We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Hotel Villa Ombrosa
If you like this hotel, you might also be interested in
$252
$239
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Resort le Picchiaie(Portoferraio)
$92
$89
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Villa Ottone(Portoferraio)
$132
$116
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Airone del Parco & delle Terme(Portoferraio)
$130
$126
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Biodola(Portoferraio)
$157
$152
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Il Caminetto(Portoferraio)
$100
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Danila(Portoferraio)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Viticcio Hotel(Portoferraio)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Acquamarina(Portoferraio)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (231)
Filter reviews
231 results
Traveler rating
49
87
56
19
20
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
49
87
56
19
20
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsprivate beachwithin walking distanceisolaportbalconyislandseaelba
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
14 - 19 of 231 reviews
Reviewed June 17, 2014

We were part of the 200th Anniversary Dance Party celebrating Napoleon's first month on the island of Elba - and spent 4 lovely days touring the island, eating in a variety of different restaurants - and dancing (English Country aka French Court Style).

The Hotel Villa Ombrosa was our base of operations - we scored room 115 - which was reasonably large - and most importantly - offered a drop dead magnificent view of the fort, the ocean, and the beach.

We loved it. Totally loved it.

We spent 2 days enjoying the 'beach' - which is white stones not sand like we have in Maine or the Caribbean - but for European Beaches - was wonderful. The water was crystal clear - and the Villa Ombrosa had it's own private entrance - with our own private beach chaises, umbrellas, changing room, and shower. It was great.

The breakfast at the hotel was lovely - coffee that you 'made' yourself - but was freshly ground and delightful. Since you 'did it yourself' - you could enjoy 2, 3, even 4 cups with no comments. There were 3 types of cereal, fresh fruit every day, some ham and cheese, croissants, bread, rolls, etc. Perfect.

The bathroom was very very acceptable - I loved the funky shower with it's corner doors. Yes, it would have been great to have a bit more water pressure - but that's being extremely fussy. The towels were large - there were beach towels available for 3 euro a day if you needed them - but most guests brought their own.

I loved the garden in front of the hotel - but my favorite spot was the terrace by the breakfast room. Lots of nice tables, solid internet, great view - and shade. It doesn't get better.

There was even parking.

Needless to say - the Ombrosa was full - and this was pretty much off season. So making reservations ahead is probably a must.

We had friends that stayed at the Cristal - which is basically next door. They had a larger porch - but no view to speak of. I'm happier with the Ombrosa!

Elba itself is tiny - but the prices are so right, the fish so fresh, the gelato so refreshing - it's hard to find something to complain about.

Go - have fun - pretend you are Napoleon and visit his home and country place.

It's great.

Room Tip: You definitely want a 'sea' view - don't get on the wrong side of the hotel. That's critical. And higher is better. We were in 115 - which is officially on the first floor - but is actually on the 2nd floor since the first floor is 0. Go figure. Our room was great.
  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank thesouplady-two
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 6, 2014

Tucked off the main road but close to the ferry terminal, you will find a small gem of a hotel!
It's worth finding if you don't have a vehicle or are only on the Island for a short stay. We were on bikes, and really appreciated both the location and how lovely the hotel was.
The rooms are comfortable and the staff courteous.
Excellent value for money.

Room Tip: The rooms with sea views are definitely worth the added cost. With small cozy balconies, the view is a wonderful thing!
  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Onekoffieatatime
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 8, 2014

Elba Island is a beautiful place, with plenty of tourist facilities, but it's pretty hard to find a (good) place to stay in winter.
This hotel is one of the few which are opened all the year and it is a good place to stay because it's very close to Portoferraio ferry terminal, it has private parking and a beautiful view on the sea. But that's all. As soon as you enter the lobby you feel like beeing back to the 70s/80s, rooms are not cozy at all, rather cold and with old (old!) furniture. Those on the front of the hotel do partly compensate with the beatiful view on the sea, but those on the rear do definitely not.
Breakfast was very very poor and the breakfast room is as old as the rest of the building.
The most positive thing is the staff, very nice and helpful.
I will probably stay here again in winter, but I would prefer having other options to chose among.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Irene_85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 21, 2013

Elba Island, Napolean, the true Italian feel, Portoferraio town (the island's capital), great views and a majestic hotel - what more could we ask for having travelled all the way from Australia to this small island off the Ligurian coast of Italy. And the Villa Ombrosia in such a wonderful setting with gorgeous views over the sea, beach and little island and easy walking distance to the port with it's fort, little streets, cafes and lovely shops.
The hotel is first rate. The gardens are peaceful with a lovely terrace and comfortable furniture to while away the hours in dappled sunlight. Reception was smooth and we had two double rooms with lovely terraces and sea views. Our rooms were off a large wide corridor, very quiet and inside they were clean and spacious. There is a lift and that was very helpful with the amount of luggage we had. The free, covered security parking and free wifi were good too. We found the wifi worked best in the guest lounge and the hotel did not mind that we needed to be on skype calling Australia and talking at 1am in the morning. The night concierge was very helpful and polite.
The hotel has aimed at creating a very professional and exclusive feel and from the minute we arrived and walked through the immaculate gardens and up the wide stairs to reception we knew that this was the place for us. There is also a private beach down a few steps.
From the hotel we walked to the port, Napoleon's house, the fort and of course the exclusive shops and cafes. Our only regret was that we could not stay longer. The hotel, the town and the island are worth a visit, truly a gem in the hustle and bustle of life and travel.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Loutro12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 16, 2013

Elba Island - where Napolean was exiled - is a place where the Italians love to vacation. There are few English speaking locals and you got the feeling they were not happy with Americans showing up on their island. The hotel was nice - rooms were comfortable and clean. What took away from the experience was the treatment at breakfast and the one dinner. We were sat away from everyone (outdoor seating, trust me if it was indoors - we'd have been sat by the bathrooms I'm sure!). I don't know if it was deliberate or with malice, but it felt like they wanted us far away from their regular guests. Perhaps it's because we are fun? Know how to laugh, smile and have a good time?

We got this experience at other restaurants too. I truly believe we were unwanted Americans. That being said, the consierge was nice to us and helpful and accomodating. We had fun snorkeling and sailing.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SunshineBellevue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews