazie
#5 of 7 in Porto Venere
3.5 of 5 bubbles 156 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel della Baia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel della Baia

Property: Hotel della Baia
Address: Via Lungomare 111 | Le Grazie Di Portovenere, 19025, Porto Venere, Italy
Location: Italy > Liguria > Italian Riviera > Porto Venere
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 7 Hotels in Porto Venere
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel della Baia 3*
Number of rooms: 30
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia and Hotels.com so you can book your Hotel della Baia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Della Baia Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing