We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awesome”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Royal Sporting Hotel
Ranked #7 of 7 Hotels in Porto Venere
Jacksonville Beach, FL
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Awesome”
Reviewed September 27, 2010

This was a very neat hotel in a sweet location. The bathroom was so big, especially compared to the other hotels we stayed at during our visit to Italy. Everything was wonderful, the front desk was very welcoming. We enjoyed our stay here so much. Walking distance to nice shops & restaurants and the water taxi to the other villages was so much fun!

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JoniAbel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

312 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    56
    110
    80
    49
    17
See reviews for
51
159
6
10
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
EU
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed July 11, 2010

Nice hotel with central European style. Nice swimming pool, view to the sea and nice surroundings. Room quite small.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Trisse2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NJ
Level 6 Contributor
39 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed August 2, 2009

We were traveling with another couple. Both of us had rooms with a balcony overlooking the sea. Ours was on the 4th floor and had a good size. As mentioned in another review the shower in the bathroom was a little small but adequate. The decor is a bit dated but everything is very clean and comfortable. Breakfast was plentiful and very good .

We loved Portovenere and thought it was bigger than expected. We visited the CT towns from there by boat.

The hotel is away from the center of town, approx 10 mins walking.

I highly recommend this hotel and was glad we stayed there versus the other options in town.

Stayed June 2009, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank katarob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York, Pennsylvania
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 26, 2009

We had a nice stay here during our trip to italy for a friend's wedding. The town is absolutely gorgeous, and the hotel has a fabulous view. The rooms are smaller and less extravagant than in the US (typical for Europe) but they are clean and comfortable (and air conditioned). Breakfast is included. The hotel staff is friendly and some speak English quite well. It is a short 10 minute walk from the restaurants and shops in Portovenere, and the beach is right out front. The tv only had a few channels (one in English). The standing shower is very small. The salt water pool was great. Ther is a spa and a fitness center, neither of which we used. Hotel has a very nice restaurant with a fantastic view of the sea.

Note- the beach right out front "Sporting beach" is not free to hotel guests, as we suspected. It is actually quite expensive to spend the day there- you must pay for each chair and an umbrella.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nduffy2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed October 2, 2008

The Hotel Royal Sporting is just bliss, a wonderful wonderful place. A family run hotel in a small town - Portovenere. The staff are very friendly and will literally bend over backwards. The hotel was large and offered everything for a relaxing break. I would not normally eat at a hotel in the evenings, but venture in to town, however on our first night we decided to try it and then returned on 11 further evenings. The main resturant is one of the best I have ever eaten in, sitting on the beautiful terrace overlooking the med and the staff will pretty much cook for you whatever you fancy, fresh fish, pasta, meats, salads.
The rooms are spotless and typically italian, our towels were changed 3 times a day, bed changed daily and at night time when you retruned to your room, your bed covers were pulled down and a little chocolate left on your pillow. A fresh fruit basket was delivered daily oh and flowers.......
Breakfast is a feast, a large buffet with both hot and cold selections, cakes, fruits the list goes on and on.
The hotel is situated on a one way road with a 1 minute walk to the beach, which does get very busy with locals, although we ended up becoming part of local life and became friends with most other people on the beach.
I could not rate this hotel highly enough, they literally welcome you into the family, the service is first class and the food the best I've ever eaten.
If you are looking for a quiet break, in the sun, with superb service, wonderful views and fantastic food this is your hotel......
Portovenere itself is quite a small resort with a few resturants and shops, but a beautiful place in liguria.....
Cant wait to return.............................

  • Liked — ABSOLUTELY EVERYTHING
  • Disliked — The fact that I had to leave it behind.....
  • Stayed June 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank bubbles32a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Byron Bay, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
166 reviews
90 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 109 helpful votes
Reviewed August 2, 2008

Our family, 2 adults and 3 adult children, had 3 nights in the hotel last July.
Front office staff were very friendly and helpful.
Nice quaint rooms with plenty of space and a balcony with a view of the bay to die for!
A 10 minute walk along the beach promenade brings you to the centre with lots of shops and restaurants.
Boats depart from the harbour taking in all the Cinque Terre towns
The hotel restaurant is interesting; food was nice but service was chaotic, wrong meals and a long wait time.
The pool was great and there is also a beach out the front.

  • Liked — View
  • Disliked — Restaurant
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank RobertKaren
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
Reviewed July 30, 2008

We stayed at this hotel in July. Portovenere is a great resort as it is as attractive as the Cinque Terre towns but is much more spread out so there are more beaches.
Our first impression of our room was that it was in need of some refurbishment, but the view from the balcony was amazing. If you stay in this hotel, make sure you get a seaview room as the other rooms look out onto a cliff face. Despite being in need of some redecoration (like many Italian hotels), the room was very clean and the towels and toiletries were replaced twice a day which was excellent. We had a 3 month old baby with us and he also had his towels and linen changed twice a day and the hotel staff were really lovely to him.
I also think this is the only hotel in the area with a swimming pool. You could always get a bed as most guests went to the hotel's private beach area. The swimming pool area is in the direct sun all day and there are no umbrellas so it can get very hot but there are some beds and chairs in the gardens at the back of the hotel and beach towels are in abundant supply.
We were very impressed with the breakfasts where there was a lot of choice but thought that the lunch menu in the bar was limited. We ate in the hotel restaurant for dinner on only one occasion as there are many good fish restaurants nearby and we wanted to try different ones. We thought the meal in the hotel was excellent and not that pricey compared with others.
I agree with other comments about the Internet and that the hotel needs to move with the times and have a high speed wireless service. If you fancy some exercise, I would recommend taking a walk up to the church and castle on the hill as the views from up there are tremendous.
I would definitely recommend this hotel as it is clean, great views, swimming pool, own beach, good breakfasts and a very pleasant 10 minute scenic walk to the centre.

  • Liked — Views
  • Disliked — The rooms are in need of refurbishment
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank AlisonApple
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Porto Venere hotels
0.6 mi away
Grand Hotel Portovenere
Grand Hotel Portovenere
#1 of 7 in Porto Venere
415 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel della Baia
Hotel della Baia
#3 of 7 in Porto Venere
291 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Paradiso
Hotel Paradiso
#2 of 7 in Porto Venere
272 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Hotel Belvedere
Hotel Belvedere
#4 of 7 in Porto Venere
168 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Genio
Hotel Genio
#6 of 7 in Porto Venere
154 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel Le Grazie
Hotel Le Grazie
#5 of 7 in Porto Venere
179 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Royal Sporting Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royal Sporting Hotel

Property: Royal Sporting Hotel
Address: Via dell' Olivo, 345, 19025, Porto Venere, Italy
Location: Italy > Liguria > Italian Riviera > Porto Venere
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 7 Hotels in Porto Venere
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Royal Sporting Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 60
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Travelocity, Orbitz, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Agoda, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Royal Sporting Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Royal Sporting
Royal Sporting Portovenere

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing