We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Residence i Gabbiani
Nearby Hotels
Grand Hotel Portovenere(Porto Venere)
$358
$332
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Beachfront
Hotel della Baia(Porto Venere)(Great Value!)
$163
$158
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Royal Sporting Hotel(Porto Venere)
$207
$197
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Breakfast included
  • Pool
Hotel Le Grazie(Porto Venere)
$116
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
Villa Nina(La Spezia)
$161
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
$105
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Hotel Paradiso(Porto Venere)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Hotel Belvedere(Porto Venere)
No availability for your dates from our partners
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Hotel Genio(Porto Venere)
No availability for your dates from our partners
  • Free Wifi
  • Bar/Lounge
Locanda Tramonti(La Spezia)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
Reviews (117)
Filter reviews
117 results
Traveler rating
65
41
9
2
0
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
65
41
9
2
0
See what travelers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
15 - 20 of 117 reviews
Reviewed October 19, 2013

We stayed for 3 nights in apartment 3 and our friends in apartment 4. The owners welcomed us with fresh, delicious figs that were the best we ever ate. The apartment was spacious with one of the best views in Portovenere. Our terrace had a patio set with umbrella and lounge chairs. Every day we came home with groceries and enjoyed eating at home on the terrace. One day my friends cooked and one day we cooked. No restaurant or hotel in Portovenere had our view and sunset.
Transportation to the Cinque Terre boat was easy. A 3 minute walk down the hill was a bus that came every 15 minutes that took us directly to the boat. No need to take the train from La Spezia to Cinque Terre, the boat stopped in every town and it was soooo beautiful by boat. Cornelia was the only town we did not see. On our return we stopped at the "supermercato" bought our groceries and wine for the evening and took the bus one stop further up the hill and walked down to our apartment. That was easier than going up the hill. We never had to move our car, we did everything by bus. The town of Portovenere is charming and has nice shops, restaurants etc. Don't stay at a hotel, reserve room 3 or 4 early at Villa Gabbiani. You won't regret it! It helps to have a GPS when you are driving in Italy. We thought we went wrong the first time trying to find Villa Gabbiani. If you see a bus follow the bus and you will pass it.

Room Tip: Ask for room 3 or 4. They have the biggest private terrace. The views are the best!
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Christina M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 2, 2013

We only stayed one night and were very impressed with the apartment. It was very clean and spacious and well equipped. The balcony was a highlight with a picture postcard view of the port and banana lounges to relax in and take it all in. The owners were very friendly and accommodating. Car park underneath is a bonus and access to the apartment is an easy drive on a one way street through the town. The apartment is located out of the main center however it is a pleasant 10-15min walk along the water front into center of Porto Venere. The supermarket can be accessed along the way. Highly recommend Porto Verne as a relaxing holiday spot. Easy access to nearby locations, Cinque Terre and The Gulf of Poets by boat trip or car. Will definitely return for a longer stay in Residence i Gabbiani

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Australiana2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 19, 2013

We stayed for 3 nights in apartment 4 with 2 young children. The apartment was very spacious, clean and the kitchen well equipped. Lovely terrace area, which was nice for the children. The views were amazing and we spent alot of time in the evening sitting outside enjoying the view and the changing sky. Parking was a blessing as it is paid parking on the street. I had wanted to visit Cinque Terre for a very long time and after visiting a few of the villages I think Portovenere has so much more to offer and would recommend it as a place to stay. It takes about 20 mins to walk into the village from the apartment, but it is a lovely walk (also one that our 3 year old did very easily). I can recommend the little shop just 5 minutes walk away with beautiful cakes and fresh fruit. We fell in love with Portovenere and genuinely didn't want to leave.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KiwiTraveller08032
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 13, 2013

Me, my wife and child had stayed 2 nights in here.
The room was really clean and the available pans and kitchen saved us some money on dinner/breakfast (and if you came to Portovenere you know what I mean).

The owner is fantastic, it can entertain you for hours telling about his past, somebody is going to make a book about his hectic life! But very kind expecially with small kids.

The decks are the highlight of the deal, breathtaking views of the gulf! Bring your tripod.

It isn't too close to the "core" of the town but the walk (~20 minutes) is nice and plenty of opportunities to steal some figs from the neighboors.

We will come back (to hear more stories)!

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank maxscipio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 3, 2013

We stayed for 12 nights in appartment number 4. It was a great experience.
When we arrived we walked up the stairs to the owners' appartment. The lady does not speak any English but her husband does a little. Both very kind. They showed us the appartment, which is very nice. Terrace facing the sea (and sun from about 10am til 8pm) with two sunbeds and a table with some chairs. Inside: Very clean, nice bed, kitchen with microwave, oven, stove, fridge and freezer. Very handy since we cooked a lot of our own meals during our stay. Nice living room with a sofa, closet desk and tv. Walking distance from the beach (5min), the town (10min), a small supermarket (10 min) and restaurants (10 min). Airconditioning in the living room and bedroom, which was great. WiFi worked really well in the livingroom.

We really appreciated the garage, as parking is pricy on the street. Unfortunately there were a few days on the weekends when the garage was full. But we moved some trash cans and were able to park inside anyways. If you don't have a car, there is a regular bus service which runs through the street to La Spezia. The street is not super busy though (except for saturdays) so it was nice to sit outside whenever we felt like it.

Whenever our towels were dirty we could drop them off with the owner and she would give us clean ones. Same with the bed sheets. Be sure to just use gestures and point to things you need, so she understands. Also the younger lady who cleans speaks a little English.

Downsides: the pillows were pretty hard, so we bought some cheap new ones in the supermarket in La Spezia. The kitchen has plenty of pans and utensils, but a few more cups would have been nice and a sponge to do the dishes.

Overall it was great to stay here and if we ever come back here, I would pick Residence i Gabbiani again. Highly recommended!

Room Tip: For as far as we could tell all appartments except for number 5 face the sea. We stayed in number 4 which was perfect.
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank RenBez
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews