We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Once was enough..”
Review of Hotel Villa Ottone

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Villa Ottone
Ranked #4 of 25 Hotels in Portoferraio
Certificate of Excellence
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Once was enough..”
Reviewed July 9, 2010

I went on honeymonn as my husband and I had just gotten married in Italy so we thought it would be good to stay on. After four wonderful days in Florence (Hotel Golden Tower) we continued onto Elba. When we arrived I didn't realise that it wasn't in Portoferraio at all...this could be my own fault though for not researching the location enough, it costs €30 to take a taxi to the hotel.

When we arrived we were shown to our rooms. The lift /elevator was tiny and smelled. The corridors were terrible and badly lit and when we finally reached our room it was small and the air-con didn't work, lets just say our hearts sank. I don't normally put such emphasis on a room but this was our honeymoon we were paying €350 a night for a "superior" room and we wanted it to be special. It was so bad that I complained right away and told them I was checking out the next day!! They offered us another room...a loft room without ANY air-con so we stuck with the original room and planned on checking out.

That evening we ate at the hotel as we had no other option but this is where things pick up...the food and service were amazing, when we finished we walked down to the private beach and then back up to sit on the veranda of the main villa and all this was again amazing as it felt quiet special. The following morning they offered us a junior suite at no extra cost (the previous evening they said I could change and pay to which I told them that wasn't exactly an offer) so we viewed the room and put into prespective what came with the hotel (food /service /nice evening setting) and stayed. We rented a car for two of the days and drove around but there really wasn't much to see in Elba and it was over-run with tourists (something I wasn't expecting).

If you do stay go with the full-board option of breakfast and dinner, its such good value and is €25PP, which we wouldn't have found anywhere else for the food we received.

So all in all we had a good stay in the end, but feel we wasted the first day checking other hotels for availability and feeling frustated, I wish they had of offered the Suite to us then. The staff are all amazing and couldn't do enough to help us and the SPA is pretty good too.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Cailinbearla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Veronique-di-Mario, Direttore at Hotel Villa Ottone, responded to this review, August 25, 2010
We can understand our guests’ dismay if they thought they had booked in the town of Portoferraio: the location of Villa Ottone on the island of Elba (12 km from Portoferraio, surrounded by a long-established park with a private beach) is stated very clearly on our website.
Position: Villa Ottone enjoys one of the best positions on the island of Elba; the Counts Toscanelli chose to build the Villa there because it is very sheltered, particularly from the Sirocco wind, and in the evening the sun sets in front of the Villa, behind the old fortifications of Portoferraio, an unforgettable sight mentioned in all the holiday guides; the particular location allows the beach to be used in even in the late afternoon.
Lift: we agree with these guests that our lift is small; built in 2000, it was fitted into a small column within the historic Villa, built in 1850. The lift serves the 1st and 2nd floors.
Corridors: the Villa actually does not have corridors:
On the 1st floor, the attractive landing is fenced by an original balustrade that opens onto the Villa’s antique main staircase. On the left and right, there are two small entrances that can be shut off with a soundproof door when a guest wishes to book a suite and a Prestige room to provide their family group with additional space and privacy.
The layout on the 2nd floor, where these guests stayed, is along the same lines; the landing is fenced by a balustrade and there are two small entrances on the right and left. By closing the entrance door, our guests are able to book one large de Luxe room and one small de Luxe room – on the left, a large de Luxe room communicating with another small de Luxe room and a small de Luxe room.
The groups of rooms described above can be combined to form luxurious apartments with a panoramic view of the Gulf of Portoferraio.
Rooms: our guest stayed on the 2nd floor of the Villa, but they are mistaken in describing the room they booked as “Superior” (the “Superior” rooms are in the hotel, in the heart of the park).
Since we are eager to provide future guests with full, clear information, our website carries a precise description of each room, together with a large photograph:
The room the young couple booked is described as follows: “small de Luxe room with panoramic sea view” or "panoramic view of the park", 2nd floor, Villa. These small de Luxe rooms, recently renovated like the other rooms and Suites in the Villa, are decorated and equipped with the same care as all the other rooms in the Villa, which however are certainly larger in size.
Air-conditioning system: the weather conditions during our guests’ stay were particularly extreme; temperatures rose to above 40 degrees, and the percentage of humidity in the air was very high. These conditions probably reduced the effectiveness of the air-conditioning system; in exceptional circumstances of this kind we advise guests to take care not to open and close the windows too often, as this further reduces the system’s performance.
“Loft room”: the loft split was in perfect working order. The only possible explanation is that since the device is remote controlled, it had been switched off in error.

Since we wished to give our guest satisfaction, we offered an additional alternative, at no extra cost: a “Junior Suite” with view of the park, on the first floor of the Villa (it is on the right of the 1st floor landing of the Villa, with the same entrance as on the 2nd floor, where the young couple initially stayed; it also opens onto a “Prestige” room). This Suite, decorated and equipped to a high standard of refinement like the rest of the Villa, comprising a bedroom with private sitting room, both with frescoes, can be combined with the prestigious “Colombe” room to form a “de Luxe Suite”.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

252 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    131
    62
    41
    9
    9
See reviews for
56
154
5
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed May 21, 2010

We just left VO after a three-day stay, and we wouldn't return. The place was somewhat snooty, the heat was broken in our room and they couldn't fix it "at this time of year" (probably fifty-five to sixty degrees inside at night), the refrigerator was broken (they did eventually replace it after asking twice) and both the day and night front-desk people didn't seem to be able to really resolve anything (although the daytime lady was friendly, unlike her night-time counterpart). Our room was in the oceanfront main villa, second level, and the piano lounge just below played loudly until probably 12:30 am, and people were smoking inside the building despite a prohibition against it. There are several nice places to stay on Elba with some charming views and villages; unfortunately this just isn't one of them. The computer guy was very very helpful, both with IT issues and restaurant suggestions.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Marc003
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Como, Italy
Level Contributor
67 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed July 26, 2009

My family and I only spent 3 days in this beautiful hotel and would have liked to stay for much longer.

We were coming from a very negative experience at the Park Hotel Napoleone, the 4 star hotel near the Napoleon's residence, and were starving for some good service. Well, at Villa Ottone, we found it.

The hotel is very expensive, but you can certainly feel that the money they earn is invested in excellent staff, quality of the food and service in general. We feel, however, that there should be more discount for families with children.

It is a quite hotel. There is no major entertainment apart from some good live piano playing at night time. We were not looking for anything different however and we loved sipping our coffee in front of one of the most beautiful sunsets we ever saw (to be paired with the Californian ones).

Our room was in the bungalow area, as there was no other vacancy with such short notice. But we loved it. It was kept really nicely, decor was very elegant and the bathroom was first class. Only thing, the air conditioning was buzzing after level 3 so we needed to keep it low during the night. I noticed it was a pretty old system, so I guess they would need to renovate it.

The beach (mixed with sand and pebbles) was very nice and the pool side too, although there is a bit too little space between the beds and the pool. Walking around it is a bit of a challenge... Paddling pool is great for small kids.

Breakfast was out of this world. Beautiful fresh pastries and fruit, salmon, an express pancake and omelette chef, great breads and cheeses/cold meats, very very good.

If we ever came back to Elba, we would certainly try and book Villa Ottone hoping that, in the meanwhile, prices will be lowered :).

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Raffaraf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pisa
Level Contributor
14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed July 15, 2009

My husband and I stayed in the hotel for 3 nights in 2007. The hotel is beautiful en we had a really nice room with a sea view. The room was kept very clean and linen was renewed twice a day. Food was tasty with a good choice for breakfast and dinner. The hotel is quite expensive though.

  • Stayed August 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank colly2007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamburg
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 4, 2008

We were at the Villa Ottone in July 2007 together with our 2 kids, 5 and 3 years old. The place was nice, but I was very dissapointed to find out that the roooms would smell, were dirty and just too tiny for the high price!!! The only good thing was the food and the location, but you can get this in Elba also for less money.

I would not go again to that Hotel!

Must do: Visit the Barabarca, Naregno and Inammorata beach. beautiful beaches and near the town Capoliveri which was just too romantic.

  • Stayed July 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank ManuHamburg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canberra, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 27, 2007

This is a great place for families with children. We stayed in a first row cottage overlooking the the sea with our child. The room was big enough to accomodate us very well and having our own private terrace gave us just that bit extra. There were many families staying in the cottages, most families of 4, and they all seemed happy and comfortable.

The mini-club is great. It runs both a morning and late afternoon session. There are also certain nights were the staff will mind your child will you dine seperately.

The grounds are beautiful and well kept. It is also a very quite spot.

Meals are fine with a lot to choose from. Seafood is very fresh.

I would highly reccomend Villa Ottone to any family going to Elba.

  • Liked — The relaxed atmoshpere and location.
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed July 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank FamilyWhoTravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, Massachusetts
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 27, 2007

I found Hotel Villa Ottone on Trip Advisor and read several reviews - some good and some not so good. After staying there in July, I have to agree with the not so good.

The only positive thing I can say about the hotel is the veranda in the evening as the sun is setting. There is a piano and the view of old Portoferrio is outstanding.

When we first arrived, the hotel had this feel of what I thought was old Europe. But once we got settled, it seemed more like "second rate". The A/C in our room did not work properly and I overheard another guest complaining of the same thing. The pool was tiny and on the day we arrived there were a large number of kids monopolizing the pool. We had lunch by the pool that was quite expensive and my shrimp salad was so fishy I was afraid to eat it.

Our room was never quite fully cleaned when we returned in the afternoons. And, we made the mistake of going half-board (well, it actually required at the time of year). The dinners reminded me of a bad cruise in which dinner was brought out in bulk and nothing had much of taste with most of the seafood not being very fresh.

I had much higher expectations for this four star hotel.

  • Liked — The view
  • Disliked — Everything else
  • Stayed July 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JenD07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Portoferraio
4.8 mi away
Hotel Hermitage -- Portoferraio
4.6 mi away
Hotel Biodola
Hotel Biodola
#2 of 25 in Portoferraio
334 reviews
2.1 mi away
Hotel Airone del Parco & delle Terme
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.1 mi away
Hotel Del Golfo
Hotel Del Golfo
#1 of 10 in Procchio
398 reviews
3.6 mi away
Grand Hotel Elba International
6.4 mi away
Hotel Desiree
Hotel Desiree
#6 of 10 in Procchio
290 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Villa Ottone? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Villa Ottone

Property: Hotel Villa Ottone
Address: Localita Ottone, 57037, Portoferraio, Elba Island, Italy
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Livorno > Elba Island > Portoferraio
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Luxury Hotel in Portoferraio
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Portoferraio
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel Villa Ottone 5*
Number of rooms: 80
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Elegance is the keynote of a hotel which underwent large-scale renovation during winter 2007. New SPA. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Priceline, TripOnline SA and HRS so you can book your Hotel Villa Ottone reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ottone Hotel Portoferraio
Hotel Villa Ottone Elba Island, Italy - Portoferraio

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing