We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A great place to stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hotel Villa Ombrosa
Ranked #17 of 25 Hotels in Portoferraio
Reviewed January 4, 2012

This is a great place to stay. It's just outside the main town and within easy walking distance of the ferry port. Has its own beach, terrace, rooms with balconies & a view of a little island with a lighthouse on it, if you're at the front. Romantic or what? Good to get to Napoleon's town house and the bus station for his country house; the beautiful old town harbour area etc.

I was recommended to a restaurant on the harbour but decided to eat in....as did everyone else staying there! & when the food came, I realised why. There was a menu based on local dishes & the quality and variety of food was excellent, wine was not high priced vintage but thoroughly lovely, drinkable local wine, nice light refreshing, very pleasant.

The staff were all very pleasant and accommodating whilst being thoroughly professional, some with excellent English & if not they knew how to get hold of the ones who had. Room & bathroom were spotless, large bedroom which would be cool in summer using the traditional shutters. Imagine lying in bed listening to the sea lapping on the beach below, wonderful. Disabled access if needed, lifts, 1/2 size billiard table. It's just a great place, go there.

Room Tip: try for the front for the views
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank UKTurkeyTrotter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (228)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

23 - 29 of 228 reviews

Reviewed September 25, 2011

We were going to stay 2 nights here but extended our stay an extra night because we enjoyed the hotel so much. We had a triple room which was two single beds in a double room and another single in a smaller room, both rooms had tvs and balconys. The decor was simple and some people might think out of date but we thought it was fine - afterall you are ony in the room to sleep usually! We had a great view from our room and the hotel was quiet, we all slept well. The breakfast was good and eating on the terrace at the front of the hotel was lovely. All the staff were very helpful and friendly despite our lack of Italian, communication was fine. The beach is small but adequate, there are about 20+ sun loungers and its a pebble beach not sand but the water is absolutely gorgeous. I would recommend staying here, its close to the ferry (10 min walk or cheap taxi ride), close to shops and marine restaurants and the hotels beach is just across the road.

Room Tip: If you requst a beach front room it might be a little noisier than the other rooms, but we enjoyed t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Angie_Aotearoa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 11, 2010

We hadn't pre booked a quadruple room with two balconies offering fantastic sea views, but that's where they put us - the best room in the house and a great start! (Mind you, 2 people = fine, but you'd never fit 4 people in here!) Tons of wardrobe/drawer space. Bathroom is great, shower excellent. There is a handy small fridge in the room. Its quiet (unless the sound of the waves disturbs you), the beds were hard - not a problem for me but could be for others. There is a fair choice for breakfast in a large dining area. You're 10 mins brisk walk from the harbour area which is where the "action" is, and about the same to the ferry terminals. Access to the hotel's private sunlounger area is right across the road - they're set slightly back and above the public beach. The staff are ok and have just enough grasp of english. The hotel is always packed out for meal times - whether this is testament to the quality of food or just the pensioners all booked in for full-board I'm not sure! There is a sister hotel Acquamarina nearby. I don't know how good it is but its an extra 5-10 mins walk out of town. Overall, this place is brilliant, but make sure you ask for room 304!

  • Stayed: October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank thecodeisred
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 17, 2010

Simple but good breakfast on the Terrace - what a view. Friendly atmosphere. This is a hidden gem. Well run, clean and friendly with a wonderful family atmosphere and great staff - nothing is a problem. Book directly with the hotel! Beach across the road with free sun beds on the pebbly beach. 10 min walk to the centre of port with its wonderful restaurants.

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Hilary2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 11, 2010

By all accounts this should not have been a pleasant stay: we booked at the last minute due to a cancellation and discovered upon our arrival a hotel that has not been updated since the 1970s. But, as we soon discovered, the best thing about this place is not the interior but the service and the attitude. Nothing was too much of a problem. No problems with changing our room as the first one was too noisy (near the kitchens at the back). No problems with getting us extra towels for the beach. A coffee on the house while waiting for these. This is an old-fashioned place has a really relaxed, unruffled attitude that makes for a stress-free stay.

But perhaps the best thing is the beach: they have their own section of the seafront with deck chairs and sunbeds on a beautiful white-shingle beach right in front of the hotel.

Guests mostly Italians, and many with families, but its not noisy.

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank os243
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 26, 2009

Further to my earlier article about Elba, I wanted to put in the name of the hotel where we stayed which was FABULOUSLY located, right near the heart of Portoferraio, great breakfasts included in the rate and amazing views. Only listed as a 2 star, it was affordable to us (we were on a huge budget) and we loved it.

Elba

Hotel Villa Ombrosa
[--]
tel: [--]

Thank chewedpup
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
5
Reviewed October 29, 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: October 2017, traveled as a couple
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Portoferraio
1 mi away
Hotel Airone del Parco & delle Terme
3.1 mi away
Hotel Hermitage -- Portoferraio
2.2 mi away
Hotel Villa Ottone
Hotel Villa Ottone
#5 of 25 in Portoferraio
296 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.2 mi away
Hotel Plaza
Hotel Plaza
#1 of 8 in Porto Azzurro
439 reviews
0.5 mi away
Albergo Ape Elbana
Albergo Ape Elbana
#24 of 25 in Portoferraio
93 reviews
4.2 mi away
Hotel Villa Wanda
Hotel Villa Wanda
#2 of 8 in Porto Azzurro
321 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Villa Ombrosa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Villa Ombrosa

Address: Via Alcide De' Gasperi 9, 57037, Portoferraio, Elba Island, Italy
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Livorno > Elba Island > Portoferraio
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#10 On the Beach Hotel in Portoferraio
Price Range: $80 - $279 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Villa Ombrosa 3*
Number of rooms: 38
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel Villa Ombrosa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ombrosa Hotel Portoferraio
Hotel Villa Ombrosa Elba Island, Italy - Portoferraio

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing