We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic hotel, excellent beach”
Review of Hotel Biodola

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Biodola
Ranked #1 of 25 Hotels in Portoferraio
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 23, 2012

The hotel is simply fantastic, you get really a great deal for your money. The staff is very helpful, the breakfast is delicious and they have a big choice. The rooms are clean and pretty, we were absolutely satisfied with the standard double room. The hotel has its own beach with sunbeds, umbrellas, a restaurant, a bar, and very clean bathroom facilities. Biodola beach is one of the nicest beaches on the island. The hotel's bar has often live music, and the view from the terrace is amazing.
We had dinner only once in the hotel, it was abundant and good, but if you have a car, it is recommended to visit some nice restaurants in the neighbouring little cities.
A real advantage of the hotel, is that it belongs to the same group as its 5-star neighbour, the Hermitage, and as a guest of Biodola, you can use all sport facilities (gym, tennis, football).

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank tuncee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (356)
There are newer reviews for Hotel Biodola
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

28 - 34 of 356 reviews

Reviewed June 9, 2012

Very nice hotel, clean, good service. Own beach and nice breakfast buffet. Probably in the nicest bay on Elba Island

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Swiss_Traveller_1975
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 18, 2012

We wanted to stay as the year before at Hotel del Golfo, but as the hotel opened only in May we were asked if we would go to Biodola what we accepted without hesitation as it belongs to the same group. We are a family of four with two little children and enjoyed our stay at the Biodola as much as we had enjoyed our stay with del Golfo the year before. The hotel is in a really nice location with fanatstic views on the sea, a very nice beach, great food and most of all a highly motivated and very friendly stuff. The rooms are not fancy but nice and clean. The beach is really wonderful and end of April a great place to relax in spring. They are very child friendly and nothing is to much for the team to make parents and children happy. They have a couple of tennis courts and while we were there the hotel guests were mainly Swiss tennis families.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Evo37
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 9, 2012

Perfect location, fantastic food! I have been here on two trips to Italy. It's rather expensive so after a few nights here head over to casa rosa and save some money

Room Tip: Try to get a room at least on the second floor for a balcony overlooking the water
  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank AvesGirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 12, 2011

I would say that it is quite charming and very clean. The rooms are nicely decorated, comfortable and bathrooms are 'to american standards'. The food is quite disappointing generally- one night a week they serve a buffet which was wonderful, but the rest of the nights it was not worth the price. They do do a wonderful pre-dinner drinks on the balcony, however.

The beach is fine. I think we went too early (late August)-- there were still hordes of people. We felt a bit crammed onto the beach like sardines amongst the beach chairs. (I think this was just the timing-- a week later would have made a huge difference). We visited other beaches on the island and they were all the same, but Biodola is one of the nicest.

So, I think all in all, while very pleasant to be on the beach and very comfortable, it was not worth the expense (it was VERY expensive). And we were not blown away by the service either.

Oh, last thing-- there were TONS of children... And they were all crying at dinner.. which felt a bit like a Club Med instead of the 4-star hotel we were paying for.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Juliette P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 21, 2011

A lovely hotel in a great setting. We didn’t plump for one of the sea-view rooms, as we booked late in the day, and while the rooms are not sumptuously furnished, they’re clean and comfortable and fitted our needs perfectly. We stayed for 5 nights on the half-board option and the food in the restaurant was of extremely high-quality. However, if you don’t want to take this option, there’s a small restaurant/bar directly behind the hotel and in Scaglieri, which is only a 5-10mins walk away, there are another couple of beach side pizzeria’s/restaurants which all looked nice and very reasonable. The hotel is also only a short stroll away from its sister hotel, The Hermitage. The beach at biodola is wonderful with clean white sand and crystal clear sea and you’re allocated your own sun-loungers on arrival on the hotels private beach. Beach towels were available for 1EURO/day. As the entire island is pretty small no-where takes very long to reach by car. We visited Porto Azzurro, Capoliveri and Marina del Campo but agreed that biodola probably offered one of the nicest settings and would definitely return.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Hampshire32
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 19, 2011

Staff most friendly and helpful.Food very good. Plenty of sunbeds and parasols on beach. hotel rooms absolutely spotless. Couldnt fault anything about the place. will definately return!

Room Tip: Families can ask for ground floor rooms which lead directly out onto grass area.
  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kiltycauldbum47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Portoferraio
0.2 mi away
Hotel Hermitage -- Portoferraio
1.7 mi away
Hotel Del Golfo
Hotel Del Golfo
#1 of 10 in Procchio
441 reviews
3.3 mi away
Resort le Picchiaie
Resort le Picchiaie
#19 of 25 in Portoferraio
56 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
Hotel Airone del Parco & delle Terme
7.1 mi away
Grand Hotel Elba International
4.6 mi away
Hotel Villa Ottone
Hotel Villa Ottone
#5 of 25 in Portoferraio
286 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Biodola? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Biodola

Address: La Biodola, 57037, Portoferraio, Elba Island, Italy
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Livorno > Elba Island > Portoferraio
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Portoferraio
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Portoferraio
#2 Family Hotel in Portoferraio
#2 Romantic Hotel in Portoferraio
Price Range: $189 - $594 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Biodola 4*
Number of rooms: 88
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Overlooking the magnificent Biodola bay, the hotel has a large private sand beach, 8 clay tennis courts, 9-hole golf course.The hotel's restaurant is famous for its exquisite cuisine and service. Maitu' beach restaurant offers a range of Tuscan specialties. Rooms and suites all with terrace, have all the comforts one would expect of a top-class hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Orbitz, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Biodola reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Biodola Hotel Portoferraio
Hotel Biodola Elba Island, Italy - Portoferraio

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing