We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Terrific apartment with terrific view” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Residence i Gabbiani

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Residence i Gabbiani
Ranked #4 of 19 Porto Venere B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Athens, GA
Level Contributor
47 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Terrific apartment with terrific view”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2012

We stayed for two nights in a large modern apartment with fully equipped kitchen/breakfast nook, living room, bedroom, and extremely large patio overlooking beautiful Portovenere. Car parking is free in the garage (1.25 to 1.75 euro per hour on the streets). Driving is simple - you come in on a one-way road to the center and leave town on a one-way road away from the center (Residence i Gabbiani is just up the hill on the way out of town and easy to find). While the owner's mother does not speak English, she maintains a friendly line of patter in Italian as she shows you what is needed by sign language, and then gives you a free bottle of wine to seal the deal.
We had intended to visit three towns of the Cinque Terre by boat from Porto Venere. Because of rough seas the boats ran only to Monterosso on our first day and not at all on our second day. This was OK with us as we enjoyed Monterosso and seeing the rest of the five towns from the sea, but loved to be in Portovenere. One can climb to the fortress overlooking the town and to the two lovely churches that provide great views. The narrow streets are rustic and it was enjoyable to watch children leaving for school on my early morning walks. I am 71 and the walk to the main square and boat docks was less than 15 minutes. Only one uphill portion returning to the apartment so the return took about 15 minutes. Can't recommend Portovenere and Residence i Gabbiani enough.

Room Tip: Any of the sea view apartments would be great. We had number four, which also had a small side gard...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank muchoviajar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

95 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    56
    29
    8
    2
    0
See reviews for
36
45
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2012

Our stay (3 nights) at Residence I Gabbiani is one of the most memorable ones in our 3-week trip in France and Italy. It's certainly difficult to find the place, especially at night and more particularly for Canadians not used to driving in Italy, but once you get there, you'll forget about that!
Portovenere is magnificent and the panoramic view from the balcony reveals its beauty. We were fortunate to travel during low season (late September) since we got a spacious apartment that was clean and had the equipment we needed.
Communication with the owner was a challenge since she did not speak English, but everything was resolved when the owners' son was around. But this did not prevent us from seeing their kindness and willingness to help.
Residence I Gabbiani is well located to go to the Cinque Terre (much nicer location than La Spezia) by boat, which costs about 12 euros per person. You can decide to come back by train and bus if you don't want to take the boat again. But if you do take the boat for one way, choose it to get to the Cinque Terre because the view is splendid, postcards like.
If we ever go back to Italy, we will definitely stay there again and stay longer! We highly recommend it!

Room Tip: We highly recommend room with balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank PLMEP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Mill, South Carolina
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2011

My girlfriend and I, overall enjoyed the stay at the Residence that has nice a nice location, parking garage and a nice terrace.
Few points to be aware: the walk to town is not 5-10 minutes, but is a good 20-25 minutes with a good speed. If you stay more than one night there is no bed making, no change of towel and no coffee or anything in the morning.
Ciao
Marco L (road warrior)

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Marco L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aix-en-Provence, France
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2011

My husband and I stayed here for two nights in May 2011 and can't imagine that anywhere in Portovenere could be better. The rooms are spotlessly clean, the bathroom and kitchen areas look brand new and (best of all) the view from our (large) balcony was stunning! The residence is a 5-10 minute uphill walk from the centre of the village so possibly not suitable for everyone. However, it's situation makes it perfect for looking over the village and the bay in which it is located. It's truely beautiful!
The owner doesn't speak any english but is very sweet and friendly (she gave us a bottle of wine when we left).
So, to sum up, this is one of the nicest places I have ever stayed - and all for a very reasonable price.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank WendyF2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salisbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
51 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2010

Portovenere is just stunning, picture postcard Italy.
Residence Gabbiani is very nice and well located an easy 10 minute walk to the centre with small children in tow. The views from the appartment were fantastic and the parking a great bonus.
The beds were comfy and the appartement very clean. Excellent shower, plenty of hot water.
My only complaint is that you could not stay here and self cater which we hoped to do more of.the kitchen area is very poorly equipped - we even had to ask for mugs and were only given two for four of us! You would not be able to rustle up a meal, we just about managed breakfast with teaspoons for cereal!
That aside, we loved our stay and would recommend the place as somewhere to rest your heads, good friendly hosts, great location and reasonable price for the area.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank whizzylala
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Zealand
Level Contributor
17 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2010

We found this self contained apartment after our original booking was cancelled by the hotelier!

Driving away from the village centre Residence I GABBIANI accommodation looks out to the bay of Portovenere and sits on the side of a hill looks down toward the village (it is about 2/3 kilometers away from the centre. We could watch the stunning sunset or just sit and look at the boats and activity on the bay. The lovely owner, Maria, was a friendly person and was very kind to us. The apartments are new and good quality. We paid E100 per night. There is a car park under the building, it was very quiet.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank PhoenixBloom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tucson, Arizona
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2010

Although it was a little hard to find, just keep following the signs for "Portovenere". Once you arrive at the apartments on the coast, find the intercom and call as instructed to get your keys. If you have a car, this place has a private garage - a major plus as parking can be hard to come by during the busy summer season! Nicely furnished with a kitchenette for cooking. A bottle of vino was provided for each night's stay as well - a very nice touch!

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank sady23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Porto Venere hotels
0.6 mi away
Grand Hotel Portovenere
Grand Hotel Portovenere
#1 of 7 in Porto Venere
4.5 of 5 stars 294 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel della Baia
Hotel della Baia
#3 of 7 in Porto Venere
4.0 of 5 stars 255 reviews
0.1 mi away
Royal Sporting Hotel
Royal Sporting Hotel
#6 of 7 in Porto Venere
3.5 of 5 stars 263 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Hotel Paradiso
Hotel Paradiso
#2 of 7 in Porto Venere
4.0 of 5 stars 227 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel Genio
Hotel Genio
#7 of 7 in Porto Venere
4.0 of 5 stars 120 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Belvedere
Hotel Belvedere
#4 of 7 in Porto Venere
4.0 of 5 stars 140 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Residence i Gabbiani? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Residence i Gabbiani

Property: Residence i Gabbiani
Address: Via Seno Dell Olivo 465, 19025, Porto Venere, Italy
Location: Italy > Liguria > Italian Riviera > Porto Venere
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 19 B&Bs / Inns in Porto Venere
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With a balcony overlooking the Ligurian Sea, apartments at the Gabbiani Residence are 300 metres from the sandy beach and 1.5 km outside Portovenere. Air conditioning, a fully equipped kitchenette and flat-screen TV are included in each apartment at Residence I Gabbiani. Some units boast separate living and sleeping areas, and some have free Wi-Fi. Guests can find shops and restaurant only 400 metres from the property, or reach La Spezia city centre in 20 minutes by car. The famous Cinque Terre Area is 25 km away. Parking is free on site. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Residence i Gabbiani reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing