We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing-wish we could have stayed longer!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Baia d'Argento
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 18, 2013

After a long day riding the motorcycle from Rome we arrived to the hotel and Giordano was so friendly and welcoming that we knew we chose the right hotel. He was so nice and always ready to help us out. Free wi-fi was a plus and the breakfast was amazing. Loved the bathrooms. We hope to be back one day.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank FernandaBsAs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
baia73, Responsabile reception at Hotel Baia d'Argento, responded to this reviewResponded September 21, 2013

dear fernandaBsAs, when we have read your so positive review, we had a great satisfaction, especially for the beautiful words spent for me (Giordano).
All we can do is hope to welcome you again, hopefully for a longer stay in this hotel that you liked so much, maybe taking advantage of our promotions that change from period to period.
Best regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (384)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

20 - 26 of 384 reviews

Reviewed September 16, 2013

I really thought this was a great hotel.The location was amazing, staff were delightful, room was spotless. Great breakfasts with cappuccino (when ordred).
Adjoining restaurant was another story. When they brought the wrong order, we sent it back - it took about 40 minutes to get the correct order - an order of mussels and spaghetti - and when the order arrived - the amount of spaghetti had been reduced by the amount we ate while trying to determine it was the wrong order - at least I think it was reduced - because there was about a cupful of cooked spaghetti with the final order. Our most annoying meal in Italy.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ddavis7769
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
baia73, Direttore at Hotel Baia d'Argento, responded to this reviewResponded September 17, 2013

Dear ddavis7769,

Thank you for taking the time to write your review about us and for the beautiful words you use for describe your experience in our hotel.

We appreciate that, as well as we take note of your critics about the restaurant. We regret about the episode and the mistake that happened to you. In these cases mistake brings mistake and we are really sorry that we could not solve immediately it.

I hope you can understand that and try, in the future, to eat again by our restaurant.

Best regards

Gian Luca Gozzo

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 2, 2013

Excellent service from all the staff, close to the beach from a underground entrance. Free WiFi
on the room and beach..A nice 15 min. walk threw tunnels to Porto Santo Stefano. Clean rooms, changing bedsheet evert second day..Good breakfast and dinner, we are coming back

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ronaldo_Drobak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
baia73, Direttore at Hotel Baia d'Argento, responded to this reviewResponded August 2, 2013

thank you for taking the time to share your experience in Porto Santo Stefano and in our hotel.

We are glad to turn to our staff your favorable review: your satisfatction is ours too.

In particular way, we are pleased that you have appreciated our preparation and care about restaurant and breakfast service.

We are sure that you will find again on your retourn the good memories about us.

See you soon

Gian Luca

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 2, 2013 via mobile

5 night stay in argentario. Hotel was good value, large modern bedrooms and large, clean bathrooms. Service was very friendly at reception and in restaurant. Excellent free wifi with great coverage throughout hotel. The breakfast was outstanding, great selection and plenty for everyone. Good location for travelling round the island and hotel has good parking facilities but major draw back is the busy main road, no fault of the hotel but if you want to walk out somewhere in the evening, the road is quite dangerous and no pavement. If you had small children and a pushchair it would be impossible. The beach is accessed via a tunnel under the road and is pleasant enough but nothing special, much nicer beaches around the area. however as with much of argentario, the people who own property in the area have blocked access to many of the public coves and bays by putting up threatening No Entry/Private property signs and even chains, gates etc to prevent access to the nicer small beaches. Anyway, good hotel, clean and typical of an Italian 4 star. No complaints on our stay.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank joyce74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
baia73, Direttore at Hotel Baia d'Argento, responded to this reviewResponded July 4, 2013

we are very happy reading your kind review about our hotel and our services and we thank you about that. we will pass your beautiful words to our staff and surely it will be glad.

best regards and we hope for a future stay again by us

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 2, 2013

We booked this hotel last minute end of May and discovered a great value for money hotel. We stayed on the 2nd floor, found the room very clean and quiet. The room wasn't spacious but the free bottle of wine was a lovely offer.The bathroom was tasteful & modern. Great front desk service, the breakfast was very good, offerring fresh cheeses & proscuitto, cereals, yoghurt, breads, fruit, patries & cakes. Parking was useful and close enough to Porto Santo Stefano. I recommend this hotel for a short stay.

Room Tip: Request a seaview room and check if the lift is working in case you need to walk up 4 floors.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dandelionkidgab
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
baia73, Direttore at Hotel Baia d'Argento, responded to this reviewResponded June 4, 2013

Thank you so much for the kind review about our hotel.
We are happy you have benefited our special offer in end of May, so you could discover our hotel in the midst of many.

We are sorry about the lift, because it was out of service during your staying: we are sure that this inconvenient will never happen….because there is a new lift engine, now.
And we hope you can use it next time.

Gian Luca

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 2, 2012

Stayed here impromptu after driving into San Stefano for lunch.

Hotel has private parking at back, go around the back instead of stopping out the front to check in, as it is difficult to back out onto the main road due to blind corner.

Private beach access via an under roadway walkway, so is safe. Beach is a rock and pebble beach with only a small section that enables access out to the water without walking over large unstable rock bed. We obviously stopped out of season, there was a 'beach supervisor' however he was less than helpful and we helped ourselves to towels and beach chair. Lovely swimming area though wonder what it would be like in peak season.

Due to off season the restaurant for dinner was a real let down. Only a set menu which we didn't realise until we sat down, there was almost nothing on the menu that evening that children would eat...my youngest just had bread sticks and softdrink. The menu is put up each day in the lobby and the elevator however we didn't realise that it was the only food available. I would recommend going into San Stefano or the surrounds for a meal. Breakfast was a buffet that was a bit typical of Italian breakfast, too many sweet items although it was nice to have the ability to make a decent cup of tea.

The rooms are small hotel rooms which do have all the nice items you would expect from this star rated hotel, clean and nice views out to the sea. In the evenings the 'blue light' that comes on each balcony only stays on until about midnight - it is kind of unusual and surely makes the hotel look inviting from the road/sea - it is annoying for children and it was easy enough to close the blinds.

I doubt we would stay here again and I would recommend for older guests.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MyView2007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
baia73, Direttore at Hotel Baia d'Argento, responded to this reviewResponded October 3, 2012

Dear Sir,

we regret that you did not enjoy our hotel completely, despite the fact that you have chosen him without reservation, but just going on the road in front of us

But I want to clarify some things:

Beach: the day of your arrival was actually the last day of the service and we are sorry that our assistance was not efficient.

Restaurant: even if we have only offered a set menu (with choice of 3 'first courses and 3 'second courses', some vegetables and desserts) was sufficient to ask the waiter for something different for the children. We are always available to prepare simple dishes for children and our waiters speak English.

Breakfast: The buffet is a typical Italian breakfast? It 's true, we are in Italy, but is integrated with some types of cheeses and meats, with the possibility of making toast.

Blue lights: make sure that the blue lights of the balcony are not harmful to the sight of anyone and can be replaced by a white light, just turn it on.

We think that by a few more questions to our staff, you can always solve simple problems and misunderstandings to improve your stay, even if it is a one day stay as it was your own.

the manager
Gian Luca Gozzo

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 21, 2012

We stayed 4 nights in this hotel and had a good stay. The beach is small, but pleasant. Good restaurants can be found at the other end of the beach. Good for both lunch and dinner. It is possible to walk into porto s stefano,, but bring a flashlight for the walk
back home ( or install a flashlight app on your phone)
Breakfast was good. Staff friendly.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Eli_Asker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Porto Santo Stefano
0.8 mi away
Hotel Villa Domizia
Hotel Villa Domizia
#1 of 5 in Porto Santo Stefano
268 reviews
1.4 mi away
Hotel Vittoria
Hotel Vittoria
#5 of 5 in Porto Santo Stefano
22 reviews
3.1 mi away
Hotel Torre di Cala Piccola
Hotel Torre di Cala Piccola
#1 of 1 in Cala Piccola
768 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Hotel La Caletta
Hotel La Caletta
#3 of 5 in Porto Santo Stefano
61 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Filippo II
Hotel Filippo II
#1 of 15 in Monte Argentario
327 reviews
4.9 mi away
Hotel Il Pellicano
Hotel Il Pellicano
#1 of 7 in Porto Ercole
393 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Baia d'Argento? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Baia d'Argento

Address: Loc. Pozzarello | Monte Argentario, 58019 Porto Santo Stefano, Monte Argentario, Italy
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Grosseto > Monte Argentario > Porto Santo Stefano
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Porto Santo Stefano
Price Range: $111 - $249 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Baia d'Argento 4*
Number of rooms: 39
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Facing one of the most beautiful bay of the Argentario, Baia d’Argento hotel is waiting for you for a unique stay.The hotel, recently restored, offers an elegant and refined environment where the Mediterranean flavours can be tasted, where the surprising view of the silver coast can be enjoyed, where nature, landscapes, and pleasure-trips into the Maremma Toscana and its archipelago must be experienced.There are 36 very comfortable rooms and 3 suites, the reception is 24 hrs. opened for your requests and information about your unforgettable stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Orbitz and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Baia d'Argento reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Baia d Argento

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing