We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent, all inclusive hotel. Inordinately expensive.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Romazzino, a Luxury Collection Hotel
Ranked #16 of 21 Hotels in Porto Cervo
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 1, 2007

A plan to visit Sardinia's sandy beaches for my honeymoon brought up Hotel Romazzino. Amazing location, right on the beach. It's a luxury 5-star hotel and you can spend your entire vacation here (I stayed 4 nights) - which is good because there is not much else to do in Sardinia.

For 1,500 euro a night, I expect more. Seems a bit overkill to pay 80 euros for an airport shuttle (take a taxi instead), 5 euros for each tennis ball (though rackets and court use is free) and 20 euros for a drink at the beach bar. The dinner menu has no prices listed - I don't care if I splurge, but I'd like to know what I'm getting in to... Same applies to water skiing, etc - why not tell the guests what the charges are?

Still, the restaurant is excellent - since the menu changes every day, you can eat here daily. My room (premium sea view room) had an excellent view of the sea and the moonrise, though it was a relatively small and bare room, for the price.

The beach is not a private beach, only the umbrellas are reserved. The beach is very clean, though, and the hawkers are only a minor inconvenience.

Tip: Order room service, using a menu from the restaurant. It's MUCH cheaper.

  • Stayed: August 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
7  Thank megawhizz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (139)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

61 - 67 of 139 reviews

Reviewed June 24, 2007

We had 2 rooms that cost $2000/night for each room. That's some major dough so our expectations were big.

I've had better rooms in a cheap hotel. No rugs, no art, cheap furniture. Our "ocean front" room had a peak of the water from one corner of our balcony. The room was small.

I bought some cokes for the kids and I almost died when I got the bill. $14 for each 6 ounce coke. That's so far beyond reasonable and we've stayed at a lot of the best hotels in the world.

I figured the internet would be included but nothing is included. It was only $30/night and only worked on a single computer.

The location is great and the food was great. Everyone was friendly and the service was great. And the Russian hookers working the pool were a nice touch.

I just felt like they took advantage of us.

  • Stayed: June 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
8  Thank ko1050
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 30, 2006

This was the last leg of our honeymoon and it was our favourite! What a gorgeous hotel and we can say without doubt it is one of the most beautiful hotels in Europe. Charm, charisma all with an Italian theme. Just beautiful.

The service was impeccable and the food fabulous! The position perfect! really, we just had the most amazing time. I would highly reccommend this hotel and Sardegna in general.

  • Stayed: June 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
12  Thank caddy5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 4, 2006

This hotel is quite difficult to grade. It is in a fantastic fantastic position with among the best views I have ever seen from a hotel room. The hotel itself, public areas and rooms, is all of a high standard and very comfortable. The food and service are of a similarly high standard. The only problem I have is that it simply isn't good value for money. Irrespective of how good a rate you can negotiate for the room, the food and beverage operations charge ridiculously high prices. It appears that the hotel markets itself as being "exclusive" and uses this as the excuse for its high prices, when it delivers a product that is no better than many more reasonable 5 star hotels. Overall an enjoyable experience to stay there, but nowhere near special enough to want to return.

  • Stayed: May 2006, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
27  Thank 1,028
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 24, 2006

Stayed here for 4 days. Wonderful service. Good sized rooms. Great beach. Open-air gym by the pool. Child friendly - saw babies as well as toddlers going around.
I think the place was refurbished in the last 12 months or so - everything seemed perfect and in good condition.
Only negative was price of drinks - EUR 10 plus for pretty much anything with some alocohol (EUR 25 for a glass of champagne!).
If you're in this part of Sardinia, definitely recommend this place.
Is a Starwood property also.

  • Stayed: May 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
11  Thank pjt05
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 18, 2005

We managed to get the rate down to 450euros late afternoon. It was a lovely hotel altho the rooms were a bit tired. Breakfast buffet excellent, nice pool and beach area (although the nuisance traders on the beach selling fake bags and jewellery hassled you non stop which was irritating after 2 minutes). Hotel staff very helpful with travel arrangements and hotel bookings for Alghero. A taxi to/from Olbia will set you back 50-70euros o.w. and Sardinia is generally very expensive. Not much in the area around the hotel but recommend it if you want a few days to chill out.

  • Stayed: September 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
10  Thank sailchick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 8, 2005

The Costa Smeralda is marvellous, no mass tourism, elegant and with beautiful beaches. The Romazzino hotel is a jewel... very expensive but once you get over this fact you are pampered, extremely well served and spend a lovely vacation.

It has a nice pool and its own private white sandy beach... you can walk less than 5 minutes to the near by public beach. It is advisable to rent a car to be able to visit other beaches and frequently go to Porto Cervo the nearby town... since there is nothing within walking distance from the hotel.

Highly recommended if you can afford it.

  • Stayed: July 1999
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
21  Thank Sherif
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Porto Cervo hotels
1.4 mi away
Hotel Cala di Volpe, a Luxury Collection Hotel
4.0 mi away
Hotel Pitrizza, a Luxury Collection Hotel
2.7 mi away
Cervo Hotel, Costa Smeralda Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Colonna Pevero Hotel
Colonna Pevero Hotel
#5 of 21 in Porto Cervo
236 reviews
4.0 mi away
Colonna Resort
Colonna Resort
#3 of 21 in Porto Cervo
697 reviews
2.9 mi away
Hotel Luci di La Muntagna
Hotel Luci di La Muntagna
#7 of 21 in Porto Cervo
312 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Romazzino, a Luxury Collection Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Romazzino, a Luxury Collection Hotel

Address: Loc. Romazzino, 07021 Porto Cervo, Arzachena, Sardinia, Italy
Location: Italy > Sardinia > Province of Olbia-Tempio > Arzachena > Porto Cervo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 On the Beach Hotel in Porto Cervo
#16 Luxury Hotel in Porto Cervo
Price Range: $332 - $2,284 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel Romazzino, a Luxury Collection Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
AN ENCHANTED EMERALD PARADISE The Hotel Romazzino is the epitome of unrivaled indulgent relaxation, perfect for vacationers who want to have a full beach resort experience with a private beach, two swimming pools (fresh water and sea water), tennis court, outdoor gym and an endless choice of leisure and sport activities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotwire, Cancelon and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Hotel Romazzino, a Luxury Collection Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Romazzino Hotel Porto Cervo
Hotel Romazzino, a Luxury Collection Hotel Porto Cervo, Sardinia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing