We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Rip OFF!! Do not stay.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Grand Hotel in Porto Cervo
Ranked #12 of 21 Hotels in Porto Cervo
Manchester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Rip OFF!! Do not stay.”
Reviewed August 18, 2012

The hotel itself is beautiful and very clean.
But unless your willing to be charged more for a Vodka&Tonic than your lunch or evening meal then it is not the place to stay.
Due to us having 4 children we did not want to hire a car so to get to the centre(3 kilometres away) in a taxi is a minium charge of 30 euros there and 30 euros back(20 euros in a taxi).
The staff are not helpful at all and well versed in what to say...for example The hotel are trying to charge each guest who have used a sun bed at the beach between 20-40 euros a day for each bed!!
So nearly 200 euros for us 6 on one day...they have a notice at the side of the reception which is the only information stating the charges.
Breakfast is basic but ok.
Beach Bar for lunch is nice, but prices change on a day to day basis and its obvious they make it up as they go along(also they have different prices and menus for the Italians).
The Orange Restaurant was nice and the food was lovely...then we got the bill and realised we had been charged 65 Euros for 3 Malibu and cokes and a Vodka and tonic.Which is shocking.
The Hotel Evening buffet is the must disgusting meal i have ever had!!! Being charged 40 Euros each for the 6 of us and all the food covered in flies and having only a fish or rabbit meal choice is unacceptable.

The Hotel lets itself down due to lack off communication,rudeness and over charging.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Nareace T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

328 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    124
    118
    64
    11
    11
See reviews for
58
134
34
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (65)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
22 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed August 12, 2012

An excellent choice to relax, to enjoy the Costa Smeralda flair and to calm down. The hotel usually hosts an interesting crowd of people. A lot of returning guests - which explains everything. The property is amazing, the staff is friendly and helpful. A hotel with a special flair for cool people. Wifi works well in the lobby area. The rooms are not that spacious but nice. Shuttle to Porto Cervo available. The hotel is definitely one of the best choices at the Costa.

Room Tip: If you would like to have peace - choose a superior room. Don't forget - you are in Italy - noth...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Angelika L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
1,288 reviews
114 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1,165 helpful votes
Reviewed August 3, 2012

Stayed here Mid June. I booked an offer through Travel Zoo. I CANNOT fault this hotel especially what we paid for it. The staff are friendly and are more than happy to help. They suggested some amazing restaurants which I must say some of the best Italian food I have ever had. The Breakfast is nothing to rave about but keep you going. If you are a big coffee drinker like myself, they only do filter coffee, but they can make you an espresso, cappuccino etc. I would definitely recommend hiring a car, because after two days of walking to the Marina it can get boring! There is a nice beach near the hotel, however if you have a car then you can venture out a little bit. Porto Cervo itself is really expensive. So after three days we were feeling the purse getting too light! But Sardinia is a stunning place and definitely worth a visit.

Room Tip: Don't get a ground floor room, however note that this hotel does not have lifts
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Saintlysinner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Luxembourg City, Luxembourg
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed July 30, 2012

Good location at the northern end of Porto Cervo, but a car is advisable to reach the many beautiful places around. Wonderful small beach (Cala Granu) next to the hotel with powder sand and crystal clear water. Standard room with tasteful decoration, breakfast of good quality on a shady terrace. Part of the grounds is also the lovely “Orange Beach Club”, which is unfortunately not very busy, as the hotel is rather a family hotel. I'm wondering if the management shouldn't focus more on an adult only clientele to value more this Beach Club.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Marc6473
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wokingham, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
Reviewed July 18, 2012

Had a family holiday here first week in June. Wonderful location and hotel with very friendly and efficient staff - food excellent.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Roger M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed July 4, 2012

Just spent a really wonderful week here, everything about it was spot-on. The hotel was great, the staff really friendly and helpful, the beach and location ideal, the food gorgeous. I did yoga there every morning and the teacher was brilliant. The other guests were great too and I just had a really wonderful time. I will be back!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank simon h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed July 2, 2012

I adored this hotel, The staff were exceptional in every way, They made my stay an absolute pleasure. The beach beds were something special and many an hour could be lost in the quiet tranquil setting dotted all over the resort thus creating an very ambient relaxed oasis.
I went for the YOGA primarily which was second to none, but was blown away at the quality of the Hotel , Staff and the food. I will be returning as soon as i can.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Andy J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Porto Cervo
0.5 mi away
Colonna Resort
Colonna Resort
#5 of 21 in Porto Cervo
650 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hotel Luci di La Muntagna
Hotel Luci di La Muntagna
#8 of 21 in Porto Cervo
286 reviews
1.0 mi away
Cervo Hotel, Costa Smeralda Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Bagaglino I Giardini di Porto Cervo
0.5 mi away
Balocco Hotel
Balocco Hotel
#4 of 21 in Porto Cervo
339 reviews
152.6 mi away
Hotel Costa dei Fiori
Hotel Costa dei Fiori
#2 of 14 in Santa Margherita di Pula
828 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Hotel in Porto Cervo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hotel in Porto Cervo

Property: Grand Hotel in Porto Cervo
Address: Calata Granu SNC, 07021 Porto Cervo, Arzachena, Sardinia, Italy
Location: Italy > Sardinia > Province of Olbia-Tempio > Arzachena > Porto Cervo
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#12 Luxury Hotel in Porto Cervo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Grand Hotel in Porto Cervo 4*
Number of rooms: 113
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Booking.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire, Evoline ltd, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity and HotelQuickly so you can book your Grand Hotel in Porto Cervo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Porto Cervo
Grand Hotel Porto Cervo
Grand Hotel In Porto Cervo Sardinia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing