We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Hotel Danila
If you like this hotel, you might also be interested in
Hotel Villa Ottone(Portoferraio)
$132
$114
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Viticcio Hotel(Portoferraio)
$111
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$66
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Biodola(Portoferraio)
$156
$151
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Resort le Picchiaie(Portoferraio)
$91
$88
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Mare(Portoferraio)
$85
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Scoglio Bianco(Portoferraio)
$89
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Acquamarina(Portoferraio)
$79
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Airone del Parco & delle Terme(Portoferraio)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
No availability for your dates from our partners
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (243)
Filter reviews
243 results
Traveler rating
92
104
32
10
5
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
92
104
32
10
5
Show reviews that mention
All reviewswifi signalon the small sidestar hotelstayed hererepetitivebayseptemberislandelba
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
6 - 11 of 243 reviews
Reviewed July 26, 2013

This is a perfect little hotel. It is very prettig, with flowery terrace. Service is great, really personal and kind. F ex one of our crowd needed a cushion on the dinner chair. Every time we were moved about, the cushion was moved as well. Old fashioned kindness everywhere. The food is fine, nothing spectacular but decent and always something to look forward too. Great breakfast. Dinner and lunch are eaten inside, because of lack of space on the terrace. Coffees and after dinner drinks can then be had on terrace. However, the owner is planning some building this winter to expand the terrace. Our room (9) is great, 2 connecting rooms for us and the children with two balconies. Beds , especially for italian standars, were great and not too hard. we have not noticed the hotel being loud. The beach is really close and charming. If one is willing to pay for beach service there is ample space. Before 9 two beds and a parasol cost 10 euro which for Italy is super cheap. The beach it self seems to change every year, and this year was a bit smaller and stonier than usual, but still very pretty. Our girls made some good friends in the hotel and had a great time, will want to come back every year ! There are games, a pick nick table and every Tuesday a music night. The singer was really good and could do most Italian singer songwriters very well. I know some from when I studied in Italy, an took a trip down memory lane. All in all a special little place, relaxing, fun, we'll sure come back.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank deppeflep
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 13, 2013

This is a lovely, quiet hotel that allows you to enjoy this part of Elba without paying as much as you would in other 5* hotels, further up the beach. The rooms are basic, but clean and you have everything that you need. In this area I wouldn't worry too much about having the most beautiful hotel room in the world - you will want to spend all your time either exploring or on the beach.

The breakfast is good, standard continental stuff. Coffee, tea, croissants, rolls, toast, hams and cheeses, fruit, cereals and yoghurts. That kind of thing. We ate there one evening as well, and the menu was a little limited, but everything was very nice.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rebecca D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 11, 2012

We arrived to this hotel for the final night of our honeymoon on the recommendation of a colleague.

Very friendly receptionist showed us two rooms. Price high but good location so thought we'd 'treat ourselves'. No option of B&B so limited to half-board. We chose more expensive room with sea view and a bath.

Beach is the best on the island and fantastic for snorkelling and swimming. Soft sand and no need to rent beds for the day.

After going to the beach for the afternoon, we returned to the room to find a horrible smell in the bathroom and no hot water. Called reception and girl on there rather flustered with no idea what to do re water. Whole hotel without hot water and no alternative offered. Could not relax in smelly room. Went to reception to ask to be moved and no one there. Girl returned - she was on her break. Came to check smell and we moved rooms.

Dinner lovely. Restaurant staff extremely friendly and helpful. Squeezed into dining room but pleasant experience. Salad buffet to start was best part. Wanted mussels for main but they'd run out so had fish, which was ok.

New room stiffling with heat when we returned from dinner. Air con didn't work. Woke up next morning to find ants in bathroom. Disgusting. Furniture old and tatty, cracked tiles, no privacy.

No communication from management to apologise or discuss problems. Paid full price - would have been better to offer small discount as apology, or perhaps offer us the bottle of wine we bought at dinner.

Would NEVER return nor recommend. In serious need of rennovation of both hotel and service. Disgusted.

Room Tip: Don't go to this hotel.
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Kristi P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
stefys16, Proprietario at Hotel Danila, responded to this reviewResponded September 14, 2012

I would like to say unluck... they are coming in the middle of the black out becouse all the aera was out of light and as a result also air condition and hot water.... Second point We have renewed
almost all rooms except the rooms in question, we'll do as soon as possible! At the end we forgot to say sorry.
Thanks anyway!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 11, 2011

In Hotel Danila we found the perfect place to stay if you look for a casual, typical Italian atmosphere. No groups, very friendly people, lovely gardens, beautiful beach! The scenery feels so original mediterranean because the whole bay consists of a pine tree forest without hardly any buildings. White sand beaches and cristal clear water completes the picture. We would love to come back again!

Diederik and Annemarij

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank A B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 18, 2008

I can't really say enough about this place, over-rated, over-priced, loud, location is not bad and they do their best to keep you at the place to spend more money there.
The things we found mis-stated,
Internet access - none
Room Safe - none
Website rates not honored
Full Board charged even if you do not want it
The bed was so close to the floor it made it very difficult to get out of bed unless you just rolled off the bed onto your knees.
The room we had was so small in the bedroom area you had to put your luggage on the bed to get it to the other side of the room.
The beach they talk about is 5 yds of sand and shared by all the other hotels and campgrounds, not to mention the tons of locals that come daily.
Over all not recomended and would never stay there again.

  • Stayed: June 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
3  Thank Sedonaite
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews