We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Over the top expensive” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Romazzino, a Luxury Collection Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hotel Romazzino, a Luxury Collection Hotel
Ranked #14 of 21 Hotels in Porto Cervo
Santa Barbara, CA
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Over the top expensive”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 24, 2007

We had 2 rooms that cost $2000/night for each room. That's some major dough so our expectations were big.

I've had better rooms in a cheap hotel. No rugs, no art, cheap furniture. Our "ocean front" room had a peak of the water from one corner of our balcony. The room was small.

I bought some cokes for the kids and I almost died when I got the bill. $14 for each 6 ounce coke. That's so far beyond reasonable and we've stayed at a lot of the best hotels in the world.

I figured the internet would be included but nothing is included. It was only $30/night and only worked on a single computer.

The location is great and the food was great. Everyone was friendly and the service was great. And the Russian hookers working the pool were a nice touch.

I just felt like they took advantage of us.

  • Stayed June 2007, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
8 Thank ko1050
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

111 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    56
    31
    15
    5
    4
See reviews for
27
44
2
15
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 30, 2006

This was the last leg of our honeymoon and it was our favourite! What a gorgeous hotel and we can say without doubt it is one of the most beautiful hotels in Europe. Charm, charisma all with an Italian theme. Just beautiful.

The service was impeccable and the food fabulous! The position perfect! really, we just had the most amazing time. I would highly reccommend this hotel and Sardegna in general.

  • Stayed June 2006, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
12 Thank caddy5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wiltshire
Level Contributor
15 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 4, 2006

This hotel is quite difficult to grade. It is in a fantastic fantastic position with among the best views I have ever seen from a hotel room. The hotel itself, public areas and rooms, is all of a high standard and very comfortable. The food and service are of a similarly high standard. The only problem I have is that it simply isn't good value for money. Irrespective of how good a rate you can negotiate for the room, the food and beverage operations charge ridiculously high prices. It appears that the hotel markets itself as being "exclusive" and uses this as the excuse for its high prices, when it delivers a product that is no better than many more reasonable 5 star hotels. Overall an enjoyable experience to stay there, but nowhere near special enough to want to return.

  • Stayed May 2006, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
27 Thank 1028
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 24, 2006

Stayed here for 4 days. Wonderful service. Good sized rooms. Great beach. Open-air gym by the pool. Child friendly - saw babies as well as toddlers going around.
I think the place was refurbished in the last 12 months or so - everything seemed perfect and in good condition.
Only negative was price of drinks - EUR 10 plus for pretty much anything with some alocohol (EUR 25 for a glass of champagne!).
If you're in this part of Sardinia, definitely recommend this place.
Is a Starwood property also.

  • Stayed May 2006
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
11 Thank pjt05
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 18, 2005

We managed to get the rate down to 450euros late afternoon. It was a lovely hotel altho the rooms were a bit tired. Breakfast buffet excellent, nice pool and beach area (although the nuisance traders on the beach selling fake bags and jewellery hassled you non stop which was irritating after 2 minutes). Hotel staff very helpful with travel arrangements and hotel bookings for Alghero. A taxi to/from Olbia will set you back 50-70euros o.w. and Sardinia is generally very expensive. Not much in the area around the hotel but recommend it if you want a few days to chill out.

  • Stayed September 2005
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
10 Thank sailchick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cairo, Egypt
Level Contributor
60 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 166 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 8, 2005

The Costa Smeralda is marvellous, no mass tourism, elegant and with beautiful beaches. The Romazzino hotel is a jewel... very expensive but once you get over this fact you are pampered, extremely well served and spend a lovely vacation.

It has a nice pool and its own private white sandy beach... you can walk less than 5 minutes to the near by public beach. It is advisable to rent a car to be able to visit other beaches and frequently go to Porto Cervo the nearby town... since there is nothing within walking distance from the hotel.

Highly recommended if you can afford it.

  • Stayed July 1999
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
21 Thank Sherif
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Porto Cervo
1.4 mi away
Hotel Cala di Volpe, a Luxury Collection Hotel
4.1 mi away
Colonna Resort
Colonna Resort
#1 of 21 in Porto Cervo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 593 reviews
4.0 mi away
Hotel Pitrizza, a Luxury Collection Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.7 mi away
Cervo Hotel, Costa Smeralda Resort
2.9 mi away
Hotel Luci di La Muntagna
Hotel Luci di La Muntagna
#2 of 21 in Porto Cervo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 342 reviews
5.5 mi away
L'ea Bianca Luxury Resort
L'ea Bianca Luxury Resort
#2 of 21 in Baia Sardinia
4.5 of 5 bubbles 218 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Romazzino, a Luxury Collection Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Romazzino, a Luxury Collection Hotel

Property: Hotel Romazzino, a Luxury Collection Hotel
Address: Loc. Romazzino, 07020 Porto Cervo, Arzachena, Sardinia, Italy
Location: Italy > Sardinia > Province of Olbia-Tempio > Arzachena > Porto Cervo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Porto Cervo
#14 Luxury Hotel in Porto Cervo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel Romazzino, a Luxury Collection Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
AN ENCHANTED EMERALD PARADISE The Hotel Romazzino is the epitome of unrivaled indulgent relaxation, perfect for vacationers who want to have a full beach resort experience with a private beach, two swimming pools (fresh water and sea water), tennis court, outdoor gym and an endless choice of leisure and sport activities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Cheap Tickets and Expedia so you can book your Hotel Romazzino, a Luxury Collection Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Romazzino Hotel Porto Cervo
Hotel Romazzino, a Luxury Collection Hotel Porto Cervo, Sardinia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing