We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wonderful”

Ristorante Pizzeria Il Timone
Reserve with
Ristorante Pizzeria Il Timone is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #27 of 65 Restaurants in Porto Venere
Price range: $2 - $10
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Romantic, Local cuisine, Scenic view
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Dinner, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Street Parking, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Description: Rudder opens its doors around 1960 when Portovenere had not yet reached the tourist interest today. The create and lead him to the end of the 80s and Marino Toni offering their customers the traditional Ligurian dishes joined the Italian dish: pizza. Today on the path created by the parents, Antonella continues the tradition in a room totally renovated but in the typical tone of Liguria. The rudder is the perfect destination to enjoy the flavor and atmosphere of Ligurian cuisine. Ideal for an aperitif from 18.00 Onwards with wine and Ligurian cuisine or for a dinner with many different tones. Great for organizing birthdays afternoon with a buffet, or traditional with the offer of delicious pizzas created by the high professionalism of Antonella already leading exponent of the pizza industry and is currently President of the Pizza Planet - Science and Culture Pizza. Interesting for groups up to a maximum of 50 people offer to drink menu with wines and Ligurian cuisine from 7 euro, and dinner from 15 EUR. The Wardrobe will offer an opportunity to give away or give a concrete memory of your passage to the rudder.
Level Contributor
30 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Wonderful”
Reviewed June 9, 2013 via mobile

We stumbled upon this place just waliking around and it turned up to have, Great food, pizza was great! Nice spot with a view of the water as well. Prices were fair and service was good as well. It was a nice spot to have a good little lunch

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank Merchantsail
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

973 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    337
    347
    144
    73
    72
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Rome
Level Contributor
70 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“A cute little place, great prices”
Reviewed April 15, 2013

I have to say, this place really surprised us. Everyone was extremely friendly. We ordered some of the specials, and were not disappointed. Kids ordered kids pizza menus and loved them (pizza + soda for 10 euros). We ate fish and found it to be well cooked, tasty and cheap all in all. The atmosphere is more provencal than Italian, but it's still very pretty. I would definitely recommend it for anyone on a budget who likes to eat well. We didn't need to book but it might be better to if you're heading to Portovenere especially.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Sofuia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Disaapoines”
Reviewed April 14, 2013

Read a lot of good reviews about this place but the restaurant simply did not live to the expectations. The food isn't bad but the service was bad. One of the guests ordered soup which arrived 30 minutes too late (after everyone else finished eating).

Would not recommend

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Gnesher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
planetlaspezia, Proprietario at Ristorante Pizzeria Il Timone, responded to this review, April 15, 2013
Google Translation
Mi dispiace che solo Voi non siate stati contenti del nostro ristorante domenica 16 aprile con tutti i complimenti ricevuti dai nostri numerosissimi clienti.
La vostra zuppa e' arrivata come seconda portata un po in ritardo dalle altre del tavolo per tempi tecnici di cottura,dopo che tutti avevate mangiato ottimi antipasti con vostri complimenti,la fretta a tavola non può accomodar si.comunque come risulta dal mio computer il vostro tavolo si è' occupato da voi alle 19,00 e si è' liberato alle 18,10 dopo aver consumato due portate a commensale.
Non mi sembra un motivo per dire tutto negativo su di Noi, il nostro impegno e' ripagato dai nostri clienti numerosi,in questo caso un'attesa anche annuncia al momento dell'ordinazione per la lunga cottura della zuppa non può essere causa del vostro brutto giudizio! Non approvo che isterismi dell'ultima ora annebbino l ottima considerazione del mio locale.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milan, Italy
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“We came to town only to eat here-- worth every effort.”
Reviewed April 10, 2013

We were driving through La Spezia and on a whim decided to go to Porto Venere for lunch. We found this place on trip advisor and after reading some reviews decided to give it a chance. I cannot emphasize enough that THIS IS THE PLACE TO GO. We ate at many places on our trip and this stands out by far as the best restaurant. Here are the reasons why:
1. The Staff: It was literally pouring rain and they greeted us at the door to help us manage our umbrellas, and general wetness. As we dined, we saw them be polite and continually accommodating to an Italian family that literally switched tables 3 times on them. The hostess came over personally to chat with us and we promised her that we would write a review because we were so touched by their warm kindness and attention to detail.
2. Ambiance: The attention to detail is incredible. The soothing colors, the comfort of the layout in a small space, the ability to watch the chefs prepare food.
3. The Food: We ordered the menu of the day which included a peso dish (the best we had had) and steamed mussels. Followed by a delicious chocolate cream mouse. Again, the presentation and attention to detail was remarkable-- even the small spoon to eat the desert was cute and unique. Also-- be sure to order the Farinata. We did so because of other reviews and loved it!!! We had both original and the one with sausage.
4. We paid by credit card and couldn't believe our bill-- less than 30 a person for wine, 2 courses plus farinata and desert. Please note that service is NOT INCLUDED and we forgot to tip and decided to go back and give a tip because of how kind and hospitable they had been to us.
5. This is an ideal place for a lunch or dinner-- right on the water with a great view of the harbor. Don't eat anywhere else. You will be happy you came.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank MAMorck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore
Level Contributor
146 reviews
102 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
“Local and Reasonable”
Reviewed October 20, 2012

This is a local hangout,and one of the few places you can order Farinata, Chickpea Flatbread. It's DELICIOUS. First thing I did at home was buy a bag of chickpea flour, because we're making that. The fried white anchovies are a great finger food, as is the fried mixed seafood. The pizzas are great too. Local delicacies, local wines, are genuine Cinque Terre experience.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank BillyKmd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ristorante Pizzeria Il Timone also viewed

Porto Venere, Italian Riviera
Porto Venere, Italian Riviera
 
Porto Venere, Italian Riviera
Porto Venere, Italian Riviera
 
Porto Venere, Italian Riviera
Porto Venere, Italian Riviera
 

Been to Ristorante Pizzeria Il Timone? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing