We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean, everything you need for small family or 2 couples”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Residence i Gabbiani
Ranked #4 of 19 Porto Venere B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Level 6 Contributor
156 reviews
105 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 191 helpful votes
“Clean, everything you need for small family or 2 couples”
Reviewed June 17, 2014

Stayed 1 night in May 2014 as part of a wider 51 day trip through parts of Europe. Paid €120 pn for a 1 bedroom apartment, sleeps 4 (2 bathrooms). Room 107 & 108 which join together to make a 1 bedroom apartment with an extra large fold out bed (comes down from wall) in kitchen area. This was fine for 2 couples for the night. Rate did not include breakfast.

The owners speak limited English (the wife understands a little but doesn’t speak it, the husband does speak a bit of English). This didn’t matter that much as we all made ourselves understood and they were very friendly. They gave us a lovely bottle of red wine on arrival from their privately made wine.

Apartment had a good balcony that looked out over the port and up to the old fort etc. Excellent view and ambience.

We considered it was very good value for price paid. Apartment was very clean and had AC, Heating, Mirrors, Wardrobes, 2 flat screen TV’s on walls, small but modern kitchen with full size stove & hotplates, full size fridge and freezer, utensils & crockery for 4, sink, etc. Small table with 4 chairs. Is a line and pegs outside and 2 balconies (one from master bedroom, one from kitchen – the one from kitchen is the one with view).

2 Bathrooms, both private; both of average size. Toiletries provided were soaps. Small portable hairdryer provided. Hot water shower and good water pressure. Showers are on own bases with glass surrounds. Really good heated electric towel rack in both bathrooms.

Parking at dedicated parking onsite in garage under the rooms.

WiFi: free. Speed: Fast. Pool: No.

It is possible to walk to the port in 10 to 15 mins, a bit longer if walking leisurely. The walk home is flat then up a gradual hill (quite an easy stroll really). You can see the residence from the port. There are a couple of small eateries close by if you don’t want to walk all the way to port and a supermarket down near the port where we bought munchies and drinks, etc.

Overall, we would give this 4/5 stars. We would stay again and wouldn’t bother looking for elsewhere unless it was booked out already.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank wishtago...
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

109 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    62
    36
    9
    2
    0
See reviews for
41
52
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed November 18, 2013

Magnificent view of Porto Venere from our Balcony, fully equipped kitchen was really handy, Free Parking garage, Wifi connection was good but with very long password, Gabbiani was helpful and friendly. We loved the experience in Porto Venere.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Anthonylph
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed November 3, 2013

We caught the bus from La Spezia to Porto Venere. Next time we know that the bus passes the apartments but still the walk was worth it. The view in the morning from our balcony was magic and we loved the walk in to the centre of town each day. The apartment was spacious, clean and most comfortable. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Brighton-Boomers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huntington Beach, California
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed October 19, 2013

We stayed for 3 nights in apartment 3 and our friends in apartment 4. The owners welcomed us with fresh, delicious figs that were the best we ever ate. The apartment was spacious with one of the best views in Portovenere. Our terrace had a patio set with umbrella and lounge chairs. Every day we came home with groceries and enjoyed eating at home on the terrace. One day my friends cooked and one day we cooked. No restaurant or hotel in Portovenere had our view and sunset.
Transportation to the Cinque Terre boat was easy. A 3 minute walk down the hill was a bus that came every 15 minutes that took us directly to the boat. No need to take the train from La Spezia to Cinque Terre, the boat stopped in every town and it was soooo beautiful by boat. Cornelia was the only town we did not see. On our return we stopped at the "supermercato" bought our groceries and wine for the evening and took the bus one stop further up the hill and walked down to our apartment. That was easier than going up the hill. We never had to move our car, we did everything by bus. The town of Portovenere is charming and has nice shops, restaurants etc. Don't stay at a hotel, reserve room 3 or 4 early at Villa Gabbiani. You won't regret it! It helps to have a GPS when you are driving in Italy. We thought we went wrong the first time trying to find Villa Gabbiani. If you see a bus follow the bus and you will pass it.

Room Tip: Ask for room 3 or 4. They have the biggest private terrace. The views are the best!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Christina M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geelong, Australia
1 review
Reviewed October 2, 2013

We only stayed one night and were very impressed with the apartment. It was very clean and spacious and well equipped. The balcony was a highlight with a picture postcard view of the port and banana lounges to relax in and take it all in. The owners were very friendly and accommodating. Car park underneath is a bonus and access to the apartment is an easy drive on a one way street through the town. The apartment is located out of the main center however it is a pleasant 10-15min walk along the water front into center of Porto Venere. The supermarket can be accessed along the way. Highly recommend Porto Verne as a relaxing holiday spot. Easy access to nearby locations, Cinque Terre and The Gulf of Poets by boat trip or car. Will definitely return for a longer stay in Residence i Gabbiani

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Australiana2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Abu Dhabi, United Arab Emirates
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed September 19, 2013

We stayed for 3 nights in apartment 4 with 2 young children. The apartment was very spacious, clean and the kitchen well equipped. Lovely terrace area, which was nice for the children. The views were amazing and we spent alot of time in the evening sitting outside enjoying the view and the changing sky. Parking was a blessing as it is paid parking on the street. I had wanted to visit Cinque Terre for a very long time and after visiting a few of the villages I think Portovenere has so much more to offer and would recommend it as a place to stay. It takes about 20 mins to walk into the village from the apartment, but it is a lovely walk (also one that our 3 year old did very easily). I can recommend the little shop just 5 minutes walk away with beautiful cakes and fresh fruit. We fell in love with Portovenere and genuinely didn't want to leave.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KiwiTraveller08032
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 4 Contributor
45 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed September 13, 2013

Me, my wife and child had stayed 2 nights in here.
The room was really clean and the available pans and kitchen saved us some money on dinner/breakfast (and if you came to Portovenere you know what I mean).

The owner is fantastic, it can entertain you for hours telling about his past, somebody is going to make a book about his hectic life! But very kind expecially with small kids.

The decks are the highlight of the deal, breathtaking views of the gulf! Bring your tripod.

It isn't too close to the "core" of the town but the walk (~20 minutes) is nice and plenty of opportunities to steal some figs from the neighboors.

We will come back (to hear more stories)!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank maxscipio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Porto Venere hotels
0.7 mi away
Grand Hotel Portovenere
Grand Hotel Portovenere
#1 of 7 in Porto Venere
402 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hotel della Baia
Hotel della Baia
#3 of 7 in Porto Venere
288 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Paradiso
Hotel Paradiso
#2 of 7 in Porto Venere
268 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Royal Sporting Hotel
Royal Sporting Hotel
#7 of 7 in Porto Venere
304 reviews
0.4 mi away
Verdemare & Verdementa
Verdemare & Verdementa
#1 of 2 in Le Grazie
50 reviews
0.8 mi away
Affittacamere L'Ancora
Affittacamere L'Ancora
#1 of 19 in Porto Venere
100 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Residence i Gabbiani? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Residence i Gabbiani

Property: Residence i Gabbiani
Address: Via Seno Dell Olivo 465, 19025, Porto Venere, Italy
Location: Italy > Liguria > Italian Riviera > Porto Venere
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 19 B&Bs / Inns in Porto Venere
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With a balcony overlooking the Ligurian Sea, apartments at the Gabbiani Residence are 300 metres from the sandy beach and 1.5 km outside Portovenere. Air conditioning, a fully equipped kitchenette and flat-screen TV are included in each apartment at Residence I Gabbiani. Some units boast separate living and sleeping areas, and some have free Wi-Fi. Guests can find shops and restaurant only 400 metres from the property, or reach La Spezia city centre in 20 minutes by car. The famous Cinque Terre Area is 25 km away. Parking is free on site. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Residence i Gabbiani reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing