We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A good team” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Grand Hotel in Porto Cervo

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Grand Hotel in Porto Cervo
Ranked #11 of 21 Hotels in Porto Cervo
Certificate of Excellence
Sibford Gower, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
79 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
“A good team”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 15, 2013

We arrived on a tour coach and fortunately headed the line to check in. We were three and had two rooms. Ours was a superior room and number one son had his own standard room. His was better decorated, ours a little more quiet - both fairly basic and certainly no frills. The staff make this place and Tony helped me out with a golf buggy ride when he realised I needed to carry cases from one room to another in separate blocks. Our cleaning lady really did a top job as did the pool bar staff. We played tennis for an hour every day but avoid the lower astro turf court as it has a 'dead cat bounce' meaning you run like crazy to get to the ball before it simply dies. After the first day we used the top hard court which is much better.

We had breakfast in "Orange Restaurant" every morning which has beautiful views and again great service staff. The buffet was well arranged and well stocked. I particularly liked the coffee. We did not have dinner there as we had block booked Hivaoa for the week. This hotel is great for a week long break but with not much to do outside of beach and pool anything longer may be a bit much.

Room Tip: We had 6106 and it was nice and quiet with a small garden
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MichaelPDrake
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

304 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    116
    106
    60
    11
    11
See reviews for
51
126
33
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (61)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Surrey
Level Contributor
28 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 14, 2013

Stayed here first week of July on Sardinia Yoga holiday. Would recommend as the setting is lovely, the grounds are beautiful, it is clean, the staff are friendly, the food at breakfast and brunch is nice and it is within easy walking distance of several good places to eat. However, there are a few things I wish we had known before our stay, so I am setting them out here to inform future visitors. We failed to get into Orange restaurant, as it was closed on the day we arrived (due apparently to the staff being diverted to help at the corporate event mentioned in an earlier review) and fully booked when we tried to book one lunchtime for the same evening. The man on reception said I should have booked that morning but nobody mentioned that when we checked in or that it would be closed that first evening. My husband has had back problems in the past. These returned on the third day of the holiday - which we think was due to the sun loungers by the pool, which are very basic and have no cushions. The rooms by the pool can be very noisy - we were glad we had upgraded to a superior room, as they are further away. We went on an afternoon boat trip. I'm not sure if it was arranged by Sardinia Yoga or by the hotel but it cost 52 Euros each for 12 of us - to our surprise, we were squeezed onto a dirigible motorboat and it only lasted four hours, which was maybe just as well as not even water was supplied and it was a very hot day. That's 624 Euros in total - my husband and I have paid less to hire a 40 foot yacht and its owner for a whole day with food provided in other parts of the Med. Taxis arranged by the hotel are madly expensive - they wanted 40 Euros each to take a group to the market in San Pantaleo, which is only 25 mins drive away. Fortunately we had a hire car, which I would recommend, as it quickly 'pays for itself' in view of the taxi charges. Extra towels to use by the pool are charged at 3 Euros each, which is madness and very mean when you have already paid about 1000 Euros each to stay there for eight days! And at check out they tried to charge us again for the room upgrade supplement that I had already paid to Sardinia Yoga - so check your bill carefully.

Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank GeordiegirlSurrey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stourbridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
58 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 12, 2013 via mobile

The hotel is ok. No where close to a UK 4* our room is basic but clean. Not even a kettle. The Orange Beach club and Orange restaurant which are attached are fab but the hotel lets them down. The pool is great and it's a short walk to the beach so long as you are physically able as the last bit is rocks not steps! The stroll down to local restaurants and one side of the marina is about 10 to 15 mins but the trip into Porto Cervo requires transport or a 45 min walk. There is a water taxi if you feel inclined from the marina to Porto Cervo. If you get a good deal then I'd recommend this hotel but shop around...saying all that we've had a fantastic holiday!

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank weronhols
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Daniele S, Direttore at Grand Hotel in Porto Cervo, responded to this review, July 25, 2013
Dear Guest,
We hereby thank you very much for the feedback referred to your stay in our Hotel.
We are glad to hear you liked the location of our Hotel and happy to hear that the staff is friendly. You say that price are high, but compare our prices to other locations, we have noted that these are lower then many other places around.
As you also said, Porto Cervo “Costa Smeralda”, like MonteCarlo, Nice, Capri and many others, are recommended, beautiful but expensive.
We really hope to welcome you again; in the meantime please accept our
Kindest regards

Franco Palumbo
Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southend-on-Sea, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 7, 2013 via mobile

We enjoyed our stay at the Grand Hotel, the rooms are dated and tired also annoying that you can hear what is going on in the next room, breakfast was very good in the Orange restaurant, staff friendly. We had dinner in the Orange restaurant, lovely setting but expensive 95 Euros for two, the meal was ok but not worth what we were charged, including. 5 Euro per person cover charge! The pool area was very nice and gardens surrounding very relaxing. There is a beach where they charge 20 Euros for the beds and umbrellas, this apparently goes up to 30 in August, these sorts of prices are the norm, staggering rip off.

Plenty do good places to eat away from the hotel.

Car hire is also very expensive, 300 + Euros for five days, extortionate insurance to avoid very high excess payments, take out excess waiver insurance online for about £3/day. Roads are good and quiet, easy to get around.

Sardinia is a lovely island, recommended but expensive.

Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank David S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
116 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 30, 2013 via mobile

The first 2 days of our stay at the hotel were wonderful, we enjoyed the relaxing pace and quiet surroundings. However this changed after a large party of corporate guests arrived to take part in a sports contest. Staff appeared to forget about other guests in the hotel, only concentrating on this group. Breakfast was reduced to a scramble for a seat, having to clear other peoples dirty dishes away and only having basic's to eat as food wasn't replenished. The pool area turned into a business venue with mobile phones constantly ringing and to top it off a photographer taking photo's of models and WAG's associated with the group. Luckily we had a hire car and were able to escape each day. The only staff who weren't bowled over by this group were housekeeping who cleaned our room to a high standard daily.

Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank NaughtyPP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Daniele S, General Manager at Grand Hotel in Porto Cervo, responded to this review, July 7, 2013
Dear Guest,
first of all, we thank you for your feed back which is very important to us.
As you said, we had a big event going on, and we were fully booked in that period.
We apologize for any inconvenience caused during these days and thank you again for what you have noticed that surely will help us to deliver a better service to all our guests.
We really hope to welcome you again at our Hotel in next future; in the meantime, please accept my

Kindest regards

Franco Palumbo
Manager
Grand Hotel in Porto Cervo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Monica, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 23, 2013

This hotel was one of the worst experiences of our traveling days... and we have been everywhere. The room was definitely not as advertised.. the room stunk from the bug spray that they had put in and would not air out.. We asked to change rooms and they indicated that there would be an extra charge... the person on duty was extremely rude... Don't prebook this hotel for long cause they will not ever let you cancel or leave early.. every hotel i've ever stayed at will allows you to leave after one day if you don't like the place.. these people threaten to call the police if you don't agree to pay in full.... so don't expect any help from them.. we left after the first day anyway and asked the staff to tell the manager to email us... Guess what... He never called or emailed.. the bed was hard as a rock... definitely really old.. the room was very dated as was the hotel... the pillows were the thinnest i've ever seen...This was definitely a one star hotel.. No chance a four star. Don't be fooled by these people.... Stay somewhere else

Room Tip: Our tip is don't stay at this hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
8 Thank martin333666999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Daniele S, Direttore at Grand Hotel in Porto Cervo, responded to this review, June 30, 2013
Dear Mr. Martin,
we have received your feedback for which we are very surprised.
With reference to your explanation of the fact, I am very sorry to hear of your insatisfaction.
About the room, you have booked a superior room that is only 8 years old and fairly rappresented on our website with photos and descriptions which shows the exact reality.
I have asked the receptionist on duty that day about this matter and I am sorry if there was a misunderstanding about payment of full stay. The full payment of the stay is stated on the contract that you have signed by booking our Hotel online. The receptionist understood you did not want to pay the bill and for this reasons, they have the right to call the police.
As far as I know, about the room, the receptionist on duty proposed a room change without supplement that you have refused and at check out time, the collegue told you that you could have asked for a refund for the nights you did not use.
Please fell free to contact me at amytime; in the meantime, please accept my
Kindest regards

Franco Palumbo
Direttore
Grand Hotel in Porto Cervo
direzione@grandhotelinportocervo.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
28 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 10, 2013

We stayed at the hotel as part of a Yoga holiday. We originally were put in a small room with no view so we upgraded to the Imperial Suite which was stunning. It has a double terrace with stunning views of the hotel and sea. The room has a large bathroom with double sink and double shower! The bedroom has patio doors to the terrace and the living area also has patio doors to the terrace. The room is traditional and not really contemporary. There is an expresso coffee machine in the room which was nice for the early morning expresso before yoga. The hotel has wonderful grounds and lots of quiet secluded places for chiling out with drinks or doing yoga. We had breakfast and brunch at the hotel as part of our trip. The breakfast had a good selection, but the brunch was particularly good with nice salads, seafood, pastas etc. We also had dinner at the restaurant one night which was very good. I would definitely stay at this hotel again, the staff were lovely and very friendly. The hotel has wifi, but not in your room, only reception and the bar area.

Room Tip: Quieter rooms are away from the restaurant and above the tennis courts.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kerry0072
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Daniele S, Manager at Grand Hotel in Porto Cervo, responded to this review, June 14, 2013
Dear Madame,
thanks a lot for your very nice feedback.

We very much appreciate your nice words and hereby want to thank also "Sardinia Yoga" for our mutual wonderful cooperation.

Hoping to welcoming you again at our Hotel in the future, please accept
kindest regards

Franco Palumbo
Manager
Grand Hotel in Porto Cervo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Porto Cervo
0.5 mi away
Colonna Resort
Colonna Resort
#1 of 21 in Porto Cervo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 593 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hotel Luci di La Muntagna
Hotel Luci di La Muntagna
#2 of 21 in Porto Cervo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 342 reviews
1.0 mi away
Cervo Hotel, Costa Smeralda Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Bagaglino I Giardini di Porto Cervo
2.6 mi away
Grand Hotel Smeraldo Beach
Grand Hotel Smeraldo Beach
#7 of 21 in Baia Sardinia
4.0 of 5 bubbles 340 reviews
0.5 mi away
Balocco Hotel
Balocco Hotel
#5 of 21 in Porto Cervo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 317 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Hotel in Porto Cervo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hotel in Porto Cervo

Property: Grand Hotel in Porto Cervo
Address: Calata Granu SNC, 07021 Porto Cervo, Arzachena, Sardinia, Italy
Location: Italy > Sardinia > Province of Olbia-Tempio > Arzachena > Porto Cervo
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#11 Luxury Hotel in Porto Cervo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Grand Hotel in Porto Cervo 4*
Number of rooms: 113
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Hotels.com so you can book your Grand Hotel in Porto Cervo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Porto Cervo
Grand Hotel Porto Cervo
Grand Hotel In Porto Cervo Sardinia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing