We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pamper yourself”
Review of Hotel Il Pellicano

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel Il Pellicano
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Porto Ercole
Certificate of Excellence
oslo
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Pamper yourself”
Reviewed November 12, 2012

This is the place to be to relax. We did not leave the hotel to explore the surrondings. Exelent food at different levels. Nice settings and very good service, we will be back! Maybee not the perfect place for small kids.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JanKV
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

371 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    289
    40
    19
    12
    11
See reviews for
48
253
4
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (53)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles, California
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed October 21, 2012

Il Pelicano is more than a luxurious hotel, it is a unique little resort, completely isolated from the surrounding little towns and therefore creating the atmosphere of tranquillity, intact natural beauty, undisturbed peace and complete oblivion to the hasseles of everyday life.
It has the main building and the villas, all built in the 60s and obviously recently rennovated in the most elegant manner.
The staff is great and does everything for your comfort in this perfect microworld.
The restaurant has 2 michelin stars and even though it is quite pricey, I think it is worth it, especially considering the amazing service and the unsurpassable opportunity to dine and watch the moon rising above the magnificent and enigmatic Mediterrainean.
The 2 bartenders Federico and Luca certainly create the most welcoming atmosphere as well as the rest of the restaurant staff, who were professional, entertaining and super friendly.
The pool and beach service was excellent too.
We stayed for 4 nights and I would have stayed longer.
A little tip: they close in the middle of October until April every year, I believe, due to the weather conditions .

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rita B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pellicano_Hotels, Direttore generale at Hotel Il Pellicano, responded to this review, April 28, 2013
Dear Mrs Rita,

many thanks for your kind review and especially for the unique words used to describe your experience at Il Pellicano.
It's hard to find the rights words to reply you, just enought to say that your review will be a milestone for me and the Staff for the new 2013 season. An example of luxury friendly human service for all of us.
I here confirm you that due to the weather conditions, the Property is closed for the winter season, the Argentario Peninsula mean Sun & See for a summer magic moment.
At the pleasure to welcome you back

Danilo Guerrini
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mequon, Wisconsin, United States
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed October 15, 2012

Small, wonderful resort located in a remote location on the Mediterranean Sea with great service-caring staff, location and food. Rooms,including bathrooms are luxurious and spacious with balconies with views of the Sea. The food/service/atmosphere of its 2 star michelin rated restaurant did not disappoint. Facilities and setting are spectacular.

Room Tip: Pay the little extra for the sea view and balcony
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Paul D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, New South Wales, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed October 2, 2012

My daughter and I recently had the pleasure of staying at Il Pellicano on our recent trip to Italy and it was an amazing experience. Our suite was gorgeous with views over the hills and surrounding ocean and we couldn't fault anything about the place. We loved the spa and the gorgeous girls working there and the all out old style glamour of the place. It's a truly romantic place in a private, remote location. All of the staff were fabulous but particularly the girls at the spa and boutique. Will try and be back as soon as we can.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Victoria B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Deer Park, Illinois
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed September 30, 2012

What a wonderful place! The location is perfect. The view is magnificent, perched on the side of a cliff overlooking the sea. They have a pool and an elevator down to their seaside terrace complete with lounge chairs and towels. The terrace dining is amazing. Candle lit dinner overlooking the ocean? What can be better. The food was fantastic as was the service. Gotta check this place out.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jim D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albuquerque, New Mexico
Level 5 Contributor
69 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
Reviewed September 7, 2012

Three nights in a beautiful suite at Pellicano. In short: a small (50 room) hotel on an isolated peninsula in southern Tuscany. The hotel stands out for its incredibly private, elegant and discreet service. The rooms are decorated just right- gorgeous balcony, shutters with fresh air, stunning views, rock coastlines. We stayed in a gorgeous villa about 500 feet from the main building. The drive to the hotel is fantastic- roads cut into the cliff.

Items for improvement: as others commentators have noted, there was a funny ant issue across the property. They actually threatened to take over the buffet and walk off with the morning ham on the breakfast line. Good exterminator is needed. But, I'm sure that this will be dealt with: must have been a bad ant season.

Also, the Michelin restaurant is fine, though quite formal. The grill was very tasty, but I was offended by the 25Euro side salad. The prices are pushing the limit for a casual meal. I'd suggest that management take a good look at the price/value ratio at the Grill restaurant. Of course there are less expensive casual tratorias in town.

Would we come again? Absolutely. What a joy to spend time at the water, enjoying drinks at the pool. Kudos to the management.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gate95
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
italy
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed September 7, 2012

Whit so many nicer similar hotels in nicer location around italy( think about san pietro or sirenuse in positano, or palazzo sasso in ravello or splendido in portofino, pellicano was nothing special for me. Sea access is not nice, as there is no beach! common areas very limited beside beatifull terraces, my suite ok but definitly overpriced.The main restaurant instead is definitly worth as the food quality combined with the nice setting will make it for a great dinner experience

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank supersayan4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Porto Ercole
5.3 mi away
Hotel Torre di Cala Piccola
Hotel Torre di Cala Piccola
#1 of 1 in Cala Piccola
717 reviews
1.9 mi away
A Point Porto Ercole Resort & Spa
4.9 mi away
Hotel Baia d'Argento
Hotel Baia d'Argento
#2 of 5 in Porto Santo Stefano
349 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.1 mi away
Hotel Filippo II
Hotel Filippo II
#1 of 15 in Monte Argentario
289 reviews
5.9 mi away
Hotel Vittoria
Hotel Vittoria
#5 of 5 in Porto Santo Stefano
9 reviews
1.6 mi away
Albergo La Conchiglia
Albergo La Conchiglia
#3 of 7 in Porto Ercole
136 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Il Pellicano? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Il Pellicano

Property: Hotel Il Pellicano
Address: Localita Sbarcatello, 58019 Porto Ercole, Monte Argentario, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Grosseto > Monte Argentario > Porto Ercole
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Porto Ercole
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel Il Pellicano 5*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The elegant five-star hotel, located in Tuscany's Maremma region, was built in the mid-1960s as a love nest for Michael and Patricia Graham and it is today part of The Leading Hotels of the World. The home, called Il Pellicano as a tribute to the first time the couple met at Pelican Point in California, was initially a club for the Grahams' friends, but was subsequently expanded and opened to friends of friends. However, a few things remained the same: the pleasure of feeling at home and the glamorous and slightly retro atmosphere. The hotel's discrete luxury and the still-rugged Tuscan countryside attract the international jet set. Today, the cottages and the central building are suspended between the sky and the sea, with large rooms, windows and terraces where it's unclear where the indoors end and the outdoors begin. There are pathways and stairways, fragrant gardens and discrete corners, a restaurant with one Michelin stars and three Gambero Rosso forks, a heated sea-water swimming pool, a spa with a sea view to soothe both the body and the soul, and for those wanting to take a dip in the Tyrrhenian Sea, a white platform with chaise longue and immaculate parasols. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ, Orbitz, Priceline, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Hotel Il Pellicano reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Il Pellicano Hotel Porto Ercole
Il Pellicano Porto Ercole

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing