We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Spacious and very nice place that lets the soul meander”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Argentario Golf Resort & Spa
Ranked #2 of 7 Hotels in Porto Ercole
Certificate of Excellence
Zurich, Switzerland
Level Contributor
69 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Spacious and very nice place that lets the soul meander”
Reviewed July 19, 2012

We stayed for 5+ nights in May and enjoyed golfing, breakfast and dinner some night - wonderful place, the rooms are very spacious, have a large balcony to hang around, with view onto the golf course and the lagoon/see. Breakfast was good (for an Italian hotel) and dinner at the hotel restaurant was outstanding.

The spa indoor pool is quite large and there is also an outdoor pool (too cold to use) and an extension of the indoor pool that leads to outdoor (kind of a jacuzzi but not that warm)

On the nights/morning where the hotel was crowded (they had a tournament, the staff in the breakfast place could not really keep up and one had to ask for things to then finally get it) - otherwise it was ok

We booked a stay + golf package through a golf tour operator and discovered the hotel that way. The golf course was great to play (and not many people during the week).

Room Tip: no special tips except there is no road noise and nothing - it is almost a ZEN place (at least when...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank IntlTramp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ArgentarioResort, Responsabile relazioni pubbliche at Argentario Golf Resort & Spa, responded to this review, August 21, 2012
Dear Guest,

We all would like to thank you for sharing your comments. We are glad to hear you enjoyed your stay with us and that you enjoyed all our services, from the panoramic design rooms, to the gourmet restaurant, to the eco-golf course and the modern spa.

We do hope to welcome you back on your next visit in the Argentario!

Our Best Regards,
Argentario Golf Resort & Spa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

512 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    237
    145
    59
    44
    27
See reviews for
82
250
10
32
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed July 12, 2012

When you need to relax and you love golf Argenario Golf Resort is the right destination. We were here for one week in July with 2 children (3 and 7) years old. We played golf and took golf clinic by Emmanualio Canonnica, our old daughter took golf lessons too. Club house is near the recepion, so it takes 2 minutes to come from hotel to golf course. The sea is really warm and clear. For visit the coast we recommend to take the car - the are a lot of beautiful places on the coast. The restaurant in hotel is very nice, but in cities near the hotel there are a lot of good restaurants too. The stuff is very nice. So we think we will be back in this hotel.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alexander_and_Irina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ArgentarioResort, Responsabile relazioni pubbliche at Argentario Golf Resort & Spa, responded to this review, July 21, 2012
Dear Guest

Many thanks for your review, it is great to know that you enjoyed your stay and that our kid-friendly resort met your family’s expectations.

Our golf academy does indeed organize high-level golf clinics with Pro’s such as Emanuele Canonica, who won the Johnnie Walker Championship (European Tour) in 2005.

The sea waters of the Argentario are frequently awarded by environmental authorities for their cleanliness, and we are pleased to know that you enjoyed the warm sea and the Tuscan sun. We also offer a free shuttle service to the sandy beaches of Feniglia and Giannella for all our resort guests.

We hope to have the chance to welcome you back very soon !
Our Best Regards,

Argentario Golf Resort & Spa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
milano
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 8, 2012

More than 100 hectars of ecological reserve surround this magical resort on the tuscany Silver Coast. The architecture fuses Mediterranean-style elements with local building materials. Our room has an outdoor living room. dark-wood floors; king-size beds; wet bars; ample bathrooms; and patios with hammocks, and chaise longues. Sofas are upholstered in rich textured fabrics. At night the staff lights hundreds of candles around the resont on restaurant terrace ( read my Dama Dama review , very excellent )to create a truly enchanting setting. The golf course is excellent.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MilanoGinevra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Responsabile relazioni pubbliche at Argentario Golf Resort & Spa, responded to this review, July 15, 2012
Dear Guest,

We would like to thank you for sharing your lovely comments. We are glad to hear you enjoyed your stay with us. We are indeed surrounded by nature, and our resort mixes Mediterranean features with contemporary style architecture and modern details. Your stay coincided with a special, romantic event organized by our Dama Dama Restaurant, and we are very pleased to know that you liked it.

We do hope to welcome you back on your next visit in the Argentario!

Our Best Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sao Paulo, SP
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed July 4, 2012

Just perfect , nice decor, nice view, nice breakfast ..... perfect to go in couple or in family

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank flavia r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ArgentarioResort, Responsabile relazioni pubbliche at Argentario Golf Resort & Spa, responded to this review, August 21, 2012
Dear Guest,

Many thanks for your kind review. We hope to have the chance to welcome you back very soon!

Our Best Regards,
Argentario Golf Resort & Spa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
20 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed June 3, 2012

design and relax, a family place.
nice structure; golf, spa at a the portofino of tuscany...

Room Tip: get the suites 2nd and 3rd flooor a lot more confortable
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TheTopadvisor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ArgentarioResort, Responsabile relazioni pubbliche at Argentario Golf Resort & Spa, responded to this review, August 21, 2012
Dear Guest,

Many thanks for your review! With its large indoor and outdoor spaces, large rooms, kids playground and mini club, our resort is definitely a family place. But such spacious areas and the panoramic location, as well as the design rooms and the special spa treatments for 2, all make the resort an ideal location for a romantic retreat as well.

We hope to welcome you back very soon!
Our Best Regards,
Argentario Golf Resort & Spa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bucharest, Romania
Level Contributor
131 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 145 helpful votes
Reviewed May 2, 2012

Tuscany itself is hard to fault and this resort only gives another reason to visit it and stay there for as long as you can. It's outside of the tourist-busy part of Tuscany, on a small peninsula (Monte Argentario) connected to the mainland with narrow bridges. You can reach it from Rome or Florence, but you will not find hoards of people around. This makes it more desirable if you're looking for quiet and lazy days, as it has a good spa (with indoor and outdoor pool) and a golf course.
Our room was large and it had a nice view over the golf course, the coast and beyond, the hotel being nestled on a hill. Modern design, nice furnishings, large and sexy bathroom and tub + good food and friendly and helpful people all around the resort.
It's not a big hotel at all, but it has large spaces and facilities, translating into more comfort/privacy for guests and we felt it. We had a wonderful time and the weather was perfect!
What's more... the surroundings are beautiful, with three small towns within easy reach (minutes, by car). There you find picturesque ports, some old forts, nice beaches, bars and restaurants, all with an authentic Italian flavor. I heard that in the summer months some clubs open and pump-up the party scene.
If you can, take the scenic roads around Monte Argentario. Lovely in every season!

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Andrei C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ArgentarioResort, Responsabile relazioni pubbliche at Argentario Golf Resort & Spa, responded to this review, May 31, 2012
Dear Guest,

Many thanks for your kind review, it is great to know that you enjoyed your stay and that we met your expectations. We hope to have the chance to welcome you back!

Our Best Regards,

Argentario Golf Resort & Spa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed March 21, 2012

My family and I are in the hotel business. This placendola not deserve a 3 star rating let alone the 5 stars it currently holds. The staff is untrained, the food is horrible, the rooms are run down, the swimming pool is one of the dirtiest things we have seen, all corners filled with brown stains and hairs. It is also one of the most dangerous hotel pools we have ever been to, the walking surfaces are slippery and our children suffered 2 very nasty falls within 5 minutes. It is terribly over priced and none of the electronic amenities worked in the bedrooms.

The owner of the hotel is an architect and a lousy one at that. You can feel the flaws and cheap taste from the minute you walk in to the reception area. It isn't a mystery though, that entire area only has one major golf course and this is it, so the hotel benefits from that tremendously. If you don't play golf and don't want to get ripped off, steer clear from this place. It is TERRIBLE.

Hotels like these give Italy and 5 star hotels a bad reputation.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Moody F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ArgentarioGolfResort, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Argentario Golf Resort & Spa, responded to this review, May 11, 2012
Thank you for your feedback and we are extremely sorry you were not satisfied by your stay with us.

We do not agree with most of your concerns about us:
- We constantly receive appreciations for the architect who designed the resort. He succeeded in building a modern structure that perfectly fits with the natural environment
- We have several managers on property with proved skills and experience working in the different areas, Spa, Food & Beverage and Front Office
- Our Spa is the most beautiful in the area with an extension of 2800 mq and offers a wonderful view of the natural landscape

Should you be willing to reconsider our property and decide to come back to Argentario Golf Resort and Spa, we will make sure that you will have a completely satisfying experience with us. We would also love for you to try our restaurant, it is a pity that you never ate there for lunch or dinner.

Best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Porto Ercole
3.0 mi away
Hotel Il Pellicano
Hotel Il Pellicano
#1 of 7 in Porto Ercole
4.5 of 5 bubbles 356 reviews
1.4 mi away
A Point Porto Ercole Resort & Spa
4.8 mi away
Hotel Torre di Cala Piccola
Hotel Torre di Cala Piccola
#1 of 1 in Cala Piccola
4.0 of 5 bubbles 689 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 mi away
Hotel Filippo II
Hotel Filippo II
#2 of 15 in Monte Argentario
4.5 of 5 bubbles 271 reviews
2.6 mi away
Hotel Baia d'Argento
Hotel Baia d'Argento
#2 of 5 in Porto Santo Stefano
4.5 of 5 bubbles 332 reviews
2.0 mi away
Hotel Villa Domizia
Hotel Villa Domizia
#1 of 5 in Porto Santo Stefano
4.5 of 5 bubbles 248 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Argentario Golf Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Argentario Golf Resort & Spa

Property: Argentario Golf Resort & Spa
Address: Via Acquedotto Leopoldino, 58018 Porto Ercole, Monte Argentario, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Grosseto > Monte Argentario > Porto Ercole
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 7 Hotels in Porto Ercole
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Argentario Golf Resort & Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 73
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This luxury resort features design rooms with panoramic terraces, an organic wellness centre and a championship 18-hole golf course. Its location between Porto Ercole and Porto Santo Stefano is ideal for exploring the Argentario, the Tuscany Maremma and Giglio/Giannutri Islands. Rooms overlook the golf course or the Mediterranean greenery, and they are decorated with styles that vary from modern-contemporary, to vintage, to eclectic. Guests enjoy free daily access to the 3000 m² spa with outdoor and indoor pools, gym, hot tubs, Turkish bath and a variety of beauty treatments. The golf course, which includes a driving range and a golf academy, has been awarded the BioAgriCert environmental certification for its sustainable maintenance practices. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Fastbooking, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Argentario Golf Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Argentario Golf Resort And Spa
Argentario Golf Hotel Porto Ercole
Argentario Hotel Porto Ercole
Argentario Resort Porto Ercole

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing