We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Family friendly in Porto Ercole” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Don Pedro

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Don Pedro
Ranked #5 of 7 Hotels in Porto Ercole
Toronto
Level Contributor
12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Family friendly in Porto Ercole”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 30, 2012

The hotel (and our room's balcony) has lovely views of the harbor and the fortress, the rooms are large, but have aging bathrooms/decor and were dusty under the beds (due to the start of the season?). The staff was friendly and very accommodating of our small children, setting up an extra bed and a high quality travel cot for our arrival and opening the (very good) restaurant early for dinner for us. The restaurant and the covered terraces (where we spent some time due to the rain) share the great views. Porto Ercole is bustling, and it was nice to be quiet, have some space and have parking nearby, but still be able to walk down into the center. This is a good value, family friendly place to stay in beautiful Argentario.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ViaggiatoreCanadese
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

199 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    35
    72
    59
    25
    8
See reviews for
41
109
6
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 20, 2012

My wife and I stayed one night at the Don Pedro Hotel in Porto Ercole on Oct 4th before departing on our cruise of the Mediterranean. Porto Ercole is about an hour north of port for ships departing from Rome. We picked this hotel based on reviews from Trip Advisor and found them to be quite accurate. The hotel was easy to find. It has limited parking but we had no problems getting a place. We were give a room on the first floor with a large balcony that overlooks the town and harbor. The room was small but very clean and the bed was quite comfortable. The main feature of this hotel is the view - fantastic. We were able to walk down to the harbor on a set of steps across the road from the hotel - not too hard a climb to come back. We had supper at one of the restaurants along the harbor front and watched the fishing boats unload their daily catch. A continental breakfast was included and the food was good. WE sat on the patio enjoying the view.

My only concern and it is minor, is that the hotel does not have a secure website to provide credit card info when making reservations. They said we could email the info but we decided to phone them instead.

A great place to spend a day if you are taking a cruise from Rome. Would stay there again.

Room Tip: Ask for one of the first floor rooms with a large balcony.
See more room tips
Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank benzowner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kenner
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 17, 2012

The room was on the small side, but clean and comfortable. We had a small patio with a lovely view of the harbor and the town. Breakfast buffet was complete with an assortment of cold items and coffee. Perfect location for a walk to town. We also caught the ferry over to Giglio Island and had a great hike overlooking their harbor as well - complete with the overturned Costa Concordia (which was a surprise - we'd forgotten the name of the city that tragedy occurred in). Our daughter and her fiance also found a secluded beach on their hike on Giglio Island for a cool swim before ferrying back.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Stanley H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raleigh, North Carolina
Level Contributor
207 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 103 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 23, 2012

There are limited hotel choices in Porto Ercole. At Don Pedro, most rooms have a nice view of the harbor and a terrace. The rooms are quite small. The only outlet for charging electronics that we could find was in the bathroom. We had to unplug the small tv to recharge phones. Our air conditioning did not work. The sheets were not up to the quality standard of better italian hotels. Wifi is available only in the bar and lobby. There is a private beach available but it is difficult to find with access marked by a "do not enter" sign. The hotel seems to cater to larger tour groups.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ancheviaggio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 28, 2012 via mobile

Spent 3 nights here at the end of August with our 3 young children. Great location overlooking the charming Porto Ercole, clearly a family-run establishment, done so with care. We ate only once in the restaurant, daily changing menu with a strong seafood emphasis. Waiting staff were great with the kids, and the same ones served breakfast on the terrace overlooking the port in the morning. Hotel beach nearby has lovely rock pools, and was the only time we wished for babysitting as they serve cocktails in the evening, overlooking the sea... Thanks Don Pedro for a great stay and welcome

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JamesHC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, TX
Level Contributor
166 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 120 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 3, 2012

We spontaneously drove to Argentario and first stayed in an unpleasant hotel in noisy, dirty, bustling San Stefano. We spent one dreary night in the awful Hotel Alfiero room overlooking an Agii gas station and garbage dumpster, as well as the harbor of San Stefano. Alfiero came with surly service. wew didn't unpack and couldn't wait to escape to adorable Porto Ercole around Monte Argentario. We drove to worlds-away delightful Porto Ercole. We arrived on a holiday weekend (June 2--like their US July 4), and the rooms with sea-view terraces were already all occupied. However, our twin-bedded room had a small balcony with garden/rear view which was very quiet, room 410. The very nice housekeeper provided us with a fridge on request. Maybe 3 meters away from room 410 is the hotel's enormous sea-view terrace with tables and chairs. You can sit outside, look at the twinkling harbor lights, play cards, drink a bottle of wine and have snacks, see the market along the "boardwalk" area in the evening and watch people strolling, and the mountains all around you. It's a nice walk up to the hotel after yet another gelato. 2 elevators. There is no air con, but it was cool enough in the frist few days of June. I think it would be too hot July/August, but maybe the evenings are cool enough even w/o cross-ventilation. Free unlimited wifi in lobby only. No wifi available in the rooms. Non-discountable 130 euros in June, 110 in May. Breakfast is included inside or on another nice sea-view long terrace on the 2nd (US 3rd) floor. Service throughout the hotel is kind and attentive.

Room Tip: If you want a fantastic view, ask for a large terrrace facing the sea. You will hear some street noi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank lanago2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westchester County, NY
Level Contributor
64 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 15, 2011

We were planning to stay at the hotel for only one night at the conclusion of a long bike trip but due to the rail strike we stayed an extra night. We spent the extra day at the hotel's private beach which was beautiful although it was a little confusing to find. But the staff was great. They couldn't have tried any harder. The room had a pretty view of the harbor and the food was excellent.

  • Stayed September 2011
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AdventureBiker21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Porto Ercole
1.5 mi away
Hotel Il Pellicano
Hotel Il Pellicano
#1 of 7 in Porto Ercole
4.5 of 5 bubbles 350 reviews
0.4 mi away
Albergo La Conchiglia
Albergo La Conchiglia
#3 of 7 in Porto Ercole
4.5 of 5 bubbles 122 reviews
6.0 mi away
Hotel Torre di Cala Piccola
Hotel Torre di Cala Piccola
#1 of 1 in Cala Piccola
4.0 of 5 bubbles 660 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
A Point Porto Ercole Resort & Spa
4.7 mi away
Hotel Baia d'Argento
Hotel Baia d'Argento
#2 of 5 in Porto Santo Stefano
4.5 of 5 bubbles 320 reviews
4.8 mi away
Hotel Filippo II
Hotel Filippo II
#2 of 15 in Monte Argentario
4.5 of 5 bubbles 258 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Don Pedro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Don Pedro

Property: Don Pedro
Address: Via Panoramica 7, 58018 Porto Ercole, Monte Argentario, Italy
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Grosseto > Monte Argentario > Porto Ercole
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 7 Hotels in Porto Ercole
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Don Pedro 3*
Number of rooms: 60
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Don Pedro reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing