We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Careful booking multiple people in one room”
Review of Hotel della Baia

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel della Baia
Ranked #3 of 7 Hotels in Porto Venere
Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Careful booking multiple people in one room”
Reviewed October 30, 2011

Bad nes the hotel sold us a room good for two as one that was good for four (2 adults, 2 kids) we would have been very uncomfortable

Good news they gave us another room for no extra charge so kids could have their own room.

We would have been very uncomfortable in one room, even with taking in account typical rooms in Europe are smaller than in north America.

Room Tip: Book two rooms in this case but negotiate price
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Blair D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

291 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    100
    111
    48
    21
    11
See reviews for
66
131
7
14
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne
Level 6 Contributor
103 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
Reviewed October 11, 2011

We booked this hotel believing it was in Portovenere, but it is in fact a 10 minute drive away. Apart from this, it is a reasonably modern and popular hotel with a quality restaurant. The views across the harbor are surreal.

  • Stayed September 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank John v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frankfurt, Germany
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed October 11, 2009

We had a perfectly average experience at this hotel. Had I not been paying luxury hotel prices, it would have been fine. The hotel setting and decor in the public areas was nice, and the swimming pool was too cold to use but clean. The location is great for those with cars; it's a short drive to Cinque Terre and Portovenere from there. There is no beach within walking distance to the hotel.

Our room was quite small and plain. There was a very nice patio with a lovely view of the harbor. I admit to being picky about bathrooms, but this one needed renovating and there was some black mildew growing here and there. I would only stay here again if the price was more of a bargain.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AustinSchnitzel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed July 16, 2008

Be aware, this hotel is not situated in Portovenere, but Le Grazie. This is a 10 minutes busride from Portovenere.
We stayed 2 nights during our honeymoon. After having dinner, we arrived at the hotel at midnight, and the main door was closed, and nobody opened. Luckily we had the tlfno. to the hotel and got contact with the nightportier after 30 minutes.. Very bad experience.. No excuse the day after when we informed the staff at the front desk.

And the hotel need renovation.
Stay away from this hotel.

  • Disliked — Bad service!
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank boss099
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hilo, Hawaii
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 3, 2008

Having visited this nice little town 20 yrs. ago, I dragged my wife back there in 2005 and stayed at this hotel for 2 nights. We loved it so much we used it as our base of operations for a week in 2008. We requested and got a bay-view room, and the view is fabulous. The hotel's Cul de Sac is very quiet -- very rare in Italy. The rooms are above average, clean, and the breakfast good, considering the reasonable price.
We made daylong driving & boats trips to all of the Cinque Terra towns, and also drove to Pisa. While we did eat a great anniversary dinner in close-by, touristy, pretty, Portovenere, but we found ourselves walking from the hotel along the waterfront of the small Le Grazie harbor most nights. Locals come out to walk & talk, and there are very few tourists. Folks are friendly, and we felt like we were welcomed visitors in a small local community. We got this feeling no where else on the trip. We had the best pizza on our entire month-long Italy trip (a corner place with a brick oven about 4 blocks from the hotel), and one night a large sailboat left the harbor with great fanfare, and a family party which we were invited to -- (we speak no Italian, it never seemed to matter). Le Grazie has no clubs, no fancy restaurants, and one nice church. It is a throw-back, a hidden treasure, if you can slow down enough to enjoy it....

  • Liked — Hidden little town, close to many touristy things, but a quiet refuge to relax inbetween day trips
  • Disliked — I couldn't take the cat out front (that adopted me) home with me
  • Stayed May 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank daHawaiian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarasota, Florida
Level 6 Contributor
138 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
Reviewed October 25, 2007

My husband left me in charge of booking our hotel for a 4 night stay in the Cinque Terre region. He had picked out a hotel called Hotel Baia in Monterosso, the northernmost village of Cinque Terre. I got confused and booked us at the Hotel della Baia in Le Grazie (their address says Portovenere, which is doubly confusing and mostly inaccurate). Having never been to Cinque Terre and having not looked closely at the map when I was booking, I was oblivious to my error until we got close to it by car and he realized I was giving him directions to someplace he had not planned on going!
We stayed 1 night at Hotel della Baia in Le Grazie and they were very kind and understanding about the error and let us out of the other 3 days of the reservation. We called Hotel Baia and booked there for the next 3 days (see separate review on that one).
In the end, if you WANT to be in Le Grazie, Hotel della Baia is a very nice place. It's a tiny bay, we were there on a Sunday so it was quiet. The hotel is quite nice. Our double room with breakfast was 75 euros. The room was reasonably spacious, clean, quiet, with a tiny balcony overlooking Le Grazie bay - very very pretty. No complaints (except from my husband who thought we'd be hiking the Cinque Terre trails the next day!!! - ooops.)

Stayed September 2007
Helpful?
Thank LucyPie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed August 21, 2007

In theory it ticks all the boxes but there is no atmosphere and the staff are 'just doing their job' - we just didn't feel welcome. The room was airconditioned and had a nice view - but was as small as they could get away with. Dinner was dull and all they had for vegetarians was omelette or a salad (a tomato and a few slices of cheese). The pool was OK but freezing cold on even hot days, plastic loungers and no service - few guests used it.

My car was hit twice while parked outside and Le Grazie itself is a bit scruffy - not a resort and only a few restaurants. It's really where sailing enthusiasts go for maintenance or supplies.

So all in all it's OK but not somewhere I would make any effort to go again and expensive for what it is. It would suit people who enjoy sailing or a very quiet holiday but there's nowhere to sit and relax!. Easy to get to Cinque Terre though and La Spezia and good public transport..

  • Liked — The view of the marina from our room window
  • Disliked — Lack of enthusiastic service
  • Stayed July 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SusannaC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Porto Venere hotels
1.2 mi away
Grand Hotel Portovenere
Grand Hotel Portovenere
#1 of 7 in Porto Venere
413 reviews
1.1 mi away
Hotel Paradiso
Hotel Paradiso
#2 of 7 in Porto Venere
272 reviews
0.7 mi away
Royal Sporting Hotel
Royal Sporting Hotel
#7 of 7 in Porto Venere
312 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel Le Grazie
Hotel Le Grazie
#5 of 7 in Porto Venere
179 reviews
1.1 mi away
Hotel Belvedere
Hotel Belvedere
#4 of 7 in Porto Venere
165 reviews
1.2 mi away
Hotel Genio
Hotel Genio
#6 of 7 in Porto Venere
153 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel della Baia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel della Baia

Property: Hotel della Baia
Address: Via Lungomare 111 | Le Grazie Di Portovenere, 19025, Porto Venere, Italy
Location: Italy > Liguria > Italian Riviera > Porto Venere
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 7 Hotels in Porto Venere
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel della Baia 3*
Number of rooms: 30
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Hotel della Baia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Della Baia Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing