We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Residence i Gabbiani
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
Royal Sporting Hotel(Porto Venere)
View Hotel
  • Breakfast included
  • Pool
Hotel Paradiso(Porto Venere)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Hotel Belvedere(Porto Venere)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Grand Hotel Portovenere(Porto Venere)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Beachfront
Hotel Genio(Porto Venere)
View Hotel
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free Internet
Hotel Le Grazie(Porto Venere)
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
Hotel della Baia(Porto Venere)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Locanda Tramonti(La Spezia)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
Baia Blu RTA(Lerici)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Stella Marina(San Terenzo)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
Reviews (115)
Filter reviews
115 results
Traveler rating
63
41
9
2
0
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
63
41
9
2
0
See what travelers are saying:
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
23 - 28 of 115 reviews
Reviewed April 14, 2012

Our stay (3 nights) at Residence I Gabbiani is one of the most memorable ones in our 3-week trip in France and Italy. It's certainly difficult to find the place, especially at night and more particularly for Canadians not used to driving in Italy, but once you get there, you'll forget about that!
Portovenere is magnificent and the panoramic view from the balcony reveals its beauty. We were fortunate to travel during low season (late September) since we got a spacious apartment that was clean and had the equipment we needed.
Communication with the owner was a challenge since she did not speak English, but everything was resolved when the owners' son was around. But this did not prevent us from seeing their kindness and willingness to help.
Residence I Gabbiani is well located to go to the Cinque Terre (much nicer location than La Spezia) by boat, which costs about 12 euros per person. You can decide to come back by train and bus if you don't want to take the boat again. But if you do take the boat for one way, choose it to get to the Cinque Terre because the view is splendid, postcards like.
If we ever go back to Italy, we will definitely stay there again and stay longer! We highly recommend it!

Room Tip: We highly recommend room with balcony.
  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank PLMEP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 8, 2011

My girlfriend and I, overall enjoyed the stay at the Residence that has nice a nice location, parking garage and a nice terrace.
Few points to be aware: the walk to town is not 5-10 minutes, but is a good 20-25 minutes with a good speed. If you stay more than one night there is no bed making, no change of towel and no coffee or anything in the morning.
Ciao
Marco L (road warrior)

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Marco L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 14, 2011

My husband and I stayed here for two nights in May 2011 and can't imagine that anywhere in Portovenere could be better. The rooms are spotlessly clean, the bathroom and kitchen areas look brand new and (best of all) the view from our (large) balcony was stunning! The residence is a 5-10 minute uphill walk from the centre of the village so possibly not suitable for everyone. However, it's situation makes it perfect for looking over the village and the bay in which it is located. It's truely beautiful!
The owner doesn't speak any english but is very sweet and friendly (she gave us a bottle of wine when we left).
So, to sum up, this is one of the nicest places I have ever stayed - and all for a very reasonable price.

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank WendyF2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 31, 2010

Portovenere is just stunning, picture postcard Italy.
Residence Gabbiani is very nice and well located an easy 10 minute walk to the centre with small children in tow. The views from the appartment were fantastic and the parking a great bonus.
The beds were comfy and the appartement very clean. Excellent shower, plenty of hot water.
My only complaint is that you could not stay here and self cater which we hoped to do more of.the kitchen area is very poorly equipped - we even had to ask for mugs and were only given two for four of us! You would not be able to rustle up a meal, we just about managed breakfast with teaspoons for cereal!
That aside, we loved our stay and would recommend the place as somewhere to rest your heads, good friendly hosts, great location and reasonable price for the area.

  • Stayed: October 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank whizzylala
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 28, 2010

We found this self contained apartment after our original booking was cancelled by the hotelier!

Driving away from the village centre Residence I GABBIANI accommodation looks out to the bay of Portovenere and sits on the side of a hill looks down toward the village (it is about 2/3 kilometers away from the centre. We could watch the stunning sunset or just sit and look at the boats and activity on the bay. The lovely owner, Maria, was a friendly person and was very kind to us. The apartments are new and good quality. We paid E100 per night. There is a car park under the building, it was very quiet.

  • Stayed: October 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank PhoenixBloom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews