We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful Place by the Sea”
Review of Hotel Il Pellicano

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Hotel Il Pellicano
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Porto Ercole
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 15, 2012

Small, wonderful resort located in a remote location on the Mediterranean Sea with great service-caring staff, location and food. Rooms,including bathrooms are luxurious and spacious with balconies with views of the Sea. The food/service/atmosphere of its 2 star michelin rated restaurant did not disappoint. Facilities and setting are spectacular.

Room Tip: Pay the little extra for the sea view and balcony
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Paul D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (390)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

141 - 147 of 390 reviews

Reviewed October 2, 2012

My daughter and I recently had the pleasure of staying at Il Pellicano on our recent trip to Italy and it was an amazing experience. Our suite was gorgeous with views over the hills and surrounding ocean and we couldn't fault anything about the place. We loved the spa and the gorgeous girls working there and the all out old style glamour of the place. It's a truly romantic place in a private, remote location. All of the staff were fabulous but particularly the girls at the spa and boutique. Will try and be back as soon as we can.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Victoria B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 30, 2012

What a wonderful place! The location is perfect. The view is magnificent, perched on the side of a cliff overlooking the sea. They have a pool and an elevator down to their seaside terrace complete with lounge chairs and towels. The terrace dining is amazing. Candle lit dinner overlooking the ocean? What can be better. The food was fantastic as was the service. Gotta check this place out.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jim D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 7, 2012

Three nights in a beautiful suite at Pellicano. In short: a small (50 room) hotel on an isolated peninsula in southern Tuscany. The hotel stands out for its incredibly private, elegant and discreet service. The rooms are decorated just right- gorgeous balcony, shutters with fresh air, stunning views, rock coastlines. We stayed in a gorgeous villa about 500 feet from the main building. The drive to the hotel is fantastic- roads cut into the cliff.

Items for improvement: as others commentators have noted, there was a funny ant issue across the property. They actually threatened to take over the buffet and walk off with the morning ham on the breakfast line. Good exterminator is needed. But, I'm sure that this will be dealt with: must have been a bad ant season.

Also, the Michelin restaurant is fine, though quite formal. The grill was very tasty, but I was offended by the 25Euro side salad. The prices are pushing the limit for a casual meal. I'd suggest that management take a good look at the price/value ratio at the Grill restaurant. Of course there are less expensive casual tratorias in town.

Would we come again? Absolutely. What a joy to spend time at the water, enjoying drinks at the pool. Kudos to the management.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gate95
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 7, 2012

Whit so many nicer similar hotels in nicer location around italy( think about san pietro or sirenuse in positano, or palazzo sasso in ravello or splendido in portofino, pellicano was nothing special for me. Sea access is not nice, as there is no beach! common areas very limited beside beatifull terraces, my suite ok but definitly overpriced.The main restaurant instead is definitly worth as the food quality combined with the nice setting will make it for a great dinner experience

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank supersayan4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 6, 2012

Il Pellicano represents the sublime experience that few can believe. The cliff side location over looking the Med with flowers flowing out of the sides of the hotel which is painted in burnt oranges, gives a picture that is hard to forget. The room, beach (actually a seaside promenade of concrete) and poolside are better than you'll anywhere in Italy. Our room had a marvelous balcony and view overlooking the sea and poolside. By the pool, don't forget to order a fresh squeezed blood orange juice with Campari. It's hard to replicate it, despite trying. The restaurant is excellent and service impeccable. Despite the expense, it's worth it here.

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dwestmaui
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pellicano_Hotels, Direttore generale at Hotel Il Pellicano, responded to this reviewResponded May 1, 2013

Dear Guest,

after long time the TripAdvisor Travellers had the pleasure to share your experience.
Thank you very much for the time dedicated, with my Staff we are proud about your words.
This Italian Beauty now ready for the Season 2013 is waiting for you with a fresh squeezed blood orange juice with Campari created by Federico the magic Barman. At your choice at the pool or at the beach.
A new amazing Summer is now with us.
I hope you will have the time to come and share with us some others magic moment.
Best regards

Danilo Guerrini
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 6, 2012

It was as if we entered a different side of Italy the minute we drove past the gates. A quiet and gorgeous side along the peninsula of Argentario. The rooms were comfortable and clean, but just be ready for ants here and there in the bathroom. I think it depends which room you're in. The room had personality and charm to it. We had a nice deck facing the water view. The only time consuming part was walking from the room to main lobby for breakfast if you stay up in the hills versus the main building. Also went to the spa for a deep tissue massage. While the staff were friendly, the massage was not very strong or "deep tissue" like.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank choubella
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Porto Ercole
5.3 mi away
Hotel Torre di Cala Piccola
Hotel Torre di Cala Piccola
#1 of 1 in Cala Piccola
760 reviews
1.9 mi away
A Point Porto Ercole Resort & Spa
4.6 mi away
Hotel Villa Domizia
Hotel Villa Domizia
#1 of 5 in Porto Santo Stefano
264 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.9 mi away
Hotel Baia d'Argento
Hotel Baia d'Argento
#2 of 5 in Porto Santo Stefano
382 reviews
5.1 mi away
Hotel Filippo II
Hotel Filippo II
#1 of 15 in Monte Argentario
323 reviews
5.9 mi away
Hotel Vittoria
Hotel Vittoria
#5 of 5 in Porto Santo Stefano
22 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Il Pellicano? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Il Pellicano

Address: Localita Sbarcatello, 58019 Porto Ercole, Monte Argentario, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Grosseto > Monte Argentario > Porto Ercole
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Porto Ercole
Price Range: $446 - $965 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel Il Pellicano 5*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The elegant five-star hotel, located in Tuscany's Maremma region, was built in the mid-1960s as a love nest for Michael and Patricia Graham and it is today part of The Leading Hotels of the World. The home, called Il Pellicano as a tribute to the first time the couple met at Pelican Point in California, was initially a club for the Grahams' friends, but was subsequently expanded and opened to friends of friends. However, a few things remained the same: the pleasure of feeling at home and the glamorous and slightly retro atmosphere. The hotel's discrete luxury and the still-rugged Tuscan countryside attract the international jet set. Today, the cottages and the central building are suspended between the sky and the sea, with large rooms, windows and terraces where it's unclear where the indoors end and the outdoors begin. There are pathways and stairways, fragrant gardens and discrete corners, a restaurant with one Michelin stars and three Gambero Rosso forks, a heated sea-water swimming pool, a spa with a sea view to soothe both the body and the soul, and for those wanting to take a dip in the Tyrrhenian Sea, a white platform with chaise longue and immaculate parasols. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel Il Pellicano reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Il Pellicano Hotel Porto Ercole
Il Pellicano Porto Ercole

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing