We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location, horrible service, tiny rooms!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Colonna Pevero Hotel
Ranked #8 of 21 Hotels in Porto Cervo
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Great location, horrible service, tiny rooms!”
Reviewed November 19, 2009

We originally booked a two week stay at the hotel, looking forward to a relaxing holiday at a 5-star resort. The hotel is beautifully set in the hills surrounding Porto Cervo, and has great swimming pool facilities and a small beach only a 5 minute walk away. The breakfast buffet is very good, and the waiters friendly. That is pretty much where our positive experience ended.

The rooms of the hotel are very small, we could hardly fit our baby's pram next to our bed for him to sleep in. The balcony was also small, and had very uncomfortable chairs (I did see that some of the other rooms had better outdoor furniture). The decor of the room was old fashioned, and the bed was the most uncomfortable bed I have ever slept in. We let the reception staff know that we wanted a top mattress for the bed, but even if they assured us it would be fixed that never happened.

Food at the hotel was OK, but horribly over priced. A regular club sandwich at the beach bar will cost you 22 euros, lunch and supper at the restaurants were also very expensive, and not corresponding with the quality of the food served.

The service we received from reception staff was very varied, a couple of the guys were friendly and helpful in recommending restaurants and other things, but most of them were not very helpful or friendly at all. An incident made us have to talk to the manager on duty on the day we checked out, and I have to say I have never met a less customer-oriented person at a hotel anywhere! We have tried to contact the hotel and the iti-hotels chain on numerous occations after leaving, but have not received replies to any e-mails or been able to contact them on the phone.

All in all I would say that even if this hotel is set in stunning surroundings and has nice swimming pool facilities it comes nowhere near being a 5-star resort. There are many hotels in the area that are nicer (with equally great views), and (at least when I checked) more reasonably priced. The horrendous service we received from some of the reception staff and the manager does not belong in hospitality anywhere.

I would not recommend this hotel to anyone.

Stayed September 2009, traveled with family
Helpful?
10 Thank LineRS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

195 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    125
    38
    15
    11
    6
See reviews for
33
113
3
14
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed September 28, 2009

The hotel is well designed, modern and comfortable, but would agree that given its 5 star billing it should offer more luxury, particularly as far as the rooms are concerned, which are fine but just not 5 star. The service is good and staff friendly and mostly efficient, however, prices are sky high, particularly for drinks, soft and alcoholic. It has a great location and wonderful setting (near both beach and port), but you do need a car if you're staying for more than a couple of days, but the enjoyment factor is diluted a little by the super crazy prices.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank LondonJohn1971
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Level Contributor
46 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 126 helpful votes
Reviewed August 24, 2009

We spent four nights at the Colonna Pevero, mostly on the recommendations on Trip Advisor. This hotel is not a five star and is certainly not worth the exorbitant prices it demands.

On the plus side, the staff are quite friendly. The five pools are nice and the location, close to the town of Porto Cervo, is a big plus.

On the negative side: the rooms are VERY small. The lighting in the rooms is poor and the amenities are sparse - more like a upclass motel than a 5 star hotel that charges over $500++ a night. The food and drinks at the hotel are super expensive. Be prepared for EUR 20 cocktails and EUR40 lunches per person on average.

Though the service was mostly good, our wake-up call on the last day rang 30 minutes before schedule which was quite annoying. Most troubling of all was the fact that they checked us into the room and the engineer walked in 10 minutes later to say that our bed was broken. We had to complain about it several times before they replaced it.

All in all, an okay experience but certainly not one would expect for this kind of money and for a hotel with 5 stars.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank KitchieKai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sao Paulo, SP
Level Contributor
197 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
Reviewed August 20, 2009

The hotel is beautiful, very modern decor and spacious room and bathroom.
The pool is very nice a lot of space and sunbeds.
The breakfast is great, lot of options but not as big as an american buffet.
The staff is very kind.
But the highest point is location, location and location.
The hotel is very close to the best ( and most expensive) hotels in Sardegna and Porto Cervo, the luxury center of Sardegna.
Close to the best beaches in North Sardegna.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank adribuccolo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norfolk, England
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed May 12, 2009

I have just come back . The rooms are a bit small for a 5 star hotel but perfectly adequate. The swimming pool arrangements, 5 different ones coming down the hillside, are quite exceptional. We went half board , the dinner was excellent, each course cooked individually and therefore fresh and the service was firstclass. Probably because the manager was always on hand and welcoming.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Experiencd_Traveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quincy, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed April 24, 2009

I was part of a group traveling throughout Sardinia and as a group we were split into 3 different hotels. The manager of this hotel made sure everything was perfect. Bellmen waited outside in the parking lot as we drove in. Rooms spacious with lovely views. Breakfast varied and plenty. Bellman waiting on the first floor right at the elevators for us to help with luggage in the morning. Granted, they were all on their best behavior but it was very impressive, nevertheless. I highly recommend this propery.

  • Stayed October 2008, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sakkara
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed August 23, 2008

We stayed at the Colonna Pevero for 10 days in July with our 2 and a half year old daughter and our ten month old son. The hotel is not really set up for children but the staff could not have been more helpful and friendly with the kids. The children had room service every evening on the terrace and the chef would prepare some great dinners for them (including pureed food for our son).

We managed to get half board which I would recommend if travelling with kids. We booked a baby sitter for some evenings but for others they would just serve us dinner on the terrace of our room (at no extra cost).

The 5 swimming pools are gorgeous and the smaller ones great for kids (most of the time we would just have a pool to ourselves ).

The beach is one of the nicest beaches in the Costa Smeralda and its great to have an area just reserved for guests of the hotel. The walk to the beach is about 5 minutes.

I agree with some of the reviews that maybe the rooms / bathrooms are not up to the standards of the best 5 star hotels but its not something that really bothered us.

I would definitely rent a car if staying at this hotel as there is not much at walking distance.

  • Stayed July 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank BdBLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Porto Cervo
2.8 mi away
Colonna Resort
Colonna Resort
#1 of 21 in Porto Cervo
614 reviews
1.4 mi away
Cervo Hotel, Costa Smeralda Resort
1.5 mi away
Hotel Luci di La Muntagna
Hotel Luci di La Muntagna
#2 of 21 in Porto Cervo
257 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Hotel Cala di Volpe, a Luxury Collection Hotel
4.1 mi away
L'ea Bianca Luxury Resort
L'ea Bianca Luxury Resort
#2 of 23 in Baia Sardinia
251 reviews
1.5 mi away
Hotel Romazzino, a Luxury Collection Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Colonna Pevero Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Colonna Pevero Hotel

Property: Colonna Pevero Hotel
Address: Loc. Golfo del Pevero, 07020 Porto Cervo, Arzachena, Sardinia, Italy
Location: Italy > Sardinia > Province of Olbia-Tempio > Arzachena > Porto Cervo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Porto Cervo
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Porto Cervo
#3 Romantic Hotel in Porto Cervo
#8 Luxury Hotel in Porto Cervo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Colonna Pevero Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 102
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The rooms, equipped with the latest technologies, are designed to meet any need or wish.The Hotel features 102 guest rooms & suites, two restaurants, three bars, five swimming pools, conference rooms, business centre, fitness centre, Wellness & Beauty centre, private helicopter pad, independent car parks. The rooms, most with a sea view, have spacious verandas overlooking the Pevero Gulf.The rooms, most with a sea view, have spacious verandas overlooking the Pevero Gulf. All the rooms feature a private bathroom with bath or shower, direct telephone line (including in the bathroom), satellite TV, pay-per-view cable TV service and wire radio (including in the bathroom), mini bar, lockbox, internet connection, hair dryer, air conditioning, veranda or terrace. Room categories: • Classic room: double room, veranda • Superior Room: double room with a sea view, veranda • Deluxe room: double room with a sea view, sun beds on the terrace • Executive Suite: double room, living room, sea view, sun beds on the terrace • Royal Suite: double room, living room, sea view, jacuzzi pool and sun beds on the terrace • Presidential Suite: double room, living room, dining room with bar area, sea view, jacuzzi pool and sun beds on the terrace. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Colonna Pevero Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Colonna Pevero
Colonna Pevero Hotel Porto Cervo, Sardinia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing