We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Try it!”
Review of Portovenere

Portovenere
Book In Advance
More Info
$135.45*
and up
Full-Day Tour of Cinque Terre and Portovenere from San Gimignano
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
California
Level Contributor
143 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Try it!”
Reviewed May 18, 2013

Don't listen to your Santa Magherita hotel concierge, do not read the tour guides and spend all of your time in Cinque Terre, Santa Margherita and Portofino. Go to Porto Venere for a day! Check the boat and train schedule and go for it (we did boat on the way down from Monte Rosso or Levanto, and the train back all the way to SML).

We found less tourists, great vistas, a castle, a charming old town and a church on the top of the point. Plus for the Trekkers at heart there is an island with a 3 hour trek around (we didn't do it but we heard it was very nice, and with the other Cinque Terra treks closed now due to the landslides this could be a good option).

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
4 Thank sbh858
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,139 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,679
    395
    46
    11
    8
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Manila, Philippines
Level Contributor
417 reviews
113 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 124 helpful votes
“So peaceful”
Reviewed May 13, 2013 via mobile

We got married at the Castle Doria and, my, oh my, we cannot stop smiling, grinning silly, talking about it, looking at the pictures and simply missing our Portovenere.
If you want to relax after the hustle and bustle of Cinque Terre and the big cities in Italy/Europe, settle here. This is a town that must be lived in, not spent a night over at. However, if you want action and all the works, then this is not the place for you. Please don't destroy this paradise.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank lovetripsdd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Naples, Italy
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Quaint & Relaxing”
Reviewed April 22, 2013

Great coastal town. The history on this area is fascinating (so is the Doria family, an old and extremely wealthy Genoese family who played a major role in the history of the Republic of Genoa and in Italy, from the 12th century to the 16th century. Today, there are Doria's alive today living in Rome!). This seaside community is a gem!!

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Go_Gina_Go
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Africa
Level Contributor
29 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Great town”
Reviewed April 8, 2013

Stayed there for one night in March 2013. The idea was to use this as a gateway to the Cinque Terre which we wanted to walk. We arrived in the afternoon, strolled through town and had dinner.

Next morning I woke up early and the weather was bad, but I went out to the castle and enjoyed the early dawn hours which was great. We spent the whole morning there and only did the Cinque Terre by train late in the morning. The Cinque Terre was much more crowded and we all agreed that we liked Portevenere more!! Would love to come in summer...

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank MywaySA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, New South Wales, Australia
Level Contributor
1,888 reviews
921 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 736 helpful votes
“You must come here if you are in Cinque Terre”
Reviewed April 7, 2013 via mobile

We are staying in Hotel Nella in La Spezia and came here after recommendation from our host. We drove from La Spezia but it would be just as easy to bus or Boat, or by boat from any CT town. In fact that may be cheaper as parking at the port town starts at €1.50 per hour and on a busy day you may end up with a 2km walk into town.
But I do suggest making the trip and spending a half day there as you will be well rewarded. The Castle and Church of San Lorenzo are must sees and there are places aplenty to get food and souvenirs.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Albywon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Portovenere also viewed

Vernazza, Cinque Terre
Porto Venere, Italian Riviera
 
Porto Venere, Italian Riviera
Monterosso al Mare, Cinque Terre
 

Been to Portovenere? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing