We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We left after one night”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Baia d'Argento
Certificate of Excellence
Arezzo, Italy
Level Contributor
53 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“We left after one night”
Reviewed June 7, 2012

I had reserved this hotel for two nights after a wonderful two night stay on Giglio and was so disappointed. We specifically checked there would be wifi as it is essential for our business at this time of year. However, after checking in mid afternoon and asking about the wifi we were given a code which didn't work from our sea view room, so we were moved from a smallish room at the end of the hotel to an even smaller room towards the middle where I was told the signal was stronger. It wasn't adequate. I spent more than 2 1/2 hours in the reception with the receptionist trying to get the devices to work. They didn't work adequately. Then the receptionist started up the old computer in a 'cupboard' by reception and eventually he managed to get it to work. The next morning even this old computer didn't work but then the receptionist allowed me to use his personal laptop. For this a big thank you.
However, we were very disappointed with the room, there were all the trappings of a four star hotel , complimentary toothbrushes, shower caps etc. and a lift but the room was the size of an airport hotel room not a holiday hotel. However, the rooms should be checked for cleanliness as the toilet brush in the first room were very very badly soiled (not just stained!), not exactly four star. It was also over-priced when compared with other hotels I have stayed in during the last month.
The hotel is next to a very very busy noisy road and it is impossible to enjoy the undoubtably lovely view from the mini balcony because of the noise and fumes from the traffic below. Even the double glazing does not completely dampen the noise. I also think the beach, barely 2 sun beds wide (and grey muddy looking too) would be very uncomfortable, with the noise and fumes of the same traffic that affects the hotel across the road.
Then, on our return from a fantastic supper in the port area we were amazed to find that some 'alien space ship' ;-) had landed in place of the hotel. The whole of the front face of the hotel was brightly lit to an electric police-light blue with lights from every mini terrace. It completely ruined any night time view over the bay from the hotel. Who thought that was a good idea.
The only thing that was positive for us was the breakfast, well presented, a good selection and good service.
There were only 2 or 3 other couples there during our stay and I dread to think what it would be like during the hot high season.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank arezzo1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
baia73, Direttore at Hotel Baia d'Argento, responded to this review, June 9, 2012
The WiFi WORKED!

Dear Madam,

We are sorry that you can not appreciate our hotel and our hospitality, but we are disappointed because you did not understand our attention to solving the problem of Wifi.
We asked you to change the room because you told that the signal was weak. When we verified that the download speed was weak (which depends on the telephone company), we reset the system and it worked again (download 6 Mbps). When we made sure everything worked, even on your iPhone, but not on your laptop, we had to surrender because the problem of your laptop can not be our fault.
When our internet point Pc had problems, we have made available our own laptop.
We regret that all this has disappointed you.

We are also embittered bitter about your judgment on the lights (not for the “friendly” name of the alien ship), because that light can not ruin a night view of the bay: it is an enviroment light, and if he wanted a white light, was enough to turn it on.

We finally understand how your approach to our hotel has not been positive, so you did not pay the second reserved night: we think that this should be emphasized.

the Manager
Gian Luca Gozzo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

338 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    158
    136
    31
    9
    4
See reviews for
73
198
5
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Oslo
Level Contributor
17 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed June 7, 2012

We stayed at this hotel for 2 nights in May 2012, and had a lovely time. The hotel is situated in the small village Pozzarello, about 2 km before you come to Porte Santo Stefano.
It is a very lovely hotel with a great view, and a very welcoming and nice staff. When we stayed there, there where a food and wine-tasting event the first night, and it was a really nice evening with great food and excellent wines. The second night, it was an ordinary meny, and it was a lot of good food, and the waiter, Mauro I think, was the nicest guy ever!
We would definitely choose this hotel next time we visit Monte Argentario!

Room Tip: It is worth paying a little extra for a room with a seaview!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KjerstiMS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Porto Santo Stefano, Italy
1 review
Reviewed April 9, 2012

A very nice hotel, great and helpful staff, stunning view from our room. NIce and clean room, great food - both breakfast and dinner. Nice beach across the street! Loved it!

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Vigdis W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bethesda, Maryland
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed August 1, 2011

We loved the hotel, the setting is wonbderful with great views on the Argentario bay, the room was very elegantly furnished, of ample size and well appointed, the views on the sea splendid. The staff was extremely friendly and more than helpful, for example one windy day the reception desk told us about a well protected beach we could visit , which we did and was perfect. The hotel's private beach across the street is lovely.
In all we greatly enjoyed our stay, of course the Argentario peninsula is spectacular for scenery and views. The wharf of Porto Santo Stefano is breathtaking with beautiful yachts, among them the elegant yacht of the King of Spain.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank emilio_sacerdoti
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Imperial Beach, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 22, 2011

We stayed here on one night of our honeymoon. The hotel itself is very nice. The room was clean and had a beautiful view (but you have to pay extra for beach front views.) We had a great balcony overlooking the water and it was stunning. We were also very impressed with the quality of the service, the staff was polite, attentive, and extremely professional. For the price, however, we did not feel like it was a very good deal. There were some drawbacks to the room. For example, we only had hot water in our shower for about five minutes, which was very difficult with two people. Also, the double bed was just two twin beds pushed together with a sheet on top. We had also opted to eat at the restaurant, which was very pricey. The food was not very good, in fact, it was actually relatively bad. My husband ordered a "mixed grille," which included a piece of an overcooked porkchop, a hamburger patty, and a small piece of chicken all skewered on a kebab. I had gnocchi with clams, and the whole dish was full of sand. It was very disappointing. We felt that we spent a great deal of money for a meal that we did not enjoy, and we would recommend that people staying here go into town for dinner. The morning breakfast was good, but was folded into the price of the room. While this place was stunning and the staff was nice, I would not stay here again solely because we spent a great deal of money on our room and dinner, and did not feel that the quality of the amenities and the meal was worth the money that we spent.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank iblauren
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
31 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed October 11, 2010

This is a 4-star hotel that deserves the designation. We spent only one night there but it was enough to give us a positive impression of the area. Our room and bathroom were spacious, well-furnished and we had a lovely view over the beach and water. It's right on the main road, though, and the traffic can be quite noisy at times. The front desk staff was extremely helpful - especially in directing us to some restaurants in town when we discovered we had arrived at the hotel on a day when their restaurant was closed. They have a lovely bar and patio.

If you're not driving, this hotel is not easy to reach, however. We took a train to Grosseto, changed to a train for Orbatello and then took the local bus which stops near the hotel.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Wonkyknees
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Porto Santo Stefano
0.8 mi away
Hotel Villa Domizia
Hotel Villa Domizia
#1 of 5 in Porto Santo Stefano
251 reviews
1.4 mi away
Hotel Vittoria
Hotel Vittoria
#5 of 5 in Porto Santo Stefano
5 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Filippo II
Hotel Filippo II
#1 of 15 in Monte Argentario
279 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.1 mi away
Hotel Torre di Cala Piccola
Hotel Torre di Cala Piccola
#1 of 1 in Cala Piccola
703 reviews
1.4 mi away
Hotel La Caletta
Hotel La Caletta
#3 of 5 in Porto Santo Stefano
34 reviews
4.9 mi away
Hotel Il Pellicano
Hotel Il Pellicano
#1 of 7 in Porto Ercole
362 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Baia d'Argento? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Baia d'Argento

Property: Hotel Baia d'Argento
Address: Loc. Pozzarello (SP 161) | Monte Argentario, 58019 Porto Santo Stefano, Monte Argentario, Italy
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Grosseto > Monte Argentario > Porto Santo Stefano
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Porto Santo Stefano
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Baia d'Argento 4*
Number of rooms: 39
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Facing one of the most beautiful bay of the Argentario, Baia d’Argento hotel is waiting for you for a unique stay.The hotel, recently restored, offers an elegant and refined environment where the Mediterranean flavours can be tasted, where the surprising view of the silver coast can be enjoyed, where nature, landscapes, and pleasure-trips into the Maremma Toscana and its archipelago must be experienced.There are 36 very comfortable rooms and 3 suites, the reception is 24 hrs. opened for your requests and information about your unforgettable stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Nozio Netplan srl, Hotels.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotwire, Expedia, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets and Hotel.de so you can book your Hotel Baia d'Argento reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Baia d Argento

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing