We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Honeymoon of a Lifetime” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Il Pellicano

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Hotel Il Pellicano
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Porto Ercole
Certificate of Excellence
Toronto, Canada
1 review
“Honeymoon of a Lifetime”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 20, 2013

Il Pellicano is not cheap, some reviewers complained about the price(s) and I disagree; this is a world class hotel and yes, poolside sandwiches and water bottles are expensive. If you want cheap water and snacks find a cheaper hotel.
This being said, my wife and I had an experience of a life time enjoying the beauty, service, amenities, and glorious Mediterranean view at Il Pellicano on our honeymoon. We did a boat tour around the south side of Argentario and took a day trip to Montalcino and Siena (2 hrs away), and Porto Ercole (10 mins drive). The property at Il Pellicano is lush beyond belief with plants, gardens, terraces, friendly staff, and delicious food & wine. Every single square inch of Il Pellicano is designed with incredible detail, style, and class. Save up and make it happen!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Duncan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

343 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    268
    33
    19
    11
    12
See reviews for
45
236
3
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (50)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Old Tappan, New Jersey
Level Contributor
82 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 17, 2013

My husband and I just had an amazing stay at Il Pellicano. The staff was amazing, they were more than willing to answer any questions, give recommendations, make reservations, and get us where we wanted to go. All the staff was welcoming and pleasant. The hotel itself was amazing. We booked a romance package and it was perfect. Our room had a small patio and we overlooked the water, and it was magnificent. The pool was great, our weather was a little on the cool side, but we enjoyed a day by the pool anyway. We had the most amazing couples massage. The restaurants are all delicious and the service impeccible. If you are looking for a romantic, relaxing, quiet vacation spot-this is the place. It is expensive, but well worth it!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Tish1219
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sao Paulo, Brazil
Level Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 12, 2013

After this first trip to Il Pellicano my wife and I decided: we'll certainly come back, hopefully every year!
Porto Ercole is a wonderful charming place and the Il Pellicano is a jewel with everything you need to relax and enjoy life, with amazing views to complete the package.
But besides the views, the pool, the beach, the gym, the tennis court... what we must register here was the attention and quality of the service - and for that matter we have to mention Marcela and Floriana who were especially kind and made all the efforts to give us a perfect stay.
We went to Porto Ercole by car, leaving Rome, and we had a problem with our car tyre. The next morning Marcela and Floriana hired us a driver that took the blown tyre to Rome and a new one back to us whilst we were enjoying a beautiful day at the beach!
Obviously both have their own merit and are special professionals, but we felt that all the staff we interacted to were pretty much attentive to everything we needed.
We stayed at a junior suite with a great balcony overlooking the pool and the sea. The room was very spacious and had a huge bathroom. I don't know if we carry to much luggage on our trips, but although the room was big, there was not too much space for all our clothes.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Tukis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cirencester, Gloucestershire
Level Contributor
66 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 10, 2013

Expensive place to stay so it has to be very good. Sadly fell down on a few things which is why I only gave 4 out of 5. On the plus, great service from the staff most of the time.
Fantastic view from our room which also had a really nice balcony. The sun shone every day when the rest of Italy had rain and clouds, this place seemed to have its own weather system. Drinks are very expensive 9 euros for a small bottle of beer. Basic bottle of red about 40 euros. Small compensation in that the mini bar is inclusive but its not enough. The food is generally excellent however we ate in the Pelligrill one afternoon and it was really average. 45 euros for the mains, per person for fish of the day with a few grilled vegetables is ridiculous. It was not even nice, frankly my local fish and chip shop does a better meal than that! In hindsight I wish I had complained at the time.
The hotel location is really quite isolated and once you are here you tend to stay put. Its a good 3/4 hour walk up and down hills to Porto Ercole.
Room service we like to do a lot but there was not a lot of space in our room for this.
Also no wine or drinks list in the room is a disadvantage.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ThomasNo1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bern, Switzerland
Level Contributor
89 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 7, 2013

Built on a rock this is an interesting example of architecture of the 60s, but no fear, the building and especially the bathrooms have been updated and are perfectly comfortable which can be expected for the room rates.

There is no beach, but platforms in the rocks and a smallish, but well heated pool. Also the gardens are well kept and pleasant.

We staid here by accident because their sister property, the Posta Vecchia had the kindness to transfer our reservation to Il Pellicano to spare us the experience mixing with a Russian group having some kind of celebration there.

Il Pellicano being obviously a place for the rich and beautiful (who and this being a consolation are not so beautiful and rather bored and boring people to have as fellow guests), we have been despite not being part of their target group treated with a lot of kindness and attention. Of course I would rather not pay their room rates, but there is that fantastic chef Antonio Guida here who is worth a trip himself. (Read my report on the restaurant Il Pellicano).

This place can be highly recommended for people looking for privacy when money does not matter. I will be back for sampling Antonio's food.

(Strangely there is some nickel and diming with room service breakfast charged EUR 20 supplement per person which is outrageous. This is written on the order form - I did actually not try it as their terrace is fantastic. So perhaps they actually do no charge this for real.)

Room Tip: Coming for one night to sample the fantastic food ask for a normal seaview room in the main building...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank behuman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 26, 2013

with my Husband and 2 friends we spent 3 wonderful nights in this amazing place the weather was not so nice
but everything else went perfect the staff was always ready for our requests ,the restaurant managed by Michele is well organized the food is excellent i have until today a copy from the menu that we had personally i like every sort of risotto but all Italian food is very different.
in the pool area wee had with other friends snacks and a nice bottle of Prosecco there we meted a girl that served us she was always smiling and very attentive it seemed that we were eating at the restaurant ,the second day we meet her at the bar near the restaurant and we know then that her name is Georgia each time she welcomed us with a big smile and toked care of us we appreciated everything every detail we will definitively come back
we had really a nice time in this structure .

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 944alex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Annecy, France
Level Contributor
47 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 14, 2013

We spent 5 nights there on our way back from Rome. When seeing the pics on their website we thought that we will be disspointed compared to reality but we were not ! it is even more beautiful than expected.
We have been treated like we were home, the staff is extremely nice and attentive to your comfort. they anticipate all your needs.
the room was big and nice with a beathtaking view from the (big) balcony.

the food was great and they even managed to cook anything for us at the michelin star restaurant when we started to know all the menu.

special mention to Antonella who made our stay amazing by its professionalism and kindness (and very good french speaking), to Frederico who took care of us all day long anticipating all !!!! and to the lady sommelier who helped us to discover new vintages and that has such a passion for wines.

We will definitely come back since we felt at home being part of this big family.

Room Tip: we had G5 the sea view was great and very large.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank AlexD74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Porto Ercole
5.3 mi away
Hotel Torre di Cala Piccola
Hotel Torre di Cala Piccola
#1 of 1 in Cala Piccola
4.0 of 5 bubbles 658 reviews
1.9 mi away
A Point Porto Ercole Resort & Spa
5.0 mi away
Hotel Filippo II
Hotel Filippo II
#1 of 3 in Monte Argentario
4.5 of 5 bubbles 258 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.5 mi away
Hotel Villa Domizia
Hotel Villa Domizia
#1 of 5 in Porto Santo Stefano
4.5 of 5 bubbles 227 reviews
4.9 mi away
Hotel Baia d'Argento
Hotel Baia d'Argento
#2 of 5 in Porto Santo Stefano
4.5 of 5 bubbles 321 reviews
1.6 mi away
Albergo La Conchiglia
Albergo La Conchiglia
#3 of 7 in Porto Ercole
4.5 of 5 bubbles 122 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Il Pellicano? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Il Pellicano

Property: Hotel Il Pellicano
Address: Localita Sbarcatello, 58019 Porto Ercole, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Grosseto > Porto Ercole
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Porto Ercole
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel Il Pellicano 5*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The elegant five-star hotel, located in Tuscany's Maremma region, was built in the mid-1960s as a love nest for Michael and Patricia Graham and it is today part of The Leading Hotels of the World. The home, called Il Pellicano as a tribute to the first time the couple met at Pelican Point in California, was initially a club for the Grahams' friends, but was subsequently expanded and opened to friends of friends. However, a few things remained the same: the pleasure of feeling at home and the glamorous and slightly retro atmosphere. The hotel's discrete luxury and the still-rugged Tuscan countryside attract the international jet set. Today, the cottages and the central building are suspended between the sky and the sea, with large rooms, windows and terraces where it's unclear where the indoors end and the outdoors begin. There are pathways and stairways, fragrant gardens and discrete corners, a restaurant with one Michelin stars and three Gambero Rosso forks, a heated sea-water swimming pool, a spa with a sea view to soothe both the body and the soul, and for those wanting to take a dip in the Tyrrhenian Sea, a white platform with chaise longue and immaculate parasols. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Amex, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ, Travelocity, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Hotel Il Pellicano reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Il Pellicano Hotel Porto Ercole
Il Pellicano Porto Ercole

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing