We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Not to be missed” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Portovenere

Portovenere
Book In Advance
More Info
$131.73*
and up
Mountain Bike Tour in the Cinque Terre
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Mandaluyong, Philippines
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Not to be missed”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 1, 2012

When we visited this part of beautiful Italy, our plan was mainly to visit the Cinque Terre. However, the owner of the hotel mentioned that Portovenere was also an equally beautiful place. It is a short bus ride from (25min) from La Spezia. Indeed, it was marvelous. The sea, the rocks, the church on the rocks where you can have a fantastic view of the ocean and the mountains, the Castle. We had a delicious seafood pasta lunch by the sea. Several nice shops to buy some souvenirs. You can prcatically stay in Portovenere for the whole day. Do not miss to visit Portovenere when you are visiting this area.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
5 Thank Lettie0712
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,001 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,568
    371
    44
    11
    7
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Moscow, Russia
Level Contributor
242 reviews
126 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 128 helpful votes
“A gem of the Gulf of Poets”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 24, 2012

A little town of Porto Venere (or Portovenere) with its bright-color houses on the rocks, its castle, from the top of which you can see the Gulf of Poets, Lerici across the Gulf, islands, St.Peter's Church right on the rocks, Byron's grotto - is a place you will never forget. And how beautiful it looks at sunset, colored by the sunlight! I was lucky to see this beautiful picture every evening, as I stayed in Fiascherino, just across the Gulf.
This little town is worth a trip, even if you stay somewhere else in the region, but can go there by boat. You can also take a boat trip to see three islands near Porto Venere (only two can be visited, one is a military base but is open to public on September 13th, San Venerio's Day).
There are good restaurants and nice souvenir shops with some interesting local handcraft articles.
As for the restaurants, I definitely recommend "Da Paolo" - great food, wine, service, low prices.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Elena-Gioia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christchurch, Canterbury, New Zealand
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Great sights and history”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 2, 2012

Best to do this with a guide for the full effect. Out to the peninsular then through the town, we arrived via water taxi, it was like something out of Lord of the Rings, I had never experienced this before so was quite overwelming. We were staying in Manarola and had just walk the 'Bridle Path' so was a quick visit.

Helpful?
1 Thank Tim N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milan, Italy
Level Contributor
95 reviews
53 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
“beautiful area”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 13, 2012

We love the beautiful little town with its painted houses! Also, we like the castel where you can get a wonderful view. The churches are lovely as well. You can visit The Fortress which is located on the rock and the St. Peter and Paul Church next to it. In the town centre you can see Madonna Bianca Church, instead. Try the lovely food focaccia, its a salted and delicious bread. The panorama in Portovenere are magic, you won't forget it!

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
3 Thank rossella91
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
242 reviews
49 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 111 helpful votes
“11th-12th Century Town, Not to miss!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 8, 2012

Portovenere is like a cousin of Portofino, less Gucci and more charm. Well, we live pretty close to here part of the year. So I know it well. Small boutiques, wonderful restaurants. Carugio-a narrow and wonderful street in the middle of Portovenre, with great charming boutiques and cafes/restaurants. The divine, stunning San Pietro Church. Trips from here to Cinque Terre. Some terrific hotels and restaurants. Great!

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank soncijo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Portovenere also viewed

Vernazza, Cinque Terre
Porto Venere, Italian Riviera
 
Porto Venere, Italian Riviera
Porto Venere, Italian Riviera
 

Been to Portovenere? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing