We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“wonderful view”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Royal Sporting Hotel
Ranked #6 of 7 Hotels in Porto Venere
Reviewed July 15, 2012

We stayed at the royal sporting hotel for a few nights recently, knowing the reviews were saying the hotel was dated and need of a face lift! I guess l would need to agree, however, the position was fabulous and the staff very helpful. We had a balcony room with sea view which was wonderful, however, the balcony wasn't private by any means so if your looking for something a little intamte perhaps this may not be the place for you! Out of the hotel to the right are plenty of restuarants, cafes etc. Also, you must walk to the end of the street to the small chapel with its magnificent views over the ocean and beyond. What a picturesque place. On the way back from the chapel head to the laft and you will find the small narrow streets of restaurants and shops of all kinds to linger around. All in all a beautiful place to spend your holiday!

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank carol1136458
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (332)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

72 - 78 of 332 reviews

Reviewed November 19, 2011

To me, a 4 star rating is to have accommodations that are luxurious and service that is excellent. The Royal Sporting Hotel has a 4 star view of the mediterranean, all other aspects of the hotel barely rank a 2 star hotel. Our room was medium in size, two twin beds, a desk , small T.V. on a wall stand. We did not have a view, but our friends had a balcony and a lovely view of the sea.

The beds were very hard, sheets were not of a high thread count and the bedspread was thin and like something my grandma had on her beds. The pillows were very hard and flat, I had to ask for extra pillows because they were so uncomfortable.

The bathroom was very small and two people could not stand at the sink at the same time. It was however very clean.

If you are expecting luxury you will be disappointed. The hotel does not deserve a 4 star rating in my book. The food was good, room was clean and the service was average.

Room Tip: Ask for a front view with a balcony. Don't expect the Taj-Mahal it is more like a motel 6.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Indygal8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 2, 2011

Friendly service, good breakfast, very nice swimmingpool. We had a room with seaview, the room was clean an comfortable but a bit dark and outdatet. Walking distance to the boats to Cinque Terre. Considering the standard,the hotel is a overpriced.

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HegeKTrondheim_Norge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 7, 2011

We were a bit disappointed when we arrived. The Hotel looks smart from the outside but like too many of the italian riviera hotels it is a bitt outdated an run down. Sure the view from the terrace and the swimming pool area is breathtaking, but the rooms are not up to standard. Considering the cost, I would say that the hotel is not worth the price. But the location is excellent and the potential is there. Portovenere is a true gem, and we absolutely fell in love with the place. One word of warning though, everything is expensive here. We ended up paying 32 Euro for two sun beds at the beach. The small harbor area is fantastic with many good restaurants to choose from, and these are not to pricey. The breakfast was very good. Being a scandinavian I am not used to eating cookies for breakfast, and the range to choose from was very good. The Fitness center was a laugh!!!! If you plan to end up as Arnold Schwartzenegger this is not the hotel for you, unless you start lifting the furniture in your room. I still to this day can not comprehend how the could call this a fitness center!!! The car park will sett you back 20 Euros pr night!!!!!! Par it in the street. Perfectly safe and free of charge

Room Tip: Get a room up front for a breathtaking view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Molander
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 5, 2011

We were mystified how this hotel claims 4 stars. It is old and tired, with staff who appear disinterested and not very friendly. The room had a nice view, but the furniture and fittings were sparse, old, and not comfortable. The bathroom is very small, and also "vintage". We had no complaints about the cleanliness.

Sound proofing between rooms is terrible. The balcony has no privacy, and its furniture is uncomfortable.

The hotel's pool area is unpleasant. The pool had far too much chlorine in it, and the attendant was brusque and overbearing.

Breakfast was ok.

This hotel is one of the furthest from the harbour area and the parking is expensive - which they don't tell you about unless you ask.

Neither royal nor sporting.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nicolgang
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 29, 2011

It's a hotel that may have been good in the 80ies but tht now needs a lot of attention (which it has not) and refurbishing. High price and low quality. Our room on the back was one of the smallest rooms I ever saw (you could not open the drawers unless you moved the bed side table on the balcony). Noisy air conditiong: if you stopped it, you had to keep the windows open for some fresh air at night, but the air conditioning compressor of the hotel was just below our balcony so... The housemaids were cleaning the corridor carpets at 8.00 am on Sunday! Is it normal? The fact is that Portovenere is so lovely but hotels are not up to its beauty

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the front, facing the sea, maybe they are a little bigger (but noisy as well as th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Susanna D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 4, 2011

I found this hotel full of contradictions. My wife said it was just plain bad. I’ll give you my side as she isn’t writing this.

On arrival the receptionist handed us our keys, said the room was on the second floor and then stood and watched as we lugged our suitcases up stairs to the elevator. She didn’t score any starting points. The room was sparse, plain and a bit disappointing for the price. We’d just come from the Hotel Pietrasanta in Pietrasanta and the comparison was like driving a Maserati and then moving onto a Fiat, but paying the same price.

But then there is the pool! A great plus indeed. In fact, the location, the view and the pool are really the only things going for this place. They do also have parking for extra.

So this may not be too bad, you might be asking yourself, just some teething issues? Well, then we got to the balcony! In fact it is just one big elongated balcony, interspersed with some fence-like barriers. The complete lack of privacy or intimacy doesn’t really make you want to use it. It’s like sitting on the deck by the pool as your neighbours are right on top of you. C’mon, how hard can it be to put up some nice cotton screens or something? Then First Night: the walls were definitely made out of cardboard… you can hear people having quiet conversations and even breathing! Not a lot of fun, especially when someone decides to watch TV late or extra early. Then 8am arrives and the cleaners kick start the vacuum. They even banged against the door in their quest to get us up and out of bed. I’m on holiday, I don’t want to wake up at 8am! And this everyday for 4 days, no exception!

The pool staff are friendly, as is the barman. You can hardly fit in the shower and the bath products smell terrible.

They could really make something special of this hotel, especially with the location, but in its current state I can only recommend wholeheartedly that you stay away from this one! Really, do yourself a favour and shop around for something else.

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank VincennesFrance100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Porto Venere
0.6 mi away
Grand Hotel Portovenere
Grand Hotel Portovenere
#1 of 7 in Porto Venere
461 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel della Baia
Hotel della Baia
#3 of 7 in Porto Venere
315 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Genio
Hotel Genio
#5 of 7 in Porto Venere
163 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Hotel Paradiso
Hotel Paradiso
#2 of 7 in Porto Venere
289 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Belvedere
Hotel Belvedere
#4 of 7 in Porto Venere
175 reviews
3.6 mi away
Hotel Shelley Delle Palme
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Royal Sporting Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royal Sporting Hotel

Address: Via dell' Olivo, 345, 19025, Porto Venere, Italy
Location: Italy > Liguria > Italian Riviera > Porto Venere
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 7 Hotels in Porto Venere
Price Range: $178 - $377 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Royal Sporting Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 60
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Priceline, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and TripOnline SA so you can book your Royal Sporting Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Royal Sporting
Royal Sporting Portovenere

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing