We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent value for money”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Baia d'Argento
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 2, 2013 via mobile

5 night stay in argentario. Hotel was good value, large modern bedrooms and large, clean bathrooms. Service was very friendly at reception and in restaurant. Excellent free wifi with great coverage throughout hotel. The breakfast was outstanding, great selection and plenty for everyone. Good location for travelling round the island and hotel has good parking facilities but major draw back is the busy main road, no fault of the hotel but if you want to walk out somewhere in the evening, the road is quite dangerous and no pavement. If you had small children and a pushchair it would be impossible. The beach is accessed via a tunnel under the road and is pleasant enough but nothing special, much nicer beaches around the area. however as with much of argentario, the people who own property in the area have blocked access to many of the public coves and bays by putting up threatening No Entry/Private property signs and even chains, gates etc to prevent access to the nicer small beaches. Anyway, good hotel, clean and typical of an Italian 4 star. No complaints on our stay.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank joyce74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
baia73, Direttore at Hotel Baia d'Argento, responded to this reviewResponded July 4, 2013

we are very happy reading your kind review about our hotel and our services and we thank you about that. we will pass your beautiful words to our staff and surely it will be glad.

best regards and we hope for a future stay again by us

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (384)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

23 - 29 of 384 reviews

Reviewed June 2, 2013

We booked this hotel last minute end of May and discovered a great value for money hotel. We stayed on the 2nd floor, found the room very clean and quiet. The room wasn't spacious but the free bottle of wine was a lovely offer.The bathroom was tasteful & modern. Great front desk service, the breakfast was very good, offerring fresh cheeses & proscuitto, cereals, yoghurt, breads, fruit, patries & cakes. Parking was useful and close enough to Porto Santo Stefano. I recommend this hotel for a short stay.

Room Tip: Request a seaview room and check if the lift is working in case you need to walk up 4 floors.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dandelionkidgab
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
baia73, Direttore at Hotel Baia d'Argento, responded to this reviewResponded June 4, 2013

Thank you so much for the kind review about our hotel.
We are happy you have benefited our special offer in end of May, so you could discover our hotel in the midst of many.

We are sorry about the lift, because it was out of service during your staying: we are sure that this inconvenient will never happen….because there is a new lift engine, now.
And we hope you can use it next time.

Gian Luca

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 2, 2012

Stayed here impromptu after driving into San Stefano for lunch.

Hotel has private parking at back, go around the back instead of stopping out the front to check in, as it is difficult to back out onto the main road due to blind corner.

Private beach access via an under roadway walkway, so is safe. Beach is a rock and pebble beach with only a small section that enables access out to the water without walking over large unstable rock bed. We obviously stopped out of season, there was a 'beach supervisor' however he was less than helpful and we helped ourselves to towels and beach chair. Lovely swimming area though wonder what it would be like in peak season.

Due to off season the restaurant for dinner was a real let down. Only a set menu which we didn't realise until we sat down, there was almost nothing on the menu that evening that children would eat...my youngest just had bread sticks and softdrink. The menu is put up each day in the lobby and the elevator however we didn't realise that it was the only food available. I would recommend going into San Stefano or the surrounds for a meal. Breakfast was a buffet that was a bit typical of Italian breakfast, too many sweet items although it was nice to have the ability to make a decent cup of tea.

The rooms are small hotel rooms which do have all the nice items you would expect from this star rated hotel, clean and nice views out to the sea. In the evenings the 'blue light' that comes on each balcony only stays on until about midnight - it is kind of unusual and surely makes the hotel look inviting from the road/sea - it is annoying for children and it was easy enough to close the blinds.

I doubt we would stay here again and I would recommend for older guests.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MyView2007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
baia73, Direttore at Hotel Baia d'Argento, responded to this reviewResponded October 3, 2012

Dear Sir,

we regret that you did not enjoy our hotel completely, despite the fact that you have chosen him without reservation, but just going on the road in front of us

But I want to clarify some things:

Beach: the day of your arrival was actually the last day of the service and we are sorry that our assistance was not efficient.

Restaurant: even if we have only offered a set menu (with choice of 3 'first courses and 3 'second courses', some vegetables and desserts) was sufficient to ask the waiter for something different for the children. We are always available to prepare simple dishes for children and our waiters speak English.

Breakfast: The buffet is a typical Italian breakfast? It 's true, we are in Italy, but is integrated with some types of cheeses and meats, with the possibility of making toast.

Blue lights: make sure that the blue lights of the balcony are not harmful to the sight of anyone and can be replaced by a white light, just turn it on.

We think that by a few more questions to our staff, you can always solve simple problems and misunderstandings to improve your stay, even if it is a one day stay as it was your own.

the manager
Gian Luca Gozzo

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 21, 2012

We stayed 4 nights in this hotel and had a good stay. The beach is small, but pleasant. Good restaurants can be found at the other end of the beach. Good for both lunch and dinner. It is possible to walk into porto s stefano,, but bring a flashlight for the walk
back home ( or install a flashlight app on your phone)
Breakfast was good. Staff friendly.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Eli_Asker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 7, 2012

I had reserved this hotel for two nights after a wonderful two night stay on Giglio and was so disappointed. We specifically checked there would be wifi as it is essential for our business at this time of year. However, after checking in mid afternoon and asking about the wifi we were given a code which didn't work from our sea view room, so we were moved from a smallish room at the end of the hotel to an even smaller room towards the middle where I was told the signal was stronger. It wasn't adequate. I spent more than 2 1/2 hours in the reception with the receptionist trying to get the devices to work. They didn't work adequately. Then the receptionist started up the old computer in a 'cupboard' by reception and eventually he managed to get it to work. The next morning even this old computer didn't work but then the receptionist allowed me to use his personal laptop. For this a big thank you.
However, we were very disappointed with the room, there were all the trappings of a four star hotel , complimentary toothbrushes, shower caps etc. and a lift but the room was the size of an airport hotel room not a holiday hotel. However, the rooms should be checked for cleanliness as the toilet brush in the first room were very very badly soiled (not just stained!), not exactly four star. It was also over-priced when compared with other hotels I have stayed in during the last month.
The hotel is next to a very very busy noisy road and it is impossible to enjoy the undoubtably lovely view from the mini balcony because of the noise and fumes from the traffic below. Even the double glazing does not completely dampen the noise. I also think the beach, barely 2 sun beds wide (and grey muddy looking too) would be very uncomfortable, with the noise and fumes of the same traffic that affects the hotel across the road.
Then, on our return from a fantastic supper in the port area we were amazed to find that some 'alien space ship' ;-) had landed in place of the hotel. The whole of the front face of the hotel was brightly lit to an electric police-light blue with lights from every mini terrace. It completely ruined any night time view over the bay from the hotel. Who thought that was a good idea.
The only thing that was positive for us was the breakfast, well presented, a good selection and good service.
There were only 2 or 3 other couples there during our stay and I dread to think what it would be like during the hot high season.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank arezzo1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
baia73, Direttore at Hotel Baia d'Argento, responded to this reviewResponded June 9, 2012

The WiFi WORKED!

Dear Madam,

We are sorry that you can not appreciate our hotel and our hospitality, but we are disappointed because you did not understand our attention to solving the problem of Wifi.
We asked you to change the room because you told that the signal was weak. When we verified that the download speed was weak (which depends on the telephone company), we reset the system and it worked again (download 6 Mbps). When we made sure everything worked, even on your iPhone, but not on your laptop, we had to surrender because the problem of your laptop can not be our fault.
When our internet point Pc had problems, we have made available our own laptop.
We regret that all this has disappointed you.

We are also embittered bitter about your judgment on the lights (not for the “friendly” name of the alien ship), because that light can not ruin a night view of the bay: it is an enviroment light, and if he wanted a white light, was enough to turn it on.

We finally understand how your approach to our hotel has not been positive, so you did not pay the second reserved night: we think that this should be emphasized.

the Manager
Gian Luca Gozzo

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 7, 2012

We stayed at this hotel for 2 nights in May 2012, and had a lovely time. The hotel is situated in the small village Pozzarello, about 2 km before you come to Porte Santo Stefano.
It is a very lovely hotel with a great view, and a very welcoming and nice staff. When we stayed there, there where a food and wine-tasting event the first night, and it was a really nice evening with great food and excellent wines. The second night, it was an ordinary meny, and it was a lot of good food, and the waiter, Mauro I think, was the nicest guy ever!
We would definitely choose this hotel next time we visit Monte Argentario!

Room Tip: It is worth paying a little extra for a room with a seaview!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank KjerstiMS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 9, 2012

A very nice hotel, great and helpful staff, stunning view from our room. NIce and clean room, great food - both breakfast and dinner. Nice beach across the street! Loved it!

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Vigdis W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Porto Santo Stefano
1.4 mi away
Hotel Vittoria
Hotel Vittoria
#5 of 5 in Porto Santo Stefano
25 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hotel Villa Domizia
Hotel Villa Domizia
#1 of 5 in Porto Santo Stefano
268 reviews
3.1 mi away
Hotel Torre di Cala Piccola
Hotel Torre di Cala Piccola
#1 of 1 in Cala Piccola
769 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel Filippo II
Hotel Filippo II
#1 of 15 in Monte Argentario
327 reviews
1.4 mi away
Hotel La Caletta
Hotel La Caletta
#3 of 5 in Porto Santo Stefano
62 reviews
4.9 mi away
Hotel Il Pellicano
Hotel Il Pellicano
#1 of 7 in Porto Ercole
393 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Baia d'Argento? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Baia d'Argento

Address: Loc. Pozzarello | Monte Argentario, 58019 Porto Santo Stefano, Monte Argentario, Italy
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Grosseto > Monte Argentario > Porto Santo Stefano
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Porto Santo Stefano
Price Range: $122 - $262 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Baia d'Argento 4*
Number of rooms: 39
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Facing one of the most beautiful bay of the Argentario, Baia d’Argento hotel is waiting for you for a unique stay.The hotel, recently restored, offers an elegant and refined environment where the Mediterranean flavours can be tasted, where the surprising view of the silver coast can be enjoyed, where nature, landscapes, and pleasure-trips into the Maremma Toscana and its archipelago must be experienced.There are 36 very comfortable rooms and 3 suites, the reception is 24 hrs. opened for your requests and information about your unforgettable stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Nozio Netplan srl, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel Baia d'Argento reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Baia d Argento

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing